Labor Day Sale
one 'n only

one 'n only Colorfix

Removes unwanted permanent hair color. Controlled usage allows color correction to specific areas. Designed for full or slight color corrections.
We're sorry, this product is no longer available.
 

Reviews

Based on 503 Reviews

Photo & Video Reviews
Check the boxes to filter reviews.
Only show reviews for:
  • one 'n only Colorfix (503)
Show All 503 Reviews
Sort By:
Date
|
Helpfulness
|
Rating
  • Atlanta, GA
    4 Star Rating
    Colorfix Works!
    I am extremely happy with this product. I used it to lighten my hair after I used very black for a hair color. I used the product exactly it suggested to and I was estatic when I saw the results. You really do need to check you hair every 3 mins once the product is on to make sure you dont get to light.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jan 4, 2006
    Link to this post
  • Toronto, Canada
    5 Star Rating
    ~colorfix Works!~
    This product is FANTASTIC! By far, one of the gentlest color removers out there. I have pale blonde blonde hair (bleached) and let a colourist talk me into lowlights and brown colour on my hair~ I HATED IT! Bought Color Fix and did the color correction with shampoo and after 15 minutes, my hair was back to the blonde. A few pointers to remember~ 1. Color Fix will only take out certain dyes~ not all dyes can be removed. 2. Color Fix will disolve dyes/hair colour only and will lighten your hair to the lightest pigment that you had it at (through previous bleachings, colours with lift, etc). That is why most people need to tone or re-colour afterwards. 3. If your hair goes dark again after using the Step 3 or a few days later~ it is because you needed to use a second application of Color Fix. Step 3 is peroxide and the reason it is there is because many people dont get all the dye out of their hair in the first application and once hair has been exposed to oxygen for a few days, it will darken again if there is any dye left in the hair. The step 3 is a light peroxide which will speed up the process of seeing if there is any dye left in your hair so that you know whether to do another application. Dont think taht the product is defective if your hair darkens~ it just means that there was some dye left in your hair and darkened once exposed to peroxide/oxygen.
    2 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jan 3, 2006
    Link to this post
  • Grove City, Ohio
    5 Star Rating
    Awesomeness
    So... Ive been dying my hair black for a long time now. A couple years actually. And I want a change so I bought this stuff. The first time I applied the stuff, it was kind of a test run deal.. It worked sort of. So I did it two more times and now my hair is a lovely brown color. I bought the stuff at Sallys Beauty Store or whatever its called for about $14. My hair afterwards was dry so I got some deep conditioner stuff made by Pantene and now its fine.It just smells very much like a hair salon, which gets annoying after a while. Anyway, I definitely recommend using this product.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jan 1, 2006
    Link to this post
  • LA
    5 Star Rating
    Soooo Worth The $$
    I have been coloring my hair burgandy red for years. I decided to go back to my natural color (sandy blonde). After following directions and keeping the product on for a total of 40 min (2 sessions) my hair looked BETTER than my natural color!!I did not even use the box of hair color I bought. My hair was also soft and manageable. People really over exaggerate about the smell. It cant even touch a perm! (P.S. I did not use the Processing Lotion b/c it supposedly makes your hair darker.) Girls, if you want to get rid of color, no matter how dark or how long it has been there, try this product! It works!
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Dec 22, 2005
    Link to this post
  • Ottawa, Ontario
    5 Star Rating
    Color Fix Great - If You're Not An Idiot
    Ok, so after reading ALL of the reviews I wasnt entirely sure what to expect in applying this product to hair that has been dyed dark shades of brown and most recently, a "dark purple brown" which was really a dark red, with lots of red....would it not work at all? or give me spotty results?I was prepared for spotty results because ive bleached color out before.I was very pleasantly suprised at the results. It took the dye out of my hair, as promised. I can still *barely* tell where the color was, and only because i had about a half inch of natural roots to compare to. The resulting colour was so good, in fact, that I may not redye - right now my hair is a nice-golden brown. A note regarding the other reviews. For those who said it didnt work, and was a waste of money, I think they must have been trying to take out semi-permanent dyes. THIS PRODUCT CLEARLY STATES THAT IT MAY NOT WORK ON SEMI-PERMANENT DYES. For those who were suprised about spottiness...well...this product is fantastic, but its not a miracle worker. You will have to redye after using it, if you desire an exact shadeBut overall, it was fantastic. My hair doesnt feel dry at all, and all of the purply-red is gone, leaving behind slight golden-red highlights. It worked so well, in fact, that it made chunky highlights from several months ago visible again, even though I had dyed over them with a dark brown, several times.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Dec 3, 2005
    Link to this post
  • Raleigh, NC
    5 Star Rating
    Awesome Product!!!
    4 days ago my boyfriend told me it would be a good idea to dye my hair black/blue black. It wasnt. I have pale skin and ended up looking like and idiot. I wanted so badly to go back to my beautiful light brown that I cried, I didnt know what to do. I had been to multiple hair salons and everyone told me the same thing, you need color correction which would cost anywhere between $100 up to $600. I didnt want to spend that much on my hair. After checking out sites and different products I saw the reviews here today for this product. I decided to try it. I came home, mixed half of bottles 1 & 2 together and added just a teaspoon of shampoo and after an hour my hair went back to its original state before the black color. I didnt use the lotion because of such bad things mentioned about it and my hair is fine, NO damage at all! Very inexpensive and doesnt smell that bad. I am EXTREMLY happy with this product.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Nov 29, 2005
    Link to this post
  • College Station, TX
    3 Star Rating
    Ultimately It Helped Me Reach My Goal...
    I have naturally dark blonde hair and my ends were terribly bleached from the summer tourture. About a month or so ago I decided to even it out, I thought I would go a little redder since I get it from both sides of the family, however I was mortified at the outcome. I decided to dye it dark brown to cover the red, but the brown I used came out almost black. I have a light complexion and my summer tan was long gone so I felt like I looked sick. People were saying they loved it but deep inside I knew many were just being nice. When I visited my parents my sister hated it, my dad made a huge fuss and pointed it out to everyone we saw, and my mom didnt like it but figured Id learned my lesson. Well after Thanksgiving where my dad made a big deal about it I did some looking into ways to restore my once beautiful hair. I came across this product last night and decided to give it a try. I was a little weary because of some of the reviews, but thought "What the heck? Might as well give it a try." Long story short... When I used it this afternoon I mixed it in a one to one ratio as it says on the box for a full restoration, did not use the lotion, leaving it on for only 20 minutes and was upset when my hair was bleached to an orangey-yellow blonde, a color it has never been before. I rushed to the grocery store for hair color I trusted. I ended up buying the color I used to buy for a shine enhancer which was the closest to my natural color. So ultimately the product did what it says it will. It stripped my hair of the dyes that had previously been applied and prepped my hair to be colored again. Im happy because now I look normal and my eyebrows match my hair again! I would use it again if I ever got in a fix, just be wary of the timing and test your hair if you need to in order to be sure. Im happy again!
    2 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Nov 28, 2005
    Link to this post
  • Kansas City MO
    4 Star Rating
    Worked Happily....
    I only gave four stars, would give five if they left that horrid processing lotion out. In spite of what I read, I thought they must have put it in for SOME reason. I guess so, but not necessarily a good reason. It made my hair crunchy and horrifically tangled which made my lose a wad in combing it out. And I dont have a lot to lose. I used it three times in a day, the first with shampoo did little to nothing. My fine,thin and long hair has been dyed chocolate brown for three years, but I thought I would try the gentle process first. Then I did the regular way for ten minutes plus 3-5 of the processing lotion. It worked but only about two shades lighter and I wanted more. So I did a final try, leaving it on twenty minutes, wrapping with plastic wrap and using heat. I was careful to keep it tanglefree (no processor) and lost almost no hair that time. I ended up a lovely shade of dark blonde/red. Actually lovely shades, it varies in a natural looking way. I will be fine not using another hair color until my gray new growth comes in. My hair feels great and the color is very pretty.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Nov 24, 2005
    Link to this post
  • 5 Star Rating
    I Approve!
    I have been dyeing my hair for 4+ years. Two years ago, I was changing the color every month, and I continue to change it but with much caution and not nearly as often. My hair has been every color, so you can imagine what a beating it has taken. I went from reddish-brown to black this year. I bought Colorfix after only having the black in my hair for ~3 weeks. I read the reviews on here first. I mixed half of bottle 1, half of bottle 2, and shampoo --an amount equivalent to one of those bottles-- in a bowl and left it on my hair for somewhere between 45 min. and an hour! I was left with a very pretty, natural-looking shade of brown, and I later realized that it was just a tad lighter than the reddish-brown that I had started out with. The only thing is that when I dyed my hair black, my natural roots were grown in about an inch. When I used Colorfix, those roots were showing again. It was really no problem, though, and I loved the result. And everyone on here is right-- that stuff does smell very rotten, and the smell stays for about a day. Colorfix is very gentle! If damage was done to my hair, I am unaware. I am a hair dying fanatic, and I have used just about everything, and this is good for those who dont want to bleach and break their hair. I read in reviews on here that using Processing Lotion was a bad idea-- so I did not touch it. I did not need to. I heard that it darkened your hair again. Funny story: after using Colorfix (I also used it again after that, but it only made it a little lighter.), I decided that I wanted my hair light brown, so before I dyed it light brown, Id have to get it a little lighter. I mixed bleach with shampoo --nevermind the amounts-- and it was a pretty dumb idea because my hair has gone back to black! I dont understand how that works, but my hair is now black at the roots (about 4 in.), and the rest, the long tips, are reddish-brown. My point is: Dont blame Colorfix entirely if your hair gets darker. This might happen because you mix shampoo with it, depending on how much you put in (the less, the better). Some kind of a reaction takes place. My advice is to do what I did or to even use less shampoo than that. I am going to try Colorfix again sometime this winter. I hope that this helped and that it was not too long, sorry!
    Before Photo
    After Photo
    4 out of 4 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Nov 24, 2005
    Link to this post
  • Baltimore, Md
    5 Star Rating
    Great Results
    I had colored my hair the day before with Nice and Easy --a darker brown with caramel--which would make my highlighted hair slightly darker but closer to my actual dark brown hair. However, I do not know what happened but my hair turned solid black. I read all reviews for this product on this website and went to purchase it today. I read all directions--decided to do the 1/4 oz of bottle one and two and 1 oz of shampoo mixture. I left it on for only 5 minutes --washed my hair immediately and all the black is gone! It didnt really smell bad --used good smelling shampoo with it. Now I have the darker brown with beautiful caramel highlights in my hair as originally intended. I cant believe how well it worked!
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Nov 21, 2005
    Link to this post

Write Your Own Review

Have you tried this product? Help out by sharing what worked (or didn't)!

Write a Review
Server Name