New Rewards Program
one 'n only

one 'n only Colorfix

Removes unwanted permanent hair color. Controlled usage allows color correction to specific areas. Designed for full or slight color corrections.
We're sorry, this product is no longer available.
 

Reviews

Based on 502 Reviews

Photo & Video Reviews
Check the boxes to filter reviews.
Only show reviews for:
  • one 'n only Colorfix (502)
Show All 502 Reviews
Sort By:
Date
|
Helpfulness
|
Rating
  • Hair
    Medium Brown
    Color Treated Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    4 Star Rating
    Don't Let The Smell Fool You..
    Ok so I tried to go from a medium auburn brown to a nice dark blonde to get a dirty blond color but it didn't work. I went to a hair salon to get it professionally done and it absolutely made no difference to my hair! I read a lot of these reviews and didn't want to bleach my hair so I got the colorfix and yes IT REALLY DOES WORK. The only problem is the smell, i mean i can't even smell my hair right now because it's grossing me out but it's totally worth the result and im sure it'll come out in a few washes. I've had red in my hair for about a year now and it never comes out but after i used this i'm surprised to say there is not even a hint of red left in my hair. It turned into a nice golden brown (i was thinking it would turn orange because of the previous color) but my roots got a little too light which i can fix by myself. I really recommend it, especially since it didn't damage my hair, just left it a bit dry. Covers very evenly too, just skip the last step with the processing lotion to keep it light :)
    5 out of 5 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Dec 21, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Dry Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    Chemically Treated Hair
    1 Star Rating
    Reversed...
    I had a good result from the product at first and then when I tried to redye my hair it didnt take and my hair turned back to the exact color it was before I used color fix. I dont understand this product and I now think it was a waste of money!
    3 out of 4 shoppers thought this review wasn't helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Dec 19, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Blonde
    Dry Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    Chemically Treated Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Miracle Product!
    First I will start by saying I am a licensed managing cosmetologist. I was weary about using this product, but as a natural light blonde I wanted my natural color back so bad!! I had dyed my hair red months ago and it would not fade out! I liked the red but as a cosmetologist I get tired of my color fairly quickly! I knew if I used bleach all over my hair would be white at the roots and orangy at the ends (and that is after several, several bleach applications!) So I decided to try this color fix treatment.
    Let me say the smell is bad; however, it smells just like a perm so I am used to that!
    All in all I will now swear by this stuff!!! If anyone has ever had red, you know how hard it is to get out! My hair is Blonde again! It isn't the perfect natural blonde color I had, but it isn't at all red... so I am extremely happy!
    Lastly, I skipped the last step! I had read reviews saying it would make your hair darker, and I plan to dye mine again in a few days to a more natural blonde so I just left that step out.
    My hair is healthy and not too dry as I expected! (if I would have used bleach my scalp would be burned and my hair would more than likely be falling out and dry) I did use a hot oil treatment on it after the color fix treatment and left it on for 5 hours! I love this product and I highly recommend it!!!!
    15 out of 16 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Dec 17, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Medium Brown
    Fine or Thin Hair
    4 Star Rating
    Don't Bleach To Lighten Your Hair!
    I dyed my hair hair blue black in October, until yesterday wanted it back to my brown. I was dreading I'd have to bleach but heard about Colorfix. I slathered the 1+2 in a bowl onto my hair (skipping 3 because it'll darken hair). I slatherd it into my hair like I was using shampoo or conditioner. Put on a cap blow dried every 10 minutes for a minute or two. I left it on a whole hour because I didn't notice lightning after 20-30 mins.

    Rinsed with clarifying shampoo mixed with dish soap and my hair was a very light goldeny brown, I was relived it didn't turn orange or red. So happy it wasnt black!

    DO NOT dye your hair right after, the next morning I woke up and the color had somehow darkened on its own almost 3 shades so now it's a dark auburn type color. I really liked the light brown, not sure if repeating colorfix will lighten it even more.

    Only complaint is the smell, I felt very sick with it on my hair and the smell stays no matter what, until you dye it over.

    Whoever rates this product poorly obviously didn't use it correctly. Also note my hair was a tad drier after but I used some leave in treatments so it's all good!
    4 out of 4 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Nov 20, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Light Brown
    Dry Hair
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Chemically Treated Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Awesome Product For Black Dyed Hair Removal!
    I WAS HAPPY TO HAVE SEEN A GREAT RESULT FROM THIS PRODUCT I USED PART 1 AND 2 AND REMOVED ALL MY BLACK HAIR! DIDNT DO THE LOTION PART BUT WENT TO SALLY AND GOT THE COLOR I WANTED AND MIXED IT WITH A ASH BLONDE AND GOT A LIGHT BROWN COLOR JUST WHAT I WANTED! I RECOMMEND COLORFIX INSTEAD OF BLEACHING FIRST
    5 out of 5 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Nov 17, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Medium Brown
    Normal Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    5 Star Rating
    My Go To Color Remover From Now On!
    My hair is naturally a light to medium brown, but I had been putting semi-permanent black hair dye (clairol & garnier) for 10 mths. I finally stopped in August (it's now November) and the color was hardly fading, so about a week ago I tried coloring it another semi permanent dye, a mix between dark golden brown and dark natural brown. Again, not much of change...still really dark, basically black hair except at my roots. I know this product is meant for permanent dyes but I gave it go. I followed the directions on the box mixing part 1 and part 2 equally and applied to my hair. Then I wrapped my hair in seran wrap and let it sit for 30 minutes, applying heat from the blow dryer for a few minutes at a time (2 times during the 30 minutes). Then, I rinsed with a clarifying shampoo because I was told that helps remove color as well. After I rinsed, the black was GONE! Completely out! But it was more of a brassy, golden, auburn brown. Kind of freaked me out because I wasn't used to it being that light...I added a bit more of part 1 and 2 to spots I had missed on my head and let it sit again for 20 minutes and then rinsed. I know a lot of reviews say not to use the processing lotion, but I DEFINITELY would because it completes the process. I was actually hoping the processing lotion would make it a tad darker, and it did, but just enough to even out the tone and take the brassy color out. Now, my color is a slightly auburn brown, but a lot more brown than red. It's actually a really pretty color and close to my natural. I would definitely recomment this product and use it again! My hair is still just a soft as it was before, and I believe that is because I used the lotion at the end. A friend of mine skipped this step and her hair was more coarse after she finished. Also, the smell was really not that bad. No worse than other hair dye you would put in...Hope this helps!
    Before Photo
    After Photo
    65 out of 65 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Nov 4, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Houston, Texas
    Hair
    Dark Brown
    Normal Hair
    Dry Hair
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    4 Star Rating
    This Works But Dark/black Hair: Read This Please!
    This is only my opinion on this product, but i would read the directions carefully and decide for yourself. My hair is naturally dark brown/black, with some grey (39 yrs old). I have been dying my hair for many years and use both Sally's products and drug store dyes. At this point my hair was looking pretty dark. I used this product because I have been wanting to go lighter for some time....just a lighter shade of brown (my stylist was going to do it for $80, but i am on a budget). After reading a lot of reviews and hearing the controversy over #3-i opted to leave it out. I mixed all of #1 & #2 because i did not plan to repeat this harsh process. It ended up taking about 45 min to lighten it "all" to an orangy color (the ends and back took the longest because i have less grey in that area). FYI-It still seemed a little darker in those areas when i washed it out. I used a dandruff shampoo and dishwashing liquid. I also followed up with a little bit of conditioner (a good one). I had planned on dying right away so i dried it with a blow dryer on cool. Thank goodness i read the review that stated go waay lighter than you would ever imagine dying your hair, so i returned the lIght brown and bought a light ash blonde...YES I DID SAY BLONDE!! ASH BLONDE (didn't want any addtl red in the dye). I felt crazy purchasing the blonde, but against my better judgement i did it because a blogger stated this worked best for her-not knowing how this product worked-i followed the advice. THANK GOODNESS I DID!!! I used a test strand underneath and left it on for about 20 min and it turned pretty dark. When i dyed my whole head i decided to only leave it on 10-15 min because i tend to have resistant grey and even then when i washed it out it looked dark. Once again using a deep conditioning pack. I ended up drying it (low med heat) and styling right away. It is definitely lighter, I would say a medium reddish brown (in the sun i can see some red under tones) but it looks soo much better than the dark /black brown. My only issue now is that i have grey around my hair line in the front that did not take the blonde and i tried to avoid stripping those areas because it said stay away from the root area, although some still got on there. I want to see if i can touch up my part on top and the hairline around my face with a light brown, but am afraid it will take "black" and not match. I may do a test strand underneath, where i have some new growth areas as well. Smell is bad but not worst case scenario..i permed back in the day, so maybe that's why it wasn't that bad for me. I do have some (just a little) dryness-not anything like i thought. My hair has always been proned to some dryness anyway. After styling, you couldn't tell it was any dryer it looked/felt great. Over all, i thought it was well worth it. I plan on following up with some deep conditioning packs and hot oil treatments for a while. I wouldn't worry about the dryness factor as much as the end color result. MY WARNING: Brunette's do not dye your hair any shade of brown right after using this...it will turn very dark again! GOOD LUCK to all of you!!!
    12 out of 12 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Nov 4, 2011
    Link to this post
  • 1 Star Rating
    If U Want To Smell Bad 5 Stars
    i dyed my hair purple using "splat" everything went down hill real fast after that, hair turned pink..., then went to sallys got colorfix, so knowing me i follow directions, did everything, hair with blondish again, so im like ok cool, the smell though holy hell.... just terrible... like its worst then being stuck in a car with someoen who just ripped one and locked the windows... cant do anything i sweat boom the smell... + after colorfixing the hair i redye the hair... worst thing ever... the color fix just gets rid of the color so fast its like wow yuck..... washed my hair so many times now to try to get this smell out i just wasted 30 bucks... just terrible....
    14 out of 18 shoppers thought this review wasn't helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Nov 4, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Mn
    Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Works Really Well!
    This product worked beautifully! I had very, very dark brown hair when I used it, and it brought it back to about my natural color. The odor wasn't too bad, either! I read a lot of the reviews on here before I used it, and they all said to not use the part 3 processor stuff, so i didn't. but really, this product is wonderful. and my hair is in the same condition that it was to begin with.
    Before Photo
    After Photo
    12 out of 15 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Oct 20, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Dark Brown
    Color Treated Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    Chemically Treated Hair
    2 Star Rating
    Unexpected Color Changes
    I originally had blue-green hair, I used this to get my blonde hair back, so I could dye it a different color. Everything was going great, the color was coming out and the blonde was back. Everything went to crap when I used the Processing Lotion. It turned my hair green. It says on the package that it may darken the color of the hair and that you have to do the steps again. Well, if that is the case than this product should be removed from shelves. People don't want unexpected things to happen, especially to their hair. It is unreliable and I will not be buying it again.
    8 out of 10 shoppers thought this review wasn't helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Oct 9, 2011
    Link to this post

Write Your Own Review

Have you tried this product? Help out by sharing what worked (or didn't)!

Write a Review
Server Name