Free Shipping Over $50
25% off $50
Keratin Complex

Keratin Complex Natural Keratin Smoothing Treatment

95 Reviews Photo & Video Reviews Post Yours!
Keratin Complex Natural Keratin Smoothing Treatment is specially formulated as a revitalizing and rejuvenating salon treatment designed to eliminate up to 95% o...
$160.00 - $420.00
Free Shipping
 
Out of Stock
 

Reviews

Based on 95 Reviews

Photo & Video Reviews
Check the boxes to filter reviews.
Only show reviews for:
  • Keratin Complex Natural Keratin Smoothing Treatment (95)
Show All 95 Reviews
Sort By:
Date
|
Helpfulness
|
Rating
  • Hair
    Light Brown
    Color Treated Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    1 Star Rating
    Never Again
    I will never again trust positive reviews on something im not sure about. My hair is in actual worse condition after getting it done, it fried the crap out of my ends and I needed a haircut directly after the treatment. No softness or smoothness was observed that was any different than when I just straighten my hair(at least then my hair doesn't feel so dry and crackly like it does now). Im extremely upset with the results, id expected so much better considering the reviews. Ugh and not to mention the horrible smell of this one! Make sure you have doors, windows open with multiple fans on...I did the treatment a few days ago and my head still hurts, so do my eyes. I wanted to like this so much, now I can't wait til its washed completely out.
    13 out of 23 shoppers thought this review wasn't helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Mar 16, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Fl
    Hair
    Medium Brown
    Curly Hair
    3 Star Rating
    Works, But Has Some Drawbacks
    I was really excited to try this treatment since I have naturally frizzy, curly hair and live in FL. My hair is the type that is very thick and wavy/afro looking when air dried or blow dried without doing anything to it, but it is always smooth and soft.

    I was not at all concerned with any side effects that could result from the treatment since I figured it must be a simple process. I'm not one to read negative posts and think the worst especially when I had read so many positive posts about this treatment.

    Even though I did the treatment in a ventilated area with fans and open windows, though, my eyes started to burn badly almost immediately. This was when the product was wet, before I even started blow drying! I kept on going because I was determined to have frizless hair. After about 10 minutes of applying, I then started to sweat and feel sick. I was honestly considering jumping in the shower and washing it out of my hair. Still, I figured I'd be fine and kept going. Oddly enough, the fumes were not bad by the time I was drying and flat ironing my hair (despite the reverse that many people say).

    After waiting to wash my hair, I was amazed at how much frizz was gone. Even after sweating and being outside in the humidity my hair was still straight. So that is a plus. But, I cannot do my hair curly anymore unless I curl it with a curling iron. My hair is silky and smooth, but limp looking if I let it air dry. I still cannot wash and go. So, now I have to do my hair straight every day which is fine. I even tried just blow drying around a round brush without flat ironing and it still looked bad (which it always does without the treatment, too). So, I do still have to flat iron. The blow drying time is reduced, but it still takes the same amount of time to flat iron it. The only real difference that I see is that my hair is pretty much humidity resistant which is great. And the fact that I cannot do it curly :(

    Also, another drawback is that my hair gets really greasy very quickly. I'm not sure if this is because the shampoo is sulfate free or if it's from the treatment itself. Others have said the same. After 24 hours, my hair starts to look dirty.

    Although I am enjoying humidity proof hair, I don't think I will do the treatment again since it limits me to how I can wear my hair and also because of the awful fumes. I really believe all the posts that I had read prior to doing the treatment about the formaldehyde now.
    9 out of 14 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Mar 5, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Dark Brown
    Dry Hair
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Soo Much Cheaper To Do Yourself!!
    Myself and my daughter had the Michael Coppola Keratin Treatment done by a stylist in October 2010. We paid $250.00 a pop not including the shampoo and conditioner and tip.....but we absolutely love it!!!! My daughter has thick but not so curly hair and I have thick, curly and frizzy hair. A full blow dry only now takes me 8-10min tops where before it was hours to even try and get it straight and frizz-free.....sometimes with no luck! We now have come to mid February 2011 and needed to have the treatment done again but really did not want to pay over $500.00 again! I searched the net and found the treatment here on Folica.com....8oz for $150.00. Can't go wrong for that price! My daughter promised me we could do hers first and then as long as it came out fine we'd do mine as well. Well we did it ourselves and love it just as much as the first time!! We were even able to pay more attention to ourselves then the stylist could because we had all the time we needed. 100% recommended to any/all to buy the product here at Folica.com and do it yourself...the directions are right on the bottle! We did two heads (with a pinch left over) for $150.00 versus $500.00....VERY HAPPY customer!! :)
    16 out of 16 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Feb 22, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Dark Brown
    Curly Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Best Thing I've Ever Put Ony Hair.
    I'm biracial and have naturally curly hair. I can't tell you how much keratin has helped. I first bought it over summer because I was vacationing in Florida and loathed the high humidity. The keratin treatment was wonderful. My hair did curly slightly but it did nit frizz! Keratin will not take all the curl out if your hair. I still have waves and sometimes ringlets when I get out of the shower. But it takes 5 minutes to blow-dry instead of 15. And when I flatiron after I feel like pochahontas. I never used to wear my hair curly because it was too Little Orphan Annie. Now I wear it curly all the time. I don't even put product in it, with the exception of maybe a dime size drop of glossing drops. That's really all you need.
    I can't emphasize enough how necessary this product is if you want to calm your curls and pretty much eliminate frizz. Now I can finally get my hair wet in front of people and not worry about how big and frizzy it looks afterwards.
    It really is that miracle product. And worth every penny!
    7 out of 7 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Feb 22, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Hollister, CA
    Hair
    Medium Brown
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Smooth As Silk
    I've been using these products for a year to great success. My hair is
    naturally very curly--tight, springy curly. I have a lot of hair, but it's very
    fine. Before using the keratin smoothing treatment, I could blow my hair out
    straight, but it would take me more than a half hour, and then I would still
    need to use the straightening iron on it. If the weather was rainy or humid, I
    wouldn't even bother to try to straighten it because even after all that work,
    within five minutes of going outside, my hair would turn into a big ball of
    frizz. On those kind of days, It was always better to use a little styling gel
    and let it dry naturally.

    My stylist used the Coppola keratin smoothing treatment on me for the first time last February. I couldn't believe how smooth and silky my hair felt afterward. It was not only straight, but also looked shinier than before the treatment. Even on the most
    humid days, it stays straight. I can style my hair from wet start to finished
    in under 15 minutes. What I really love is that I can still wear it curly! The treatment didn't effect my hair's ability to curl. It's just not frizzy!

    My first treatment lasted 5 months. I wash and condition my hair with Coppola
    shampoo and conditioner for color treated hair on average every other day, and I
    use three squirts of the Coppola Infusion before I dry my hair. I did another
    Coppola straightening treatment at the salon in July and am ready to do a third
    next week. This time, to save money, I'm going to do the treatment myself this time. I am pretty skilled at styling my own hair and have a very good professional straightening iron. (I also recommend that the Nano Titanium by Bayliss Pro.)

    This product requires that you do not wash your hair for 72 hours after it's applied, and my stylist recommended not wearing any hair clips, elastics, or hats during this waiting period. That is the hardest part of the process for me. I exercise daily and hate having flat or greasy hair. I am so ready to wash it out on Day 2. Plan wisely, you don't want to schedule a big event between the 48-72 hours after your treatment. Your hair will be flat and greasy, and your scalp will probably start to itch, but the little bit of discomfort is well worth it.

    For the longest-lasting results, have the treatment done AFTER you color your hair, and only touch up your color afterward on your roots. Do not over-wash your air, and keep in mind that clorine and other chemicals will reduce the product's efficacy. I give these products the highest ratings, but I would definitely recommend that you use a professional stylist to apply this product the first few times to see exactly how the product should be applied to your hair. Remember, it's pretty easy to burn yourself or fry your hair when you are working with such a hot iron.

    I know seven other women who have use this product. They have varying degrees
    of natural curl, although none of them have curls as tight as mine. Without
    exception, we all love this product!


    22 out of 24 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Feb 4, 2011
    Link to this post
  • CA
    Hair
    Medium Brown
    Dry Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    One Month Into The Treatment!
    To clairfy, the first photo review showed my hair one week after the treatment. Here I am 4 weeks into the treatment. This picture was taken with just a blowdry with a twin turbo megapower 4000 blowdryer, no flat ironing. I am using the Keratin Complex shampoo, conditioner, infusion and the rx serum with the croc infrared 1-1/2" flat iron, and the crack leave in hair cream which is just amazing. All great products. I had a whole review but for some odd reason it was flagged. If you guys find this review useful I'll post a photo in another month!
    Before Photo
    80 out of 81 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jan 21, 2011
    Link to this post
  • 4 Star Rating
    Pretty Good
    it worked pretty good
    9 out of 11 shoppers thought this review wasn't helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jan 21, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Dark Brown
    Dry Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Yes Its The Real Thing!
    My concern when ordering was, would it be the right product and not a fake. Well it was the correct product. I have been getting the Keritan treatment for the past 2 years but traveled 400 miles to get it done. I have a relative that is a beautician that applied the treatment. The results were great. My hair is very sensitive to chemicals but I have found this to work great with my African American Hair I haven't applied a relaxer in over 5 years problems was when i would straighten it, the results would last only a few hours . The results left my hair silky and smooth. when using this product, I still have to straighten my hair its just now it lasts for a week if I need it , compared to the few hours I would get before. I love it, truly love it.
    9 out of 9 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jan 18, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Dark Brown
    Dry Hair
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Chemically Treated Hair
    4 Star Rating
    Stink Fest
    Works awesome. My hair is semi curly. The kind that isn't really course or full but puffs out in the FL humidity and cant be worn curly without product all over and a diffuser and cant be air dried without a disaster. Until this stuff. It was easy to use and I am 95% happy with the result even though I used a chi which is said to only heat to 375 degrees instead of 450. I can now just shoot the bangs with a hair dryer and let the rest dry and end up with just non frizz wave.

    Only problem is that I smelled like an anatomy lab on dissection day or a morgue for 3 days. As an athlete it was worth the idea of air dry hair to go without sweating or ponytails for 72 hours but it was not easy. I couldn't wait to wash the greasy corpse head by afternoon of day 2. I will do another treatment when I need to but I am already dreading the waiting period.

    As for the dangers of formaldehyde... I'm a firm believer that just about everything on this planet gives you cancer including the sun. I opened all the windows I could and turned on fans and the funnies weren't too bad. Most of the fumes were during the ironing.

    Good luck
    6 out of 8 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jan 12, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Dark Brown
    Chemically Treated Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Amazing!
    I didn't take a photo pre-treatment, but I have damaged coarse hair. I did this treatment on home and followed the directions to the T and guess what? It worked wonders! If your hair isn't coming out how you want it to it could be the flat-iron that you're using doesn't go up to the temperature needed (400 for blonde / 450 for the regular keratin complex solution). I didn't think my hair would look this good..and I never write reviews, but this is a product that's amazing! I just took the photo today. This is after a quick blowdry and using the croc infared 1-1/2" which I did a quick pass through my hair. My hair would have looked the same without the flat-iron - I just wanted to curl the ends a bit. The only con is the chemicals used in this - the "aldehyde" in this product can be a bit much. When it tells you you need to preform this treatment in a well-ventilated area, they're not kidding. But other than that, the pros definitely outweight the cons. And for the thick long hair I have, I used 4.1 ounces of the solution. That's basically only 40 bucks per treatment since I got the liter size on sale and it lasts for 3 to 5 months. You can't beat that price for perfect hair people!!! :)
    Before Photo
    25 out of 25 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jan 3, 2011
    Link to this post

Write Your Own Review

Have you tried this product? Help out by sharing what worked (or didn't)!

Write a Review
You may also like
  • Rio De Keratin Advanced Keratin Smoothing System Best of Folica

    Rio De Keratin Advanced Keratin Smoothing System

    Rio de Keratin is an easy, at-home keratin smoothing system. With a unique formula, you can now have silky smooth hair….anytime, anywhere. No salon prices or appointments necessary! Infused with coconut oil, vitamin E, and natural keratin, Rio de Keratin will leave your hair frizz free, healthy and shiny!

    74 reviews Photo & Video Reviews
    Old Price: $75.00 New Price: $34.99
Server Name