StealOfTheDayClipless30
Clairol

Clairol The Uncolor System Haircolor Remover

50 Reviews Photo & Video Reviews Post Yours!
A semi-permanent haircolor remover that is gentle, quick, and easy-to-use, leaving hair clean and ready for color.
$12.95
Out of Stock
 

Reviews

Based on 50 Reviews

Photo & Video Reviews
Check the boxes to filter reviews.
Only show reviews for:
  • Clairol The Uncolor System Haircolor Remover (50)
Show All 50 Reviews
Sort By:
Date
|
Helpfulness
|
Rating
  • Canada
    5 Star Rating
    The Powder
    Ok this product in liquid form may not be the same as the powder,because I just used the powder and omg amazing results miss clairol uncolor but in the powder form.It is kind of a light blue tint powder and I mixed it with a blue cream 20 developer Im telling you ladies it dose not get better than this I love this product!!!!!!! In the powder form Thanks
    Before Photo
    After Photo
    5 out of 6 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Mar 6, 2007
    Link to this post
  • 4 Star Rating
    I Used Loreal Colorzap
    i made this page while useing loreal color zap a color remover fixer what ever you wanna call it, i found it while trying to lighten my dyed black hair to a brown, no one eles had document their results with before and after pictures that i could find so i went ahead and did it .colorzap.50megs.com
    2 out of 2 shoppers thought this review wasn't helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jan 25, 2007
    Link to this post
  • Birmingham, AL
    4 Star Rating
    This Stuff Works For Permanent Color If You Get The Powder Packette
    OK, I have been through a ton of trouble with my hair the last week or so. Was very blonde (dyed) and decided that I needed to go darker blonde for the winter. I put a dark blonde shade on my hair without using a protein filler - mistake! My hair "grabbed" the base color only, leaving me with dark brown and gray midshaft and roots and the rest was just hideous gray. Atrocious, I say. My husband said at least he knew what Id look like at 60! Ugh. So I flew to the drugstore and bought Light Natural Blonde by Loreal Excellence Creme w/the protective serum. I applied this approximately 36 hours after the disaster, all over my hair. It turned out waaaaay better, but I still had a really gray tone (VERY ashey, TOO ashey) to the mid shaft and ends of my hair, which is mid-back length. My roots were a fairly nice golden shade, which I could have lived with, but the problem was the rest of my hair. I bought two "fixes" - Uncolor System in the powder form, and Colorfix. After MUCH research, cutting two inches off the ends, and after speaking alot w/the great girls at Sally Beauty Supply, I chose to use the Uncolor System b/c I could just mix it with water, which sounded gentler to me. I applied it to the mid shaft and ends of my hair, leaving it on <10 mins, per the directions. Rinsed, shampooed, and then I conditioned to the extreme! Let me just tell you that even though my hair is a bit dry (it wasnt in tip top shape before, though) the Uncolor took every bit of that awful gray shade out, and actually left my hair looking a buttery shade of blonde, which I really like. I had expected white hair. This morning I am applying Ion Color Brilliance in High Lift Golden Blonde to the roots to even out the color...shouldnt be a big deal b/c the parts of my hair that are still darker are really healthy. As insurance against further damage/uneven color/etc., I am using neutral protein filler on my hair before I apply the Ion color. My point: you CAN remove color from your hair quickly and easily w/the Uncolor System; just make sure you use the powder packette which clearly says on the front that it IS for PERMANENT color removal. I am VERY pleased with the outcome. Keep in mind I didnt have to remove that much color (its not like I had to take off black or a dark red) so maybe that was the difference. But for those blondes or even lighter brunettes who have gotten a really ugly tint/unwanted color from a dye job, I highly recommend using Uncolor! And then condition, condition, condition!!! Good luck! Oh, and another reason I didnt go with ColorFix - it absolutely REEKS, like worse than rotten eggs or a sewer...PEEE EWWWW! Something that smells that bad can in NO way be good for your hair!
    2 out of 3 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Nov 30, 2006
    Link to this post
  • San Francisco, CA
    5 Star Rating
    Totally Works!!!!!
    The people that say it doesnt work must not be following directions.I have dark blond with natural gold-red highlights but I have been getting a few grey hairs. My hair is relaxed; so when I use color it really grabs. I used Beautiful Browns Semi-permanant (no ammonia-no peroxide) in Honey Brown but it turned my hair dark brown. One week later the color hadnt faded even though I had washed my hair 3 times. I purchased Uncolor and followed the directions. I have a professional hood dryer so I sat under it with a cap for 30 minutes. Lots of dye was rinsed out immediately. After blowdrying, my hair is almost completely back to its normal color after one use. Which means the grays are very present now but still have a slight tinge of color. One more use will probably get rid the last tinges. My no-gray hair has its natural highlights back. The other color removers such as color zap have peroxide in them. Because my hair is relaxed I am not going to put peroxide on it. the people that this didnt work for probably colored their hair with dye that uses peroxide. My scalp didnt feel a thing and my hair feels healthy and bouncy. I highly recommend this. Use this BEFORE resorting to harsh chemicals. And next time when dying your hair always pick a color 2-3 shades lighter than what you are striving for.
    3 out of 3 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Nov 24, 2006
    Link to this post
  • Denver,CO
    5 Star Rating
    It Worked For Me!
    I have red hair and was trying to cover some random gray strands with a semiperm color. To my horror, it turned my hair cherry red. I went immediately to sally beauty supply and found this product. I used it the same day and it worked beautifully. The color started to come out immediately. If you made a mistake, maybe this works best the same day you color. Thank god I found this. I have my natural red back and in just 30 minutes.
    2 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Sep 30, 2006
    Link to this post
  • Vista
    1 Star Rating
    Worthless And Disappointing
    I used semi-permanent dye to make my light chesnut brown hair black and realized that it was a terrible idea....I attempted to wash it out quite a bit with harsh shampoo and even dish detergent which took it down a couple of notches, but then I attempted to use UNCOLOR. It was a complete waste of time and money. I used it twice, and the color change is not the slightest bit noticeable, not to mention it totally made my scalp feel like it was on fire.......bad product!
    1 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Sep 5, 2006
    Link to this post
  • Nashville, TN
    2 Star Rating
    Nope.
    I agree. Save your money. Go straight for ColorZap. It costs the same, its harmless, and the results, from my personal experience are guaranteed. It is for both permanent and semi or demi-permanent color. My hair was "cleansed" down to medium blonde with ColorZap, I put light brown over it, let it fade for a few weeks, then put light ash brown over that using a deposit only color. Let it fade for three weeks, then tried Uncolor today, following the directions to a capital T, and the results were so faint it may have just been my imagination. The water when I rinsed was slightly tinted purplish brown for about the first three seconds. Im going to get ColorZap today to do the job right, once and for all.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jun 13, 2006
    Link to this post
  • Philadelphia, PA
    1 Star Rating
    Save Your Money...
    Im not one to believe what others write (good or bad) about a product without trying it, but I have to say that this product does not work. I do have semi-permanent haircolor on my hair and I followed the directions as written, but the color is deeper and my hair feels incredibly dry and looks frizzy. I am incredibly disappointed with this product. Save your money...dont buy this product.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Mar 6, 2006
    Link to this post
  • Houston, TX
    3 Star Rating
    Worked But Only With Heat
    I waited 6 weeks to see if the semi-permanent color I used would fade but it did not fade enough. I used this product twice and noticed that it did lighten my semi-permanent color each time. I will use the product a third time as it is a gentle ligtner. The most important aspect of this product is to use WITH HEAT -- I use a heating cap on low, keeping heat on for one hour. I do like the fact that this product is gentle and that my natural dark blonde color is not disturbed.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Feb 1, 2006
    Link to this post
  • Hope Mills, NC
    5 Star Rating
    Uncolor System Is A Miracle!
    I AM SO SHOCKED TO READ SUCH HORRIBLE REVIEWS OF THE UNCOLOR SYSTEM. I HAVE USED IT MANY TIMES AND FOR ALL SORTS OF HAIR COLOR EMERGENCIES. THE PRODUCT IS ONLY DESIGNED TO REMOVE SEMI PERM COLOR, BUT IT HAS WORKED FOR ME WHEN REMOVING PITCH BLACK PERMANENT DYE FROM MY NATURAL DIRTY BLONDE LOCKS!!! IT WORKED SO WELL AND DID NOT DAMAGE MY HAIR, I HAVE USED IT ALSO WHEN REMOVING RED DYE FROM MY LOCKS. MY HAIRDRESSER FIRST INTRODUCED ME TO THE PRODUCT, WHICH SHE USED TO REMOVE PERMANENT BLUE BLACK DYE FROM MY LOCKS, AND I HAVE SWORN BY IT EVER SINCE. IN FACT, I AM ON MY WAY TO SALLYS NOW TO BUY A BOTTLE, TO REMOVE YET ANOTHER RED DYE JOB GONE BLAH. BUT HEY, IF YOU GUYS KEEP KNOCKING THE UNCOLOR SYSTEM, MAYBE THE PRICE WILL GO DOWN AND SAVE ME A COUPLE OF BUCKS.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Feb 1, 2006
    Link to this post

Write Your Own Review

Have you tried this product? Help out by sharing what worked (or didn't)!

Write a Review
Server Name