Free Shipping Over $50
How lucky is your summer? Get up to 25% off.
one 'n only

one 'n only Colorfix

496 Reviews Photo & Video Reviews Post Yours!
Removes unwanted permanent hair color. Controlled usage allows color correction to specific areas. Designed for full or slight color corrections.
$22.95
$18.95
Save 17%
In Stock
Ships within 24 hours
 

Reviews

Based on 496 Reviews

Photo & Video Reviews
Check the boxes to filter reviews.
Only show reviews for:
  • one 'n only Colorfix (496)
Show All 496 Reviews
Sort By:
Date
|
Helpfulness
|
Rating
  • Hair
    Dry Hair
    Curly Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    3 Star Rating
    Ok So Far (will Update)
    I want to mention first that I spent several days reading and watching reviews on Color Fix and it seems to be about 50/50 with positive/ negative reviews. I really wanted my hair back to a medium ash brown (which became black from years and layers upon layers of dying it brown) It got so dark because instead of just doing my roots, I was doing all of my hair everytime I dyed! I will never do that again! So I finally decided to give Color Fix a try to save my way overdyed hair from being stripped away with bleach at the salon. I did one whole box yesterday, (btw i have ALOT of hair!) And one box got a lot of the black out but I needed to do it again,so today I did another full box...oh, and both times I skipped step 3 because people are saying the peroxide fried their hair and made it back to dark. My hair is quite dry after doing just step 1 and 2 twice and its also very red now. But so far, the black is gone! Now I am a bit nervous, because I keep reading reviews about how if you skip step 3, after a few days your hair can darken again or become unpredictable if you wish to re-dye (which I do want to soon) so now I'm not sure what to do. I suppose I can bear with this reddish color for a few days before I re-dye to medium ash brown, then I will let you all know what happens when I do. Hopefully it will not darken! And YES this stuff stinks! But if I can fix my hair how I want it to be, it's a small stinky price to pay!

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jun 16, 2013
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Medium Brown
    Color Treated Hair
    1 Star Rating
    Omg Don't Buy This!
    I have naturally brown hair, and I have died it darker which was a dumb idea. I bought this product along with my friend, and we both tried this on our hair...Well it turned hers orange and it turned my hair red (even after doing it 3 times). Not only was it not even close to my natural hair color.... It also has made my hair permanently rubbery all over my hair and I am not able to brush it without it falling out!!!! My friends did the same thing, just not as bad.. I would never recommend this to anyone! Four months later with hundreds of dollars of conditioners that I have bought, and still rubber hair :((
    26 out of 32 shoppers thought this review wasn't helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted May 12, 2013
    Link to this post
  • Ontario
    Hair
    Medium Brown
    Dry Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    Chemically Treated Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Amazing Product! Took Me From Deep Dark Red To Caramel!
    I left it on my hair for an hour with a plastic bag over top, and a towel wrapped over top the plastic bag. I used a blowdryer every 20 min for 3 minutes to add heat.

    I rinsed for 20 straight minutes, shampooed with a clarifying shampoo with a tbsp of baking soda 3 times. I then put an Ion Brilliance conditoner pack on it for 10 min. I rinsed and rinsed some more.

    the end result was an orangey puke color. I re-applied and let sit on my hair for another 45 min, using heat here and there. I repeated my rinsing for 20 minutes and 3 shampoos, and lots of conditioner. I then blow dried and the result was a caramel looking color with some orange tones. I applied the processing lotion (which is so important, its crazy not to use it!) for 5 minutes and rinsed. the result was a lighter caramel with less orange tones.

    It smelled gross..pretty unbearable really. But after rinsing and lots of shampoo with baking soda(natural odor eliminator) it didnt smell bad at all. only when its wet i can smell it faintly(i used it a few days prior to this review).

    All in all, its a fantastic product. I highly recommend it!

    Ps- if you dont rinse well enough, your hair will darken with the processing lotion. It is very important to rinse and rinse and rinse. also very important to use the processor. if you dont, you are leaving your hair cuticle open and when you go to dye it, it could be very unpredictable. You could end up with really really crazy bad hair. PLEASE use the processing lotion and dont be scared. just make sure you rinse thouroughly and shampoo repeatedly before using it.

    21 out of 22 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Apr 13, 2013
    Link to this post
  • United States
    5 Star Rating
    Color Fix Works (for Me)
    i have pixie short hair strw blonde natural and i tried a dark mahogany red which after a week or 2 started to look coppery so i color fixed it and it took out the dye. how ever that was the only layer of dye i had on my hair and its short .people who have trouble with color correction at home is because we dye our hair alot with different shades alot. i would suggest that if you have long hair and or have been dying it for years to get a proffesional opinion i am not a hair dresser but i have also had my share of mistakes .the product works but you have to consider all the dye on your head and the length and thickness .
    4 out of 4 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Apr 4, 2013
    Link to this post
  • California
    Hair
    Dark Brown
    Normal Hair
    Oily Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    1 Star Rating
    This Product Is Horrible Do Not Waste Your Money Trust Me!
    i bought this on sallys it was 15 dollars. I have very dark ash brown hair almost black. I ombred my hair at a salon but hated how yellow it was and dyed it a "darkes brown shade" after a month i felt like giving the ombre another try and wanted to remove the dye i had so i can go back to the "ombre bleach stage" of my hair so that i could tone it the color i wanted it. I got this thing and it did nothing!!!!! nothing at all i followed all the instructions and all that and it just faded some little pieces of my hair to a brown but nothing more and i didnt use the 3 step thingie. Oh and now i think its back to darkest brown does little pieces that faded to a lighter brown. It doesnt work! and i dont understand how it does work for some people.
    14 out of 16 shoppers thought this review wasn't helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Apr 3, 2013
    Link to this post
  • Oregon
    Hair
    Medium Brown
    Fine or Thin Hair
    5 Star Rating
    I Have It On Hand At All Times!
    I have been using ONO Colorfix about twice a year since I discovered it 5 years ago. Each time, it has been used to remove semi-permanent dye buildup of varying shades of dark browns and blacks (brown black, soft black, dark auburn, etc.). I have never been disappointed by the results of Colorfix. My natural color is a light/medium ash brown and I have been dying it religiously every month for years. In the colder/winter months, I opt for dark browns and blacks, but love to go lighter for the spring and summer months. So about ever 6 months or so, I will remove the black semi-permanent dye buildup from my hair so I can dye it a lighter shade.

    I have found it helpful to apply to the ends of the hair first, where there is the most dye buildup. I will usually do that and keep it on for about 10 or 15 minutes (depending on how much it has lightened in that time) before applying it to the rest of my head. I find that my hair color turns out much more even in the end when I apply the Colorfix over two stages like this.

    If I don't use the processing lotion, the brassy brown hair will generally darken within a few days. Though there have been times when I have used the processing lotion after a few days when the brassy tones in my hair had not darkened sufficiently. I have found that the processing lotion is best used about 2 to 3 days after you remove the dye from your hair, or it may darken back to the original shade.

    I absolutely love Colorfix, I have learned to keep a box of it on hand at most times, just in case! I have also recommended it to many of my friends looking to remove dark dye or just to partial corrections of dye jobs. I absolutely cannot recommend this product enough.
    13 out of 13 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Apr 2, 2013
    Link to this post
  • Melbourne
    2 Star Rating
    Expensive And Not As Great As It First Appeared
    I mixed about a third of the product for my long dark-brown-almost-black hair. My natural hair is medium/dark ash brown, with a ton of premature grey.

    I left it on for over an hour with periodic blow-drys. When I rinsed, using lots of shampoo and a bit of conditioner, I was left with an inch-wide orange stripe down my centre parting and all through my roots, and the rest of my hair was fairly unchanged. I mixed all the rest of the bottles together and used the lot, straight away. Due to the quantity it seemed to spread more evenly through my hair, with a nice creamy consistency and gag-inducing smell.

    I left it for another hour. I washed it out, using tons of shampoo and dishwashing liquid to try and get rid of the smell (it sort of worked), and this time it was an amazing caramel blonde, shading darker towards the ends but in an appealing way. I loved it, my hair felt fine, and it even seemed to be thicker, 'lighter' and less greasy from years of dying different shades of brown.

    I skipped the processing lotion, and the next evening my partner commented that my hair was darker than it was 24 hours ago. The next evening, he noticed that it was even darker.

    That was about 4 or 5 weeks ago and today my hair is only a shade lighter than before I stripped it. Presumably, if I had used the processing lotion my hair would have darkened straight away.

    I haven't tried dying it yet - I want to go lighter so I'll try bleach, but I'll definitely be doing a strand test, since I don't know what to expect. I'm in Australia and I paid $60 for this product from a hair care shop. Had I paid $30 I wouldn't mind so much. Next time I'll use bleach straight away.
    3 out of 4 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Mar 26, 2013
    Link to this post
  • San Diego, CA
    Hair
    Dark Brown
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    4 Star Rating
    A Must To Get Rid Of Unwanted Black Hair!
    I dyed my hair black after years of bleaching it blonde. Long story short I used this product minus step three and my hair went from jet black to a beautiful cinnamon brown and it feels amazing. For those with damaged hair be sure you haven't over processed your hair or else as with any chemicals you can cause damage. I just wanted to share my experience because I really love this product. I wish I would have known about it long ago. My hair was very damaged on the top layers but prior to using this product I didn't use heat styling tools for 8 weeks and cut my hair twice in the interum. I will use this product again. One n Only has some amazing products. I use their Keratin Kurl shampoo, conditioner and deep coditioning treatments, all sulfate free.
    2 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Mar 23, 2013
    Link to this post
  • West Virginia
    Hair
    Light Brown
    Color Treated Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    4 Star Rating
    Much Better Than Expected.
    last year I dyed my hair from a dirty blonde to black. tried Color Oops and it turned my hair brown for like a minute and went back to how it was. before I used the one n only colorfix my hair was a dark red. I was kind of skeptical because of the last time I used a product like this, but it turned out a lot better than I had originally thought. I left it on my hair for about a half hour and my hair is almost a strawberry blonde. there was some damage, but that's probably on my end for dying my hair too often. my bathroom smells TERRIBLE still, but the smell in my hair is almost nonexistent after I washed it out.
    2 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Mar 19, 2013
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Auburn
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Chemically Treated Hair
    1 Star Rating
    So Disappointed
    First off i must have the worst luck in the world because every product i try works for everyone else but me! I followed these instructions so carefully and later rinsed the product out for 15 minutes! I even skipped the third step like many of the reviews i read said to do. It was looking a bit lighter but then a few minutes later it was back to the exact same color! I literally have tried everything underthe sun to get rid of this god aweful red hair without bleaching it because its already damaged. NOTHING EVER WORKS FOR ME! All this product did was leave my hair dry and smelling bad. Now im gunna be forced to bleach my hair because its the only way to get the red out... TERRIBLE TERRIBLE PRODUCT! Doesnt work at all if youre trying to get red out...waste of my time and money.
    2 out of 4 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Mar 1, 2013
    Link to this post

Write Your Own Review

Have you tried this product? Help out by sharing what worked (or didn't)!

Write a Review
You may also like
Server Name