Free Shipping Over $50
15% off + Free Shipping on Top Ten Lists
Clairol

Clairol The Uncolor System Haircolor Remover

50 Reviews Photo & Video Reviews Post Yours!
A semi-permanent haircolor remover that is gentle, quick, and easy-to-use, leaving hair clean and ready for color.
$12.95
Out of Stock
 

Reviews

Based on 50 Reviews

Photo & Video Reviews
Check the boxes to filter reviews.
Only show reviews for:
  • Clairol The Uncolor System Haircolor Remover (50)
Show All 50 Reviews
Sort By:
Date
|
Helpfulness
|
Rating
  • AZ
    Hair
    Dark Brown
    Dry Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    Relaxed Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Powder Is The Way To Go
    I dyed my hair and it came out extremely wrong. I used Clairol's powder Uncolor and it took ALL the color out of my hair..., so I could start over. Then I dyed it the actual color I wanted, which was several shades lighter than my natural color. It was the best thing I have done to my hair. I just can't find it in any stores here anymore.
    13 out of 14 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Apr 22, 2012
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Black
    Dry Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    4 Star Rating
    The Liquid Version
    Before I tried this product I tried another product which didn't change the apperance of my hair color. I recently put blonde streaks in my hair that was very bright so i tried dulling the color with a brown semi permanant hair color. The semi color turned my hair green so I used Uncolor to remove the semi color and it really worked alot of the color is gone and it was not harsh on my hair. I would have given the product 5 stars but it did not remove all the semi color. Some of the previous comments were confusing and maybe they had to much color on their hair. My hair is not in the best shape but this product is gentle and was worth the money.
    7 out of 7 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Mar 16, 2012
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Chemically Treated Hair
    3 Star Rating
    Yes...no...maybe??
    So I tried it once. And this is when I first started beauty school. It worked alright. I used the powder by the way. My hair is very porous and I damage it with lightened all the time. It's not healthy for it. I don't care because if it got too bad I'd shave it. Anyway, it did what a lightened would do, but not as strong o think. And for all the girls, I think one of them said they had to cut their hair off, don't expect miracles. The one girl seemed to be exaggerating a bit bc it's not strong enough ro damage your hair that bad. She probably used it too many times. And that's another thing, you can't keep using it over and over again. It's mean to turn your hair brassy. It's taking your hair to the orange yellow pigment. Yourhair strands while being dyes go from blue, red, orange, then yellow pigment. When your hairs white that means no pigment.

    Like I said I'm a hairstylist, and I don't agree with always going to the salon. Slot of times stylists want to do what they want to do to your hair, and don't give you want, color correcting takes time and if the don't want to do it they won't do it good. On purpose. Trust me. Plusalot of them aren't qualified.

    Just don't expect perfection and don't listen to the ignorance of others. Research and figure it put before you attempt to use it.
    16 out of 22 shoppers thought this review wasn't helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jun 25, 2011
    Link to this post
  • NY
    Hair
    Black
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    4 Star Rating
    Used The Powder Version
    I used the powder version of this product. I'm not sure if it does the exact same thing. I was nervous to use it but did a strand test and went for it when my hair didnt fall out. :) I dyed my hair black which my stylist assured me wouldnt come out. then I dyed it red, then purple, then all completely black..... After using two packets of this product on my mid-back length hair it went from black to different shades of golden brown, light brown, brassy gold, reddish gold and what not. Dont expect it to be even thats not what it does. I'm happy with the results I'm going to do one more application for spots that I may have missed tomorrow and go over it with a semi-permanent color.

    It is drying so condition condition condition.
    17 out of 21 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Feb 21, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Auburn
    Fine or Thin Hair
    Chemically Treated Hair
    4 Star Rating
    Review For Liquid, Not Powder.
    The liquid version of this product comes in a BIG bottle sufficient for many many uses -- the powder version comes in a one-time use packet you are supposed to mix with peroxide developer. They are for totally different purposes, but many here are confused and are reviewing the wrong product -- or they bought the wrong product expecting it to do the work of the other. User error does not make this a bad product!

    Liquid = reduces tint on slightly stained hair, color rinsed hair, and semi-permanent colored hair. Best for lighter colors or gently dyes used on virgin hair. It will remove almost no color from hair that has been dyed many times or damaged with perms, relaxers, highlights, or permanent color. Does not damage. Absolutely amazing for cleaning dye off your skin and work surfaces/flooring. Indispensable if you use dyes that stain the skin like Manic panic, Adore, Ellumen, henna, and dark brown/black permanent dyes. Also good as a pre-dye wash to remove silicone hair product buildup so you get a nice even dye job. It does exactly what it claims to do, and nothing beyond that.

    Powder = reduces color on darkly dyed colors or vibrant colors on damaged (porous) hair. It is a bleaching product, so be prepared for more or less damage depending on the strength of your processed hair. Very damaged hair with dark colors may not lift much, and it will not remove indigo (a common ingredient in henna dyes).
    55 out of 55 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Nov 21, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Black
    Normal Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    5 Star Rating
    An Unexpected Success.
    I have been dying my hair permanent black for 3 years now. I have tried other color removal kits AND bleach, and I was always left with only my roots lightened and the same black hair afterwards. I decided to give it another try, a couple of year later, and I found The Uncolor System at my local Sally's beauty. I left it on a maximum of 20 minutes for the simple fact that I am a scaredy cat and I was already seeing results. It was very sudsy when I was rinsing, and took a while to rinse out. My hair felt a bit rough, but after conditioning, my hair felt as if nothing had happened to it at all. The results from just 20 minutes of leaving this on was a beautiful red/orange color. I had a couple of black patches left, but that is my fault because I was in too big of a rush to apply it evenly. I definetely plan on using this again to remove the rest of the color, because I plan on bleaching and dying later to a light brown. I would definetely recommend this product to anyone needing a quick removal of color.
    29 out of 30 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Aug 30, 2010
    Link to this post
  • 1 Star Rating
    Useless
    This product was so useless when I tried it for removing haircolor pigment. ONO Color Fix does the trick beautifully! UnColor did absolutely nothing whatsoever (except waste my time & money).
    8 out of 12 shoppers thought this review wasn't helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jun 22, 2010
    Link to this post
  • 2 Star Rating
    Not Terrible, But Completely Ineffective
    I have had naturally dark blonde hair my whole life, so before Christmas I decided to go dark. I used a semi-permanent color which turned out much darker than I wanted, but my stylist assured me that it would wash out in a few weeks. (It did not) In mid-March I used this product, following the directions exactly. I applied it, lathered, did the 30 minute dryer in a plastic cap. When I washed it out, almost nothing happened. My hair MIGHT be half a shade lighter (or am I imagining it?) Other than that, I deep conditioned but my hair still feels a little dry and scalp feels a little funny. Not a horror story I guess, but this is really not a quality product.
    4 out of 7 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Mar 19, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Hollywood, Ca. Usa
    2 Star Rating
    No Pink Fix!
    I want to dye my hair Green, which means I have to get rid of this Pink dye. I used this product not expecting miracles, but to expedite the process. It washed some of the pink out, it evened out the shade too! left my hair feeling soft and clean. Unfortunately, it didnt take too much of the color out so I am now considering using bleach to get this Pink dye out of my hair... No hair horror stories here! just not a very strong product.
    9 out of 11 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Dec 14, 2009
    Link to this post
  • Chicago
    4 Star Rating
    Not A Miracle, But Not Bad
    I used the powdered version of this product, and I followed all the directions... and I got pretty good results. I must admit after reading some of the horror stories on here, I was scared to use it, but I tried it myself. No hair fell out, no horrible damage, lightened my hair about 3 shades :D(black to light red)
    13 out of 16 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Dec 10, 2008
    Link to this post

Write Your Own Review

Have you tried this product? Help out by sharing what worked (or didn't)!

Write a Review
You may also like
Server Name