Back To School Shop
Rio de Keratin

Rio De Keratin Advanced Keratin Smoothing System

Rio de Keratin is an easy, at-home keratin smoothing system. With a unique formula, you can now have silky smooth hair….anytime, anywhere. No salon prices or ...
$39.99
In Stock
- Ships within 24 hours
 

Reviews

Based on 78 Reviews

Photo & Video Reviews
Check the boxes to filter reviews.
Only show reviews for:
  • Rio De Keratin Advanced Keratin Smoothing System (79)
Show All 78 Reviews
Sort By:
Date
|
Helpfulness
|
Rating
  • Quebec, Canada
    Hair
    Dark Brown
    Dry Hair
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    4 Star Rating
    Changed My Life!
    Every now & then a magical product comes along & changes everything. For my unruly, fine curly/frizzy hair, this is it. I'm on my 4th kit, & I get 2 uses out of each. My hair is quickly, & easily transformed into smooth, manageable healthy, shiny straight locks that take less than half the time to blow dry.

    Tips

    - before applying the treatment, you must shampoo, using the product in the kit. Shampoo a good 3 times; not just once. This made a huge difference.

    - the instructions suggest immediately blow drying after the keratin is on. I wrap my hair in plastic for 30 mins to let it really soak in. Then, blow dry thoroughly, in small sections, but don't fry your hair. It must be bone dry, though, before flat ironing.

    - Get a flat iron best suited for keratin treatments: they are not all the same! I bought the blue Babyliss 1" Nano Titanium (another life-changer!)

    - The directions say to use the flat iron at 450 degrees. That dried my hair out the first time & I did the treatment. I now get wonderful results at 370, taking thin sections.

    - The directions say to shampoo & condition using the products in the kit. DON'T! wait 3 days to shampoo & DON'T use the products in the kit. Discard the conditioner but keep the shampoo use before your next treatment.

    - Use a top-notch sulfate free shampoo (Theorie Helichrysum!!!) & conditioner. The treatment lasts twice as long this way & you get no damage whatsoever.

    - I gave it 4 stars, simply because the conditioner is useless & the clarifying shampoo they suggest you use, strips the treatment form the hair.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted 3 days ago
    Link to this post
  • Florida
    Hair
    Medium Brown
    Dry Hair
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    The Best Ever
    Hi girls,made a review a couple of days ago I am back for the end results. Amazing!!! My hair never looked so good and felt so soft. Yesterday we had a down pour of rain with winds and my hair did not buckle one bit. My hair stayed in it's place did not frizz at all. I have never seen this happen in my 50 years of living. I love,love this product and will always use it. Will not live with out it, I just can't . With out it I look like a hot mess. You girls who tried stand it'd did not work do not give up,read the instructions carefully and do not worry if you put to much because you can wash it off the next day. I live in Florida and I need this,hope they never stop making this.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Apr 24, 2015
    Link to this post
  • Florida
    Hair
    Dark Brown
    Dry Hair
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    Chemically Treated Hair
    5 Star Rating
    A Lot Of Work But Very Nice Results
    My first time trying this product,had to try it since I moved to Florida two months ago and just tried it today April 21st. The state of high humidity!!! My hair is very short and curly frizzy and I don't look so pretty with it so short and curly just does not fit my face although I love curls just on long hair. So far my hair is smooth and soft and shinny. I did my hair outside because of a little burning of eyes and because of fumes,other than that everything else was fine,thank god I was not allergic to it like some people mentioned. Now all I have to do is put it to the brutal humid temperatures of Florida and will update the end results for you guys. Because of my short hair I used very little of it and so I have a lot left over . If I see it frizzing a little will do it over a few times again,maybe it will take better after a few times,because hair will improve after several uses. So don't give up so easily. We as curly girls can't afford to give up,we want perfect curls and smooth hair in such brutal hot humid temperatures . I have noticed it getting better for I have tried a different brand before this one and my hair is showing a big improvement.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Apr 21, 2015
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Dark Brown
    Curly Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Diy Keratin Treatments .. Much Cheaper/faster Than Salon Treatment!
    I have been getting professional keratin treatments for years, at no menial expense, I may add, and finally had the courage to ask the salon what chemical they were using so I could buy it myself and save on the immense labor fee (>$100). They use this exact chemical, so I began buying this in bulk, maybe 3 at a time to save on shipping, and have never looked back. As long as you prepare adequately, enough time, space, supplies, and make sure to do it in a room with open windows and fans to aerate the chemicals, the treatment is a piece of cake. I am 100% satisfied with the outcome of the treatment, and only wish my hair grew slower so I wouldn't have to redo the treatment every 6-8 weeks. This treatment to me is the best thing you could possibly do for frizzy, curly, unmanageable hair, and it cuts my styling time down to about 15-20 minutes. I was born with thick, frizzy, curly, medusa-like hair, so to properly blow it out and straighten it without the keratin treatment took upwards to 1.5 - 2 hours. I honestly cannot recommend this treatment more and hope that it is available for purchase for the rest of my life.
    7 out of 7 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Sep 29, 2014
    Link to this post
  • Boston
    Hair
    Medium Brown
    Curly Hair
    2 Star Rating
    The Shampoo Has Sulfates!!!
    Not sure why but the shampoo that comes with this contains sulfates.. I would not have purchased had I known, its common knowledge that any straightening keratin product should be washed with sulfate free shampoo. !!!!
    9 out of 9 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Sep 16, 2014
    Link to this post
  • Miami, FL
    Hair
    Blonde
    Dry Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    Chemically Treated Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Easy And Effective!
    I have blonde highlighted thin hair and this treatment is easy, fast and effective on my hair. It does not make it pin straight but it gives smooth frizz free hair... specially with Miami's humidity. I have done this twice so far and I love it. I had a bad formaldehyde allergy before with a keratin treatment and I don't get any with this one. Just some eye burning. Keep the treated wet hair away from your face while doing the process. And it only has a 24 hour wait period and not 72!
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Aug 19, 2014
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Dark Brown
    Dry Hair
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    4 Star Rating
    Works Well, But Application Is Brutal
    I've had several keratin treatments both in salon and at home. Very few times, during the blow dry do my eyes water. When I applied this system, I had to constantly stop to get air.
    I have a large, well vented bathroom and while spraying the treatment in my hair, my eyes, nose, and throat burned worse than they have ever in my life. I had to open windows and literally walk out of my bathroom and stick my head out another window to be able to clear my eyes enough to continue. I think half the issue is that this is sprayed on, so it disperses into the air more than into your hair. During my blow dry, there was very mild discomfort, but I'm sure that was residual.
    My hair looked amazing once it was complete. I waited more than 24 hours to wash it out, it took about 15 minutes to blow dry straight (normally an hour process) and no flat iron was needed to get it straight. My second wash, i let it air dry, it took 3 hours to dry, and it is very wavy, but no frizz. Not quite the results I got with the salon treatments, but not bad for the price.
    I would probably do it again, but have someone else spray it while I cover my face, or possibly even just do it outside.
    6 out of 6 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Aug 19, 2014
    Link to this post
  • Kent Island, MD
    Hair
    Medium Brown
    Dry Hair
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    5 Star Rating
    This Has Changed My Life
    Of coarse I live in Maryland which is one the most humid states in the US! With having very frizzy, curly, thin hair, I've tried "them" all! Nothing has worked as good as this stuff! I left it product in for 36 hours instead of the 24. When I showered with no cap, I wet hair and did not wash it, I just used the conditioner provided and when I blew dry my hair I was so amazed how straight it still was and thicker feeling too! Walked my dog in the early humid morning...still straight! This is by far the best at home Keratin treatment! You will not be disappointment!
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jul 21, 2014
    Link to this post
  • Birmingham, AL
    Hair
    Dark Brown
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    3 Star Rating
    Know Before You Buy
    This product did what it said it would do...it made my curly, frizzy locks smooth. It remains to be seen if this continues after washing and if so, how long it lasts. But, it also scared me because as soon as I started spraying on the treatment, my eyes started burning...pretty badly...and where the treated damp hair touched the side of my face also burned...and I also felt my throat burning. I am not typically a sensitive, over-reactive type!!I I was afraid it might really burn and cause scaring, but I don't think it did. I can't figure out why this happened because based on ingredient list, I wouldn't think this would have happened. I hope they are truthful about their ingredient list. Also, the spray bottle was very stiff and almost impossible to spray one-handed. If I ever use this again, I will opt to pour the mixture in a cup and apply with a brush to minimize the chance of spray going on skin or near eyes. I'm pleased with the straighter hair, but suspicious of what I'm doing to my health. After trying this brand and Keratin Express and Phyto Defrisant Balm, I think Phyto Defrisant Balm is cleaner, healthier, and probably provides fairly equal results. Trust me...I wanted it to work and purchased it based on the formaldehyde-free advertising, but became very anxious when the burning of eyes, skin, and throat began. Not convinced yet that it's worth all that.
    3 out of 3 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jul 16, 2014
    Link to this post
  • Wyoming
    Hair
    Medium Brown
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Silky Straight Hair
    I did my shoulder length hair by myself. I read and followed the directions and my hair turned out beautiful. Salon results for half the price. My hair is shiny and manageable. Not smelly like the low formeldehyde formulas.
    5 out of 5 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted May 4, 2014
    Link to this post

Write Your Own Review

Have you tried this product? Help out by sharing what worked (or didn't)!

Write a Review
Server Name