Free Shipping Over $50
20% off All Orders + Sedu Travel Dryer with $100+
one 'n only

one 'n only Colorfix

491 Reviews Photo & Video Reviews Post Yours!
Removes unwanted permanent hair color. Controlled usage allows color correction to specific areas. Designed for full or slight color corrections.
$22.95
$18.95
Save 17%
In Stock
Ships within 24 hours
 

Reviews

Based on 491 Reviews

Photo & Video Reviews
Check the boxes to filter reviews.
Only show reviews for:
  • one 'n only Colorfix (491)
Show All 491 Reviews
Sort By:
Date
|
Helpfulness
|
Rating
  • Inland Empire, CA
    Hair
    Blonde
    Dry Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    4 Star Rating
    Varying Results
    I've used this product twice now, and I've had varying results.

    The first time I used it, I'd dyed my hair using some random box of red dye from the supermarket. The color was entirely too intense for me (I was naturally light blonde to begin with - hadn't colored my hair in about two years), so I used Colorfix the next day. Using the full color restore method (no shampoo in mixture) the results were stunning! While it wasn't my natural shade of blonde, it was blonde again and not even my parents could tell the difference (shocking, as even at 28 they are very aware of my hair). I waited about a week and then colored my hair again using another supermarket box dye and was relatively successful. The color was correct, though I noticed that it faded quickly. After recoloring it a second time (about 2 weeks later) my hair was holding the color just fine.

    With that success, it's really no wonder I picked up another box in order to start fresh with another color about three months later. This time my hair was in a different condition - no longer "virgin", holding about three different shades and two different brands of color, much drier as well. It removed most of the color again, though my blonde was more of a light orange this time. Also the smell was MUCH stronger, a bit like sulfur, and my hair was brittle and unmanageable after the entire process. The product says applying color immediately to dry hair was acceptable, so I applied the new color (a shade of light copper blonde) and waited. Surprising to me, my hair developed into a dark shade of brown - warm - but brown all the same. For some odd reason it has no red, is not light, and is not copper. I'm not sure what went wrong, but I can only assume that Colorfix is responsible.

    I'm fortunate enough not to have bright orange hair, or extremely damaged hair, but I would think twice before using this product without GOOD cause again. If I did use it again, I would likely use the gradual removal method, where you mix 1/4 oz of each part of the product with an ounce of shampoo.
    2 out of 3 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Oct 4, 2011
    Link to this post
  • 1 Star Rating
    Use Only If You Don't Mind Surprises Or Failures
    In my opinion this product should be taken off the shelf. I should have heeded the warnings, but hated my hair color so was willing to try Color Fix. First, it is true that the small is nauseating and is hard to get out of the hair . To me, that alone is a good enough reason to reject it . Still, I felt desperate . My hair is prematurely naturaly almost snow-white, and was naturaly black before it went gray -to-white . I decided after 13 years of white I'd see what it would look like blonde. I used a " light natural warm blonde " by Wella, with 20 volume developer. The result was awful ! I appled the color and put a plastic cap on . After 15 minutes I took a look and my hair had turned reddish brown ! And it looked dull and dead . That was a HORRIBLE color for me, so I thought ColorFix would take it out. All it did was turn it a slightly lighter more intense red shade . That did it for me- I wasn't going to go through that again. And LET ME SAY THIS : for you who think this was a great product and worked fine for you - you should realize that what you are looking at is not hair that has had the color removed- but hair that has been lightened somewhat. Notice the reddishness ? All you ever can hope for is to get your dark hair a little lightened, and that will always result in some reddishness. It's a red-head product and for some, as I have learned , the red will be neon orange ! Stay away from this "tricky" flop of a product , esp. if you don't wear orange well. I know it's a killer-color on some people--especialy on people with cold winter coloring like me. Orange is the kiss of death.
    8 out of 11 shoppers thought this review wasn't helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Sep 29, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Black
    Normal Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    Chemically Treated Hair
    2 Star Rating
    Yeah, No.
    Yeah, i have the same story as some of you guys. My hair was once black; i wanted it out. I went to sally's and bought colorfix. Well, lets just say i ended up buying it three times. I was excited at first because my hair had turned orange- which is a big step up from black. In a couple of days, i noticed that my hair would turn dark at the ends, either when i washed my hair or swam in ocean. Eventually, my hair turned completely dark, except for my roots that were blasted blonde. Oh, when you try to re-dye your hair to a lighter color (no matter HOW light) i noticed it always turns back to dark or black. So, just wanted to know if anyone else had this problem. I ended up paying abround 30 to 40 dollars for a product that works for a little bit. No, i would not recommend this product to anyone.. Yeah sure, some people have had their success- not me. Also, if you are planning to swim with people- the smell is horrific and someone will point it out that your hair smells and looks like a garbage dump.
    9 out of 12 shoppers thought this review wasn't helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Aug 13, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Prescott, AZ
    Hair
    Dark Brown
    5 Star Rating
    It Was A Miracle Worker
    I have been coloring my own hair since I was 15. I swear I have had it ever color I can imagine. I LOVE highlights...but got sick of them and decided to try red. My hair was a darkish brown when I decided to use SPLAT, the red. I didn't use the bleach part, just put the red Splat over my brown. It came out really pretty, for like a week, but kept washing out and turned like a pinkish, it was horrible. I hated it. So then I dyed it a dark brown and it didn't color over it at all, the red like re-surfaced and mixed all into my brown dye, it was TERRIBLE. So a few days later, I dyed it brown/black from colorsilk. It finally covered. So a month later I wanted to do blonde highlights, OMG the red re-surfaced AGAIN and it looked like there was blood in the bleach. So my hair wasn't blonde it was orange, red, pink, yellow..UGLY! That SPLAT was a nightmare! So I colored it black and I mean black! I re-did it like 3 times in like 2 weeks. SO yesterday I went to Sally's and purchased One N Only colorfix! Best product ever! 20 min, and all that black AND red was gone! My hair was such a pretty dark blonde color. I loved it..UNTIL I put in the lotion processer! It re-darkened my hair! And I read that a lot of girls SKIP that last step then condition really good. Although my hair isn't black anymore, it's a dark brown..I want that color it had turned it. SO wed I will go buy another box and do it again. It didn't damage my hair, I deep conditioned it afterwards, so its all good! I LOVE COLORFIX!
    10 out of 11 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Aug 12, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Chicago, Il
    Hair
    Black
    5 Star Rating
    I'm Truly A Believer
    I am an african-american female with relaxed hair. I have medium length hair and I have been dyeing my hair black for over 10 years with semi-permanent and permanent dyes. So I decided to check out the reviews about colorfix. I was very skeptical and I saw reviews about hair turning orange and I was scared that it was going to happen to me. I decided to try it. I mixed 1 and 2 together and I threw away the processing conditioner (step 3) because I read that it will possibly turn your hair back dark. I applied it to my dry hair and I sat under the dryer for probably over 40 minutes. It was wrking but I noticed that some of my ends was still black so I washed it out and repeated the steps. This time I covered my hair with a plastic cap and I probably was under the dryer this time for another 40 minutes. By the time i checked my hair, it was completely a reddish brown. I love the color of my hair and I did not have to re-color it. I think if you follow the steps and cover with a plastic cap it is truly going to work. I am truly a believer that this product works. I hope this review helps the other skeptics out there.
    14 out of 14 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Aug 4, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Auburn
    Fine or Thin Hair
    3 Star Rating
    Works But Not For Long.
    I dyed my hair black for about 4 months before wanting to get rid of it. My natural hair color is a reddish brown. I searched around looking for a way to get rid of the black without bleaching it and ended up going to Sally hansen. An employee there suggested the One n' Only colorfix saying it was the top seller of all colorifx products and it was extremely effective. I ended up buying the product 3 times. (I messed up the first time) The second try it worked! I was amazed and happy with the outcome. I was happy until the next day when I took a shower and conditioned my hair. When I got out of the shower I noticed my hair had reverted back to BLACK! Needless to say I was extremely upset and I ended up buying a 3rd box. This time I waited 3 days before washing and conditioning my hair. Once my hair was dry I noticed it once again has reverted back to black.

    It's an amazing product but it just won't work for me. I have no idea if this has happened to anyone else but, I wish it would stop going back to black for me :(
    6 out of 7 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jul 25, 2011
    Link to this post
  • CA
    Hair
    Light Brown
    Normal Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Chemically Treated Hair
    4 Star Rating
    Woeked Well
    My natural hair color is light brown which was dyed medium to darker brown with some red tones. I had tried lightening it up a little with boxed dyes but it wouldnt budge. I originally thought i was going to have to bleach which I have never done before and was really hesitant. I read the reviews and decided to try this out. I put on the first application applied heat every so often with a blow dryer and washed out. I did the process a second time and I saw that my hair had lightened to a reddish blonde with an orange tint anywhere that I had previous highlights. I was a little nervous about the orange but went ahead with the processing lotion which darkened my hair just a bit and toned down that orange thank goodness. I think the processing lotion is a must and wouldnt skip. I was left with a pretty light strawberry blonde. I followed directions and decided to go with a permanant color a couple shades lighter, so I chose a natural medium blonde. I put it in and let it sit maybe five minutes so a total of 12-15 minutes and was left with a really light brown with some subtle gold tones in it. I did add a package of Ardell red gold corrector to the dye. It turned the dye purpleish which kind of freaked me out but it was fine and I think it helped a lot with the end color. As far as the smell, It was difficult to deal with while I was putting on. A couple things I did left me with next to no smell left. I rinsed it out for four minutes each time and then shampooed and the second time also used a deep conditioner as my hair was not happy. I think because I used a permanant blonde color and that has a strong ammonia smell that also masked the odor. Make sure wherever you do it to have an open window and I also put a box of baking soda in the bathroom which doesnt smell at all anymore. I definitely recommend this product and the steps I took left my hair in good shape. So glad I didnt bleach!!
    8 out of 8 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted May 30, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Texas
    Hair
    Black
    Dry Hair
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    4 Star Rating
    Awsome!!!
    I had black hair dye and light ash brown mixed inn I really just wanted a one color so I tried this. I lefted for about 1 hour 15 and it took all the black. The smell is nasty but i just wanted the two colors gone. And they were.now its a aburn color and looks super great!!! In the fist pic u can see the black and light brown The second one is after colorfix email for pics at isabella8503@Gmail.com
    5 out of 6 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted May 12, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Medium Brown
    Curly Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Worked Like A Charm
    I have medium brown hair that I accidentally dyed jet black with the intention of getting a darker brown. I bought colorfix 5 days later and it took all the black out leaving my natural brown color. I absolutely love this product and would recommend it to anyone! Also- I didn't use the 3 bottle because so many reviews said not to so I wouldn't recommend it.

    The only downside: Your hair smells disgusting almost to the point that it is nauseating, however I soaked it in cold black coffee which took a bit of the smell out
    7 out of 8 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted May 10, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Dark Brown
    Color Treated Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Doesn't Damage Hair
    I've used this product a few times in the past and it's never let me down.This is the only product that will remove all that black color and leave my hair in the same condition it was before I used it. I've read other reviews on people who have had not so good experiences, and I'd like to share some of the steps I've done to get the best results.

    I have about 2 inches of new growth on my roots, and the rest of my hair is colored black. You can put this on your roots but it WILL lighten them a bit, so just keep that in mind. I usually work in sections, applying the solution quickly as it will lose potency after a while. Put a processing cap on (these are cheap and look like a shower cap), and apply some hair dryer heat to help the cuticles open up a bit. The box says 20 mins, but it also depends on how much color is in your hair and how dark it is. I usually leave mine in for upwards of an hour.

    Check your hair every 20 mins or so to make sure it's working, and apply more heat if needed. Once you start seeing the desired color removed, wash it out. Use a shampoo (clarifying if possible) and YES use the processing lotion! I know this is a controversial step but it's actually useful. The lotion is hydrogen peroxide and will allow any left over dye molecules to re-oxidize. This way you can see how much dye is left over and do another round of ColorFix. It's highly unlikely that you will get this in one pass.

    Once all the dye has been removed, wash it thoroughly and condition. Purchase a Protein Filler and put that on your towel-dried damp hair BEFORE recoloring. Do not rinse it out. This will equalize the porosity of your hair and will help accept the new color you are applying. It's also very important to get a color 1-2 shades LIGHTER than what you are going for. This is because after ColorFixing, your hair will absorb new dye much faster and if you use too dark of a color, you may find yourself at the beginning again. Remember, it's always easier to go darker than it is to go lighter, so you can adjust the deepness later on.

    Sorry for the long review, but hopefully these steps help!

    62 out of 63 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Apr 27, 2011
    Link to this post

Write Your Own Review

Have you tried this product? Help out by sharing what worked (or didn't)!

Write a Review
You may also like
Server Name