Take 20% off site wide with code FRIENDS20

one 'n only Colorfix

Removes unwanted permanent hair color. Controlled usage allows color correction to specific areas. Designed for full or slight color corrections.
$18.95
We're sorry, this product is no longer available.

Removes unwanted permanent hair color. Controlled usage allows color correction to specific areas. Designed for full or slight color corrections.

  • SKU: P8302   /  
  • Guaranteed Authentic
  • This package includes 4 fl oz (118 ml) Color Reducer, 4 fl oz (118 ml) Conditioning Catalyst, and 4 fl oz (118 ml) Processing Lotion
  • Gently removes permanent hair color no matter how long it has been in hair.
  • Easily removes any level of hair color.
  • Effective on all hair types - leaves hair in optimum condition.
  • Precise control formula is easy to mix and apply.
  • Does not contain ammonia, or formaldehyde.
  • Gently reduces the size of color molecules, allows for easy color removal.
  • No unpleasant odor.
  • From 6 to 16 applications depending on whether use is for partial or full color correction.

Before using colorfix After using colorfix

Directions

For full color correction:

  1. Apply to dry hair.
  2. Mix equal parts of  Colorfix Part 1 Color Reducer and Part 2 Conditioning Catalyst in tint bowl or an applicator bottle. (Mix as much as will be needed for the density and length of hair that requires correction.) Wearing gloves and using a tint brush, apply quickly and evenly to the hair. If mixed in an applicator bottle, shake vigorously until thoroughly mixed (45 seconds to 1 minute). Gently work through the hair to ensure even penetration. After mixing Part 1 Color Reducer and Part 2 Conditioning Catalyst, use as quickly as possible, since the activity of the mixture decrease with time.
  3. Cover loosely with a plastic cap, and process up to 20 minutes. Strand test frequently. Low, warm dryer heat may be used to speed processing time.
  4. Rinse hair for 3-5 minutes and shampoo. If sufficient color is not removed, repeat Step 2 and 3 (this may be done on damp, towel-dried hair). Depending on condition of scalp and hair, do not repeat process more than 2-3 times.
  5. When desired level of color removal has been achieved, apply Processing Lotion for 5 minutes. (Due to the nature of dye molecules, it is possible that hair may redarken to an unacceptable level. If it does, repeat Steps 2-4 on damp hair, until sufficient color is removed.)
  6. Rinse well. Dry hair with a warm heat setting. (A hot setting may cause scalp irritation.) You may now proceed with your color application, if performing a full color corrective service.

For slight color correction (lighten color that has gone too dark or ashen):

  1. Mix 1/4 oz Part 1 Color Reducer + 1/4 oz Part 2 Conditioning Catalyst + 1 oz Shampoo.
  2. Wearing gloves, apply to damp, towel-dried hair. Apply only to the areas of the hair that require lightening, and work into lather. To determine timing, take a strand test frequently.
  3. When the desired shade has been reached, rinse thoroughly and shampoo.

Tips for successful color correction:

  • Always strand test color formulas to be used prior to application. Remember, porous hair will absorb colors more quickly and the resulting hair color may be slightly darker. You may need to formulate 1-2 levels lighter than desired result.
  • Always use a low pH conditioner after an application of Colorfix. This will help protect the hair, and return it to a more normal state.
  • Colorfix is developed to remove oxidative dyes. Since most semipermanent colors are combination of direct dyes and oxidative dyes, Colorfix may only partially remove these.

Part 1 Color Reducer
Water (Aqua), Sodium Hydroxymethane, Sulfinic Acid, Hydroxyethyl Cellulose,Methylchloroisothiazolinone, Methylisothizolinone.

Part 2 Conditioning Catalyst
Water (Aqua), Citric Acid, Cetearyl Alcohol/Dicetyl Phosphate/Ceteth Phosphate,Cetearyl Alcohol, Fragrance, DMDM Hydantoin, Sodium Lauryl Sulfate, PentasodiumPentetate.

Processing Lotion
Deionized Water (Aqua), Hydrogen Peroxide, Dimethicone Copolyol Medowfoamate,Simethicone, Phosphoric Acid.

NARROW BY HAIR TYPE
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
NARROW BY PRODUCT
  • one 'n only Colorfix (508)
Sort By
  • Date
  •  / 
  • Helpfulness
  •  / 
  • Rating
  • Not Sure....it Darkens After.... 3 Star Rating
    So I did this 3 times (2boxes because my hair is long) It was light brown until I washed it....then it darkened a bit, now it seems like it darkens every shower I take.... It did get alot of the black out, and i have a dark brown/black/redish look.... I haven't tried dying it yet.... I hope this works better for everyone else! Not sure what to do..

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Feb 25, 2012
    HAIR TYPE
    Black / Color Treated Hair
  • Amazing Results! 5 Star Rating
    I've been dying my hair red for the past three months and have become bored with it. I've done this song and dance before... and what I've done is the past is either dye it brown only to have the red eak back through or use a color stripper that completely wrecked my hair. Because of all the positive reviews here, I decided to give this a try. I mixed up the first two products and applied it to my hair with gloved fingers. I have bra strap long fine hair. I used about half of the bottles. I got excellent coverage and it was very easy to apply. I then wrapped it up tightly in plastic wrap. Many people are complaining about the smell. I honestly thought it wasn't that bad, and since I wrapped my hair up in plastic wrap it was only noticeable when I took that off. I let it sit on there for a really long time. Like, an hour and ten minutes. I rinsed really well, shampooed twice and used a super heavy conditioner. I was shocked at how much color had come out of my hair! Almost all the red had come out! The upper portion was much lighter than the bottom, but I decided I should wait until the next day to try it a second time. I skipped the activator step. The next night I mixed up another batch and applied it same as before, except this time I concentrated more on the ends. I let it sit for about 45 minutes and rinsed well, shampooed twice, and deep conditioned. This time the results evened out my hair and took out more of the red. I've decided to wait a little while before I dye it again to my more natural color. I've read a lot of reviews where it darkened over time, but mostly right in the beginning. So far I've waited two days and it's darkened just slightly. The best thing is, it didn't wreck my hair! When I was rinsing it out it felt so soft. And even right now the ends are not any more dry than they were before I started this. This product is amazing and I would recommend it to anyone who wanted to strip their hair!

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Feb 24, 2012
    HAIR TYPE
    Blonde / Normal Hair / Color Treated Hair / Fine or Thin Hair
  • Pretty Awesome, Not Gonna Lie. 5 Star Rating
    Ill be the first to admit I abuse my hair. One month its orange, the next its black, the next its blonde, red, black, yellow....well i've had black hair for like five or six months now. The longest i've ever had one hair color since I turned 19 four years ago..

    I had bought a crappy color stripper from the grocery store a few months ago along with crappy dye. Needless to say it stayed black. Ugh! Frustration.

    I read reviews on Colorfix and I ran to the beauty supply store. Picked it up. And used it.

    1. I suggest getting a dye brush for an even application.
    2. I left it on for fourty five minutes instead of twenty.
    3. Did not use the third bottle, heard its crap.

    My hair didn't come out blonde, but then again i'm naturally a brunette.... It turned out a light chocolate brown with gorgeous red highlights! How does that even happen?

    My hair doesn't smell that bad at all. I don't understand why everyone is complaining about the rotten egg smell...it smells like hair dye. Maybe i'm just much too familiar with the smell haha.

    I love this stuff. One n Only has a new lifetime customer. :)

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Feb 11, 2012
    / Seattle, WA
  • Love This! 5 Star Rating
    My hair was dark brown when I used this, I literally had colored it the day before using it (it was dark brown before also). I didn't think that it was going to turn out well at all due to me trying to bleach my hair before. My hair actually turned out lighter when I used this product than when I just bleached it. The color is very even, my roots to the tips of my hair are all the same color. The number one bottle smells very bad but doesn't stink as bad once you mix it with the second, I didn't use the processing lotion because of the reviews and my hair looks great. I highly recommend this product when wanting to lighten hair. My hair is now a light brown/dark blonde with some lighter highlights. USE THIS.

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Jan 24, 2012
    HAIR TYPE
    Dark Brown / Curly Hair / Color Treated Hair / Thick or Coarse Hair
  • Love! From Natural Black Hair Asiannnn! :) 5 Star Rating
    OK,I'm Asian so I have natural black hair, when I came to U.S about 5 yrs ago, I never dyed my hair before, but couple months later my hair color become lighter, it became brownish which I really don't like. So I dyed my hair to black,which turns out to be the worst choice I have ever made. And my hair became VERY VERY VERY dark black and it probably never came off even before I use the one 'n only Colorfix. 1 year later I want to dye my hair to red, it didnt work of course. So I waited 2 yrs and after I graduate from high school I went back to China and went to a professional hair salon and asked the professional designer to dye my hair to red and purplish, but it turns out only the root of my hair was red and the others remains black. The color only shows my I go under the sun. Until this year, I dyed my hair to black AGAIN! (I guess I didn't learn from it yet!) It was about 3 months ago, then I dyed my hair to red about 2 month ago, I didn't know that I can't mix colors on hair, I wouldn't waste so much time and money if I did! but until about 4 days ago, I heard about this product, I ordered online and it shipped to me in 2 days, I used it but only for 20 min,I rinsed it and i low heat dry. It turns out my hair started look yellow reddish, and i love it!!!!!!!! I have had black hair for my entire life and now I see the change!! If it worked on my hair which is naturally black only in 20 min and only 3/4 of both bottle, it should definitely work on yours I suppose!!

    My advise:
    1) It does smell bad but if you ever dye your hair by yourself, you know what hair dye products smell like, so it shouldn't be so bad! But yes, it's kinda bad.

    2)If you are looking for very obvious color change buy more than one bottle and leave the product longer! the longer the better.

    3)Be confidence, believe in your choice, I didn't know what would happen to my hair before I use it but how bad could it be?! But maybe try it on Friday night when you don't have plans for Saturday! Just in case you know. :p

    4)I didn't use the condition as most of the reviews said, I don't want take this risk.

    5)REMEMBER: I'm a natural black hair Asian, black hair is in my blood, if I get this work on my hair, yours would to!

    6)It does make your hair dry, but it's not that bad, you can always condition your hair, but you don't always get rid off the hair color you hated RIGHT?!

    7)Good luck with it, I hope all of you find it helpful and useful! :)

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Dec 31, 2011
    HAIR TYPE
    Black / Dry Hair / Color Treated Hair / Chemically Treated Hair
  • Didn't Work! 1 Star Rating
    This product is AWFUL. It leaves your hair smelling like rotten eggs or sulfer. It didnt do anythign to my hair at all!! I used it correctly followed the instructions right. I didnt pull any color out at all.

    Im extreamly disapointed with this product. i can only HOPEEEE that i will recive my money back, this was very expensive.

    This is an awful product. DONT WASTE YOUR TIME OR MONEY!

    Also it damaged my hair, made it brake ..
    P.S im naturaly blonde, and i dyed my hair black.. I didnt dye it for months tho, and i even used a shampoo to help get out the color. so stripping my hair would be easy. Not with the awful product.

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Dec 27, 2011
    HAIR TYPE
    Black / Normal Hair / Color Treated Hair / Fine or Thin Hair
  • Don't Let The Smell Fool You.. 4 Star Rating
    Ok so I tried to go from a medium auburn brown to a nice dark blonde to get a dirty blond color but it didn't work. I went to a hair salon to get it professionally done and it absolutely made no difference to my hair! I read a lot of these reviews and didn't want to bleach my hair so I got the colorfix and yes IT REALLY DOES WORK. The only problem is the smell, i mean i can't even smell my hair right now because it's grossing me out but it's totally worth the result and im sure it'll come out in a few washes. I've had red in my hair for about a year now and it never comes out but after i used this i'm surprised to say there is not even a hint of red left in my hair. It turned into a nice golden brown (i was thinking it would turn orange because of the previous color) but my roots got a little too light which i can fix by myself. I really recommend it, especially since it didn't damage my hair, just left it a bit dry. Covers very evenly too, just skip the last step with the processing lotion to keep it light :)

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Dec 21, 2011
    HAIR TYPE
    Medium Brown / Color Treated Hair / Thick or Coarse Hair
  • Reversed... 1 Star Rating
    I had a good result from the product at first and then when I tried to redye my hair it didnt take and my hair turned back to the exact color it was before I used color fix. I dont understand this product and I now think it was a waste of money!

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Dec 19, 2011
    HAIR TYPE
    Dry Hair / Color Treated Hair / Thick or Coarse Hair / Chemically Treated Hair
  • Miracle Product! 5 Star Rating
    First I will start by saying I am a licensed managing cosmetologist. I was weary about using this product, but as a natural light blonde I wanted my natural color back so bad!! I had dyed my hair red months ago and it would not fade out! I liked the red but as a cosmetologist I get tired of my color fairly quickly! I knew if I used bleach all over my hair would be white at the roots and orangy at the ends (and that is after several, several bleach applications!) So I decided to try this color fix treatment.
    Let me say the smell is bad; however, it smells just like a perm so I am used to that!
    All in all I will now swear by this stuff!!! If anyone has ever had red, you know how hard it is to get out! My hair is Blonde again! It isn't the perfect natural blonde color I had, but it isn't at all red... so I am extremely happy!
    Lastly, I skipped the last step! I had read reviews saying it would make your hair darker, and I plan to dye mine again in a few days to a more natural blonde so I just left that step out.
    My hair is healthy and not too dry as I expected! (if I would have used bleach my scalp would be burned and my hair would more than likely be falling out and dry) I did use a hot oil treatment on it after the color fix treatment and left it on for 5 hours! I love this product and I highly recommend it!!!!

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Dec 17, 2011
    HAIR TYPE
    Blonde / Dry Hair / Color Treated Hair / Thick or Coarse Hair / Chemically Treated Hair
  • Don't Bleach To Lighten Your Hair! 4 Star Rating
    I dyed my hair hair blue black in October, until yesterday wanted it back to my brown. I was dreading I'd have to bleach but heard about Colorfix. I slathered the 1+2 in a bowl onto my hair (skipping 3 because it'll darken hair). I slatherd it into my hair like I was using shampoo or conditioner. Put on a cap blow dried every 10 minutes for a minute or two. I left it on a whole hour because I didn't notice lightning after 20-30 mins.

    Rinsed with clarifying shampoo mixed with dish soap and my hair was a very light goldeny brown, I was relived it didn't turn orange or red. So happy it wasnt black!

    DO NOT dye your hair right after, the next morning I woke up and the color had somehow darkened on its own almost 3 shades so now it's a dark auburn type color. I really liked the light brown, not sure if repeating colorfix will lighten it even more.

    Only complaint is the smell, I felt very sick with it on my hair and the smell stays no matter what, until you dye it over.

    Whoever rates this product poorly obviously didn't use it correctly. Also note my hair was a tad drier after but I used some leave in treatments so it's all good!

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Nov 20, 2011
    HAIR TYPE
    Medium Brown / Fine or Thin Hair
Server Name