Free Shipping Over $50
BUY_MORE_SAVE_MORE
one 'n only

one 'n only Colorfix

496 Reviews Photo & Video Reviews Post Yours!
Removes unwanted permanent hair color. Controlled usage allows color correction to specific areas. Designed for full or slight color corrections.
$22.95
$18.95
Save 17%
In Stock
Ships within 24 hours
 

Reviews

Based on 496 Reviews

Photo & Video Reviews
Check the boxes to filter reviews.
Only show reviews for:
  • one 'n only Colorfix (496)
Show All 496 Reviews
Sort By:
Date
|
Helpfulness
|
Rating
  • Houston, Texas
    Hair
    Dark Brown
    Normal Hair
    Dry Hair
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    4 Star Rating
    This Works But Dark/black Hair: Read This Please!
    This is only my opinion on this product, but i would read the directions carefully and decide for yourself. My hair is naturally dark brown/black, with some grey (39 yrs old). I have been dying my hair for many years and use both Sally's products and drug store dyes. At this point my hair was looking pretty dark. I used this product because I have been wanting to go lighter for some time....just a lighter shade of brown (my stylist was going to do it for $80, but i am on a budget). After reading a lot of reviews and hearing the controversy over #3-i opted to leave it out. I mixed all of #1 & #2 because i did not plan to repeat this harsh process. It ended up taking about 45 min to lighten it "all" to an orangy color (the ends and back took the longest because i have less grey in that area). FYI-It still seemed a little darker in those areas when i washed it out. I used a dandruff shampoo and dishwashing liquid. I also followed up with a little bit of conditioner (a good one). I had planned on dying right away so i dried it with a blow dryer on cool. Thank goodness i read the review that stated go waay lighter than you would ever imagine dying your hair, so i returned the lIght brown and bought a light ash blonde...YES I DID SAY BLONDE!! ASH BLONDE (didn't want any addtl red in the dye). I felt crazy purchasing the blonde, but against my better judgement i did it because a blogger stated this worked best for her-not knowing how this product worked-i followed the advice. THANK GOODNESS I DID!!! I used a test strand underneath and left it on for about 20 min and it turned pretty dark. When i dyed my whole head i decided to only leave it on 10-15 min because i tend to have resistant grey and even then when i washed it out it looked dark. Once again using a deep conditioning pack. I ended up drying it (low med heat) and styling right away. It is definitely lighter, I would say a medium reddish brown (in the sun i can see some red under tones) but it looks soo much better than the dark /black brown. My only issue now is that i have grey around my hair line in the front that did not take the blonde and i tried to avoid stripping those areas because it said stay away from the root area, although some still got on there. I want to see if i can touch up my part on top and the hairline around my face with a light brown, but am afraid it will take "black" and not match. I may do a test strand underneath, where i have some new growth areas as well. Smell is bad but not worst case scenario..i permed back in the day, so maybe that's why it wasn't that bad for me. I do have some (just a little) dryness-not anything like i thought. My hair has always been proned to some dryness anyway. After styling, you couldn't tell it was any dryer it looked/felt great. Over all, i thought it was well worth it. I plan on following up with some deep conditioning packs and hot oil treatments for a while. I wouldn't worry about the dryness factor as much as the end color result. MY WARNING: Brunette's do not dye your hair any shade of brown right after using this...it will turn very dark again! GOOD LUCK to all of you!!!
    12 out of 12 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Nov 4, 2011
    Link to this post
  • 1 Star Rating
    If U Want To Smell Bad 5 Stars
    i dyed my hair purple using "splat" everything went down hill real fast after that, hair turned pink..., then went to sallys got colorfix, so knowing me i follow directions, did everything, hair with blondish again, so im like ok cool, the smell though holy hell.... just terrible... like its worst then being stuck in a car with someoen who just ripped one and locked the windows... cant do anything i sweat boom the smell... + after colorfixing the hair i redye the hair... worst thing ever... the color fix just gets rid of the color so fast its like wow yuck..... washed my hair so many times now to try to get this smell out i just wasted 30 bucks... just terrible....
    14 out of 18 shoppers thought this review wasn't helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Nov 4, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Mn
    Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Works Really Well!
    This product worked beautifully! I had very, very dark brown hair when I used it, and it brought it back to about my natural color. The odor wasn't too bad, either! I read a lot of the reviews on here before I used it, and they all said to not use the part 3 processor stuff, so i didn't. but really, this product is wonderful. and my hair is in the same condition that it was to begin with.
    Before Photo
    After Photo
    12 out of 15 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Oct 20, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Dark Brown
    Color Treated Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    Chemically Treated Hair
    2 Star Rating
    Unexpected Color Changes
    I originally had blue-green hair, I used this to get my blonde hair back, so I could dye it a different color. Everything was going great, the color was coming out and the blonde was back. Everything went to crap when I used the Processing Lotion. It turned my hair green. It says on the package that it may darken the color of the hair and that you have to do the steps again. Well, if that is the case than this product should be removed from shelves. People don't want unexpected things to happen, especially to their hair. It is unreliable and I will not be buying it again.
    8 out of 10 shoppers thought this review wasn't helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Oct 9, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Medium Brown
    Color Treated Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    My Miracle Product
    So, i am a licensed cosmetologist, so I tend to change my hair color ALOT! This is the ONE product I trust to use on my hair, because it does the job, and leaves my hair in the same condition. The only downside is the smell, BUT it goes away after a few washes. I literally use this product once every two or three months, and my hair is in great condition. Ive used other color removers, and theyve all left my hair dry and brittle! But not this one! I do, however, skip the last step too, because it does redarken your hair. But I am 100% happy with this product, and if they ever take it off the shelf, I WILL cry. :)
    12 out of 12 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Oct 5, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Inland Empire, CA
    Hair
    Blonde
    Dry Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    4 Star Rating
    Varying Results
    I've used this product twice now, and I've had varying results.

    The first time I used it, I'd dyed my hair using some random box of red dye from the supermarket. The color was entirely too intense for me (I was naturally light blonde to begin with - hadn't colored my hair in about two years), so I used Colorfix the next day. Using the full color restore method (no shampoo in mixture) the results were stunning! While it wasn't my natural shade of blonde, it was blonde again and not even my parents could tell the difference (shocking, as even at 28 they are very aware of my hair). I waited about a week and then colored my hair again using another supermarket box dye and was relatively successful. The color was correct, though I noticed that it faded quickly. After recoloring it a second time (about 2 weeks later) my hair was holding the color just fine.

    With that success, it's really no wonder I picked up another box in order to start fresh with another color about three months later. This time my hair was in a different condition - no longer "virgin", holding about three different shades and two different brands of color, much drier as well. It removed most of the color again, though my blonde was more of a light orange this time. Also the smell was MUCH stronger, a bit like sulfur, and my hair was brittle and unmanageable after the entire process. The product says applying color immediately to dry hair was acceptable, so I applied the new color (a shade of light copper blonde) and waited. Surprising to me, my hair developed into a dark shade of brown - warm - but brown all the same. For some odd reason it has no red, is not light, and is not copper. I'm not sure what went wrong, but I can only assume that Colorfix is responsible.

    I'm fortunate enough not to have bright orange hair, or extremely damaged hair, but I would think twice before using this product without GOOD cause again. If I did use it again, I would likely use the gradual removal method, where you mix 1/4 oz of each part of the product with an ounce of shampoo.
    2 out of 3 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Oct 4, 2011
    Link to this post
  • 1 Star Rating
    Use Only If You Don't Mind Surprises Or Failures
    In my opinion this product should be taken off the shelf. I should have heeded the warnings, but hated my hair color so was willing to try Color Fix. First, it is true that the small is nauseating and is hard to get out of the hair . To me, that alone is a good enough reason to reject it . Still, I felt desperate . My hair is prematurely naturaly almost snow-white, and was naturaly black before it went gray -to-white . I decided after 13 years of white I'd see what it would look like blonde. I used a " light natural warm blonde " by Wella, with 20 volume developer. The result was awful ! I appled the color and put a plastic cap on . After 15 minutes I took a look and my hair had turned reddish brown ! And it looked dull and dead . That was a HORRIBLE color for me, so I thought ColorFix would take it out. All it did was turn it a slightly lighter more intense red shade . That did it for me- I wasn't going to go through that again. And LET ME SAY THIS : for you who think this was a great product and worked fine for you - you should realize that what you are looking at is not hair that has had the color removed- but hair that has been lightened somewhat. Notice the reddishness ? All you ever can hope for is to get your dark hair a little lightened, and that will always result in some reddishness. It's a red-head product and for some, as I have learned , the red will be neon orange ! Stay away from this "tricky" flop of a product , esp. if you don't wear orange well. I know it's a killer-color on some people--especialy on people with cold winter coloring like me. Orange is the kiss of death.
    8 out of 11 shoppers thought this review wasn't helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Sep 29, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Black
    Normal Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    Chemically Treated Hair
    2 Star Rating
    Yeah, No.
    Yeah, i have the same story as some of you guys. My hair was once black; i wanted it out. I went to sally's and bought colorfix. Well, lets just say i ended up buying it three times. I was excited at first because my hair had turned orange- which is a big step up from black. In a couple of days, i noticed that my hair would turn dark at the ends, either when i washed my hair or swam in ocean. Eventually, my hair turned completely dark, except for my roots that were blasted blonde. Oh, when you try to re-dye your hair to a lighter color (no matter HOW light) i noticed it always turns back to dark or black. So, just wanted to know if anyone else had this problem. I ended up paying abround 30 to 40 dollars for a product that works for a little bit. No, i would not recommend this product to anyone.. Yeah sure, some people have had their success- not me. Also, if you are planning to swim with people- the smell is horrific and someone will point it out that your hair smells and looks like a garbage dump.
    9 out of 12 shoppers thought this review wasn't helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Aug 13, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Prescott, AZ
    Hair
    Dark Brown
    5 Star Rating
    It Was A Miracle Worker
    I have been coloring my own hair since I was 15. I swear I have had it ever color I can imagine. I LOVE highlights...but got sick of them and decided to try red. My hair was a darkish brown when I decided to use SPLAT, the red. I didn't use the bleach part, just put the red Splat over my brown. It came out really pretty, for like a week, but kept washing out and turned like a pinkish, it was horrible. I hated it. So then I dyed it a dark brown and it didn't color over it at all, the red like re-surfaced and mixed all into my brown dye, it was TERRIBLE. So a few days later, I dyed it brown/black from colorsilk. It finally covered. So a month later I wanted to do blonde highlights, OMG the red re-surfaced AGAIN and it looked like there was blood in the bleach. So my hair wasn't blonde it was orange, red, pink, yellow..UGLY! That SPLAT was a nightmare! So I colored it black and I mean black! I re-did it like 3 times in like 2 weeks. SO yesterday I went to Sally's and purchased One N Only colorfix! Best product ever! 20 min, and all that black AND red was gone! My hair was such a pretty dark blonde color. I loved it..UNTIL I put in the lotion processer! It re-darkened my hair! And I read that a lot of girls SKIP that last step then condition really good. Although my hair isn't black anymore, it's a dark brown..I want that color it had turned it. SO wed I will go buy another box and do it again. It didn't damage my hair, I deep conditioned it afterwards, so its all good! I LOVE COLORFIX!
    10 out of 11 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Aug 12, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Chicago, Il
    Hair
    Black
    5 Star Rating
    I'm Truly A Believer
    I am an african-american female with relaxed hair. I have medium length hair and I have been dyeing my hair black for over 10 years with semi-permanent and permanent dyes. So I decided to check out the reviews about colorfix. I was very skeptical and I saw reviews about hair turning orange and I was scared that it was going to happen to me. I decided to try it. I mixed 1 and 2 together and I threw away the processing conditioner (step 3) because I read that it will possibly turn your hair back dark. I applied it to my dry hair and I sat under the dryer for probably over 40 minutes. It was wrking but I noticed that some of my ends was still black so I washed it out and repeated the steps. This time I covered my hair with a plastic cap and I probably was under the dryer this time for another 40 minutes. By the time i checked my hair, it was completely a reddish brown. I love the color of my hair and I did not have to re-color it. I think if you follow the steps and cover with a plastic cap it is truly going to work. I am truly a believer that this product works. I hope this review helps the other skeptics out there.
    14 out of 14 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Aug 4, 2011
    Link to this post

Write Your Own Review

Have you tried this product? Help out by sharing what worked (or didn't)!

Write a Review
You may also like
Server Name