Free Shipping Over $50
Oktober Fest Sale
Keratin Complex

Keratin Complex Color Care Natural Keratin Smoothing Treatment

Keratin Complex Color Care Natural Keratin Smoothing is specially formulated as a revitalizing and rejuvenating salon treatment for blonde and highlighted hair;...
$160.00 - $420.00
Free Shipping
 
Out of Stock
 

Reviews

Based on 36 Reviews

Photo & Video Reviews
Check the boxes to filter reviews.
Only show reviews for:
  • Keratin Complex Color Care Natural Keratin Smoothing Treatment (36)
Show All 36 Reviews
Sort By:
Date
|
Helpfulness
|
Rating
  • Hair
    Blonde
    Normal Hair
    Dry Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    Chemically Treated Hair
    1 Star Rating
    Keratin Treatment Doesn't Work.
    No visible results at all. Waste of money. Followed the instructions-the hair is the same after the application. The product didn't deliver. Below expectations.
    6 out of 9 shoppers thought this review wasn't helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jan 25, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Michigan
    Hair
    Blonde
    Dry Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Chemically Treated Hair
    2 Star Rating
    Terrible Reaction To Product & It Didn't Last
    I discussed this treatment with my stylist for almost a year prior to getting it done. My stylist got certified on this keratin treatment and I thought let her try it on others for a while first. So, I shelled out the $250 dollars for my relatively thin not very wavy hair but was looking for help with frizzy, dry hair during summer humid months. A very few hours after leaving the salon, and my hair looked amazing, I began to get a burning sensation on my scalp followed by severe redness and finally sores. I finally couldn't stand it and washed after two days. I held out due to the cost of the treatment.

    Some will say, well that's why it didn't last. I could understand that certainly but it didn't last past 3 weeks so I'd say by shaving 1 day off the washing restriction I should have gotten a little more life out of the treatment. I was very disappointed. Additionally, my stylist said she didn't believe in the use of the shampoo, conditioner or other treatments but am unsure if that has anything to do with my poor turn out. I am writing this not because there is anything wrong with Coppola products although this is the brand my stylist used. I just want others to realize this could happen to them.

    I have found the best combination for my hair (color treated, blonde, not too thin/not too thick) is Joico K-Pak shampoo & conditioner daily and a weekly mask of Nexxus hydrating treatment (has keratin).
    8 out of 9 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Dec 11, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Naperville,IL
    Hair
    Blonde
    Dry Hair
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    At Last, Barbie Hair!
    My hair is: mid-back, thick, heavily blonde highlighted,naturally curly, dry,frizzy,needs lots of products to look healthy.
    I bought this product because I wanted to get rid of blonde damaged look because it was starting to age me (I'm turning 49 in January)and reduce drying/styling time.

    After reading the reviews,I was worried that it would turn out badly because I was doing it myself for the first time. In my opinion, Folica suggests product is for professional use only not because of difficulty in application,but due to legal liability (btw, I'm a lawyer) since the product does produce very strong fumes and and must be done in a well-ventilated room. Even though I wore gloves and had a HEPA filter next to me(and only poured out a small amount of product at a time), after about 20 minutes, my eyes started to water/burn and I developed a headache. Thereafter, I opened the window for some fresh air. Next time, I will wear a face mask and goggles! Or, have a friend help you apply it so the exposure time is greatly reduced. Therefore, if you have breathing problems/chemical sensitivities, unfortunately you should forget this product as a DIY or professionally. Keep your children and pets out of room.

    Given that my hair was very damaged, long and thick, I needed to apply 2/3 of the small size bottle--no way would 2 or 3 oz cover my hair. Believe me, my hair was not close to being saturated--not 1 drop on my cape(I felt so professional with my $5 cape on:)). It took me 45 minutes to apply it to all of my hair with a dye brush. Left it on 30 minutes,dried it, and then ironed it with SEDU that I purchased on Folica.com. I probably ironed it for 45 minutes--it seemed like forever...My hair looked fine, actually when I was finished. I expected much worse.

    Today was my third day of having the product on. Although my hair was not optimal, it was not greasy looking at all or itchy or smelly or anything. Actually, my business partner thought my hair looked great!

    One tip--every morning when I awakened, some of my hair was a bit frizzy or creased. I got out my SEDU and did a quick all over iron on my hair. I also exercised 2 out of three days and put my hair in a ponytail with a scruncie. I took showers with a shower cap on.

    Tonight, I washed it with WEN and then the Coppola Conditioner--itfelt sooooo soft after I washed it. I dried it with my T3 blow dryer. I cannot believe how awesome my hair looks. My hair looks like Barbie's hair--long, silky and so soft--my highlights actually look amazing--I can't believe I finally have such gorgeous hair. I'm stunned. I really do look at least 10 years younger.


    13 out of 13 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Dec 1, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Blonde
    Color Treated Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Head Over Heels!
    After hearing rave reviews about the Keratin treatment, I went online and saw that Folica was selling the product. Too nervous to actually put it in myself, I eventually booked an appt. with a professional stylist. At this particular salon and for my length hair (it hits about the collar bone), I would have been charged $320, but luckily they were running a promotion and I was able to save $100! Taking heed that I wouldn't be able to wash my hair for three days I decided to schedule the appt. for a Thursday evening so that I could wash it before I went back to work Monday. The process took about 2 hours from start to finish and I was one of those persons who experienced burning in their eyes - my thought is though: it's the price you pay for beauty! As you've probably read, you need to purchase sulfate-free shampoo and conditioner. I went home that day with the Coppola brand, and while I love their treatment I found that the shampoo and conditioner made my hair very tangly. Consequently, I recently made the switch to Pureology. After three gruesome days where I felt like I was dripping in my own hair grease, it was time to wash it and see how it turned out. That's the moment I fell in love with my hair. It was straight (albeit not pin straight), silky smooth and best of all Frizz Free! It's the hair I always wanted but never had. My hair PK (pre-keratin) was frizzy and I would spend a dreadful hour on it everyday trying to make it look like it does now. I was told the treatment would last 3-5 months depending on how often you wash your hair. As a girl that washes everyday, I expected it would probably last three months for me...and it did! Recently, it was becoming somewhat frizzy again and while I probably could have waited a little longer, I decided to do it again. Not wanting to pay the hefty price tag though, this time I decided to purchase the treatment from Folica and enlist the help of one of my friends to put it in. We did it last night and so far so good! It seems a little more straight then it was the first time which I've heard happens the more you have it done. I will say: make sure that if you're doing it yourself you follow the instructions to a T. For people who are visual learners, there are even videos out there that will take you through a step-by-step demonstration! All in all I'm super happy with my new hair and would recommend this product for anyone who has frizz they want to tame! Now I'm off to hibernate for two and a half more days :-)
    11 out of 11 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Nov 5, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Blonde
    Color Treated Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Head Over Heels!
    After hearing rave reviews about the Keratin treatment, I went online and saw that Folica was selling the product. Too nervous to actually put it in myself, I eventually booked an appt. with a professional stylist. At this particular salon and for my length hair (it hits about the collar bone), I would have been charged $320, but luckily they were running a promotion and I was able to save $100! Taking head that I wouldn't be able to wash my hair for three days I decided to schedule the appt. for a Thursday evening so that I could wash it before I went back to work Monday. The process took about 2 hours from start to finish and I was one of those persons who experienced burning in their eyes - my thought is though: it's the price you pay for beauty! As you've probably read, you need to purchase sulfate-free shampoo and conditioner. I went home that day with the Coppola brand, and while I love their treatment I found that the shampoo and conditioner made my hair very tangly. Consequently, I recently made the switch to Pureology. After three gruesome days where I felt like I was dripping in my own hair grease, it was time to wash it and see how it turned out. That's the moment I fell in love with my hair. It was straight (albeit not pin straight), silky smooth and best of all Frizz Free! It's the hair I always wanted but never had. My hair PK (pre-keratin) was frizzy and I would spend a dreadful hour on it everyday trying to make it look like it does now. I was told the treatment would last 3-5 months depending on how often you wash your hair. As a girl that washes everyday, I expected it would probably last three months for me...and it did! Recently, it was becoming somewhat frizzy again and while I probably could have waited a little longer, I decided to do it again. Not wanting to pay the hefty price tag though, this time I decided to purchase the treatment from Folica and enlist the help of one of my friends to put it in. We did it last night and so far so good! It seems a little more straight then it was the first time which I've heard happens the more you have it done. I will say: make sure that if you're doing it yourself you follow the instructions to a T. For people who are visual learners, there are even videos out there that will take you through a step-by-step demonstration! All in all I'm super happy with my new hair and would recommend this product for anyone who has frizz they want to tame! Now I'm off to hibernate for two and a half more days :-)
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Nov 5, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Issaquah, WA
    Hair
    Light Brown
    Dry Hair
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    5 Star Rating
    I Did It Myself And Loved It!!!
    Loved the fact that I can use Keratin Complex at home. I have done two treatments myself and I one in a salon. Because the process is not difficult (you need a friend to ensure that the back of your head is evenly saturated with product), I tried it myself and now am loving my results. My salon charged me $275.00 for Coppola and I am paying roughly $90 doing it myself.
    I recommend that you make sure you have a good quality flat iron that heats to 400 degrees (Chi's don't work) and that you schedule a haircut after your process. My ends were a little damaged from the heat.
    Remember: it is a 3 day leave-in process. Plan accordingly- for me that meant no cardio workouts...
    7 out of 7 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Nov 2, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Sc
    Hair
    Light Brown
    Curly Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    4 Star Rating
    Great For Coarse & Curly!
    Follow all the directions and you will not be disappointed I promise!
    3 out of 3 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Oct 28, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Peoria, Az
    5 Star Rating
    In Love <3
    i have fine, brown and color treated hair. my hair is not incredibly curly, but enough for me to need to straighten it daily, and somewhat frizzy. my mom has her cosmo license so i have always experimented with color and hair products. when i stumbled upon keratin complex, i was instantly curious and purchased from folica. i ended up purchasing the treatment for blondes because i noticed that it activates at a lower temperature than the normal treatment, and with my hair being fine and porous, i figured it would work just fine. it took me several months to finally decide to try the treatment, since i knew that the 72 hours without shampooing would be miserable. however, i eventually found the time to do the treatment and lock myself inside for 72 hours, and i am SO glad that i did. i was a bit concerned that the treatment for blondies wouldn't work on me, and that even though it activates at a lower temp (400), my chi wouldn't cut it because it only gets up to 375. i went ahead with it anyway, and everything worked GREAT. i ended up washing my hair after 64 hours instead of 72 because i had an event that i couldn't possibly attend with dirty, oily hair. i blew my hair dry and...voila! PERFECT. i didn't even think of flat ironing -- it was unbelievable how smooth and shiny my hair looked. next time, i probably will purchase coppolas clarifying shampoo (this time i used malibu 2000 undo goo) and a flat iron that gets at least to 400* (looking at the solia), and knowing how well this treatment works, will have no problem waiting the full 72 hours no matter what! since completing the treatment, i have found a few professional beauty supplies that sell coppola's keratin treatment, shampoos, styling products etc at cost, and plan to purchase from there next. however, folica does have really great prices and i definitely trust the quality of their products. don't be afraid to try this treatment -- it is incredible and easy to pull off. not nearly as intimidating as it initially seemed :)
    8 out of 8 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Oct 8, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Baltimore, MD
    Hair
    Dark Brown
    Dry Hair
    Curly Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    3 Star Rating
    Too Expensive
    I had this done when it first came out and you couldn't buy the products, just go get the treatment. The treatment was $250.00 - it was not worth all the money that it cost to have this done. Maybe I expected something different for the price I paid. I am going to try to wash out products (just ordered the keratin set) to see how that works. I'd never pay that kind of money for another "treatment"
    3 out of 4 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Sep 20, 2010
    Link to this post
  • NC
    Hair
    Dry Hair
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Works Wonders!
    Had a long weekend available and bought the keratin treatment color care to try it out. I have unruly curly hair that looks messy when I let it air dry and when i straighten it just becomes a frizzy mess within 2 hours. So instead of wasting my time and money at the salon I ordered it and had my sister do the treatment on my hair and to my luck I absolutely love it so far. I was scared it would not turn out as good not getting it done by a professional but that was far from the case. If you can follow the instructions to the T, get the clarifying shampoo, go to Sally's and buy gloves, applicator brush, etc you can save so much money. I have a babyliss 1 inch flat iron that worked very well and made my hair completely straight i barely had to do any retouches throughout the waiting period. Today was the end of the 3 day waiting to wash period and after blowdrying I was amazed how it wasn't puffy, curly and could get ready within 15 minutes. I have blonde highlights so i am using the keratin complex color care shampoo, conditioner and infusion. I recommend this product to anyone that is frustrated with the upkeep of styling their hair!
    7 out of 7 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Sep 6, 2010
    Link to this post

Write Your Own Review

Have you tried this product? Help out by sharing what worked (or didn't)!

Write a Review
You may also like
  • Rio De Keratin Advanced Keratin Smoothing System Best of Folica

    Rio De Keratin Advanced Keratin Smoothing System

    Rio de Keratin is an easy, at-home keratin smoothing system. With a unique formula, you can now have silky smooth hair….anytime, anywhere. No salon prices or appointments necessary! Infused with coconut oil, vitamin E, and natural keratin, Rio de Keratin will leave your hair frizz free, healthy and shiny!

    75 reviews Photo & Video Reviews
    Old Price: $75.00 New Price: $39.99
Server Name