Buy any flat iron over $50,  Get 1 Free Nth degree Shampoo

ApHogee Treatment for Damaged Hair 4 oz.

ApHogee Treatment for Damaged Hair stops hair breakage and rebuilds hair structure for six weeks. Ideal for permed, tinted or relaxed hair.
$10.50
We're sorry, this product is no longer available.

ApHogee Treatment for Damaged Hair stops hair breakage and rebuilds hair structure for six weeks. Ideal for permed, tinted or relaxed hair.


  • SKU: P8149   /  
  • Guaranteed Authentic
  • ApHogee products are scientifically formulated using the highest quality ingredients
  • Restores seriously damaged hair to healthy condition
  • Formulated with magnesium and modified proteins which fuse into the hair with the application of heat
  • The result is that breakage is drastically reduced
  • Treatment is a salon service product unlike any product available for at-home use
  • ApHogee treatment hardens into the hair, dramatic evidence that something special is occurring

Directions

 Shake well before use!

  • Gently cleanse hair with ApHogee Shampoo. Rinse thoroughly & towel blot day.
  • Apply enough ApHogee Treatment to thoroughly saturate hair and comb blend for even distribution.
  • Leave hair uncovered. Do not use a plastic cap, and seat client under medium heat dryer. (Alternatively, a hand dryer may be used, but hair should not be agitated while drying.)
  • Note: When ApHogee Treatment is dried into the hair, the hair becomes extremely hard. Do not comb or brush hair while ApHOGEE Treatment is dried and in the hair.
  • Re-wet and gently rinse thoroughly with warm water.
  • Apply ApHogee Balancing Moisturizer (P8173) to hair & scalp. Leave for 2 minutes, then rinse thoroughly.
  • Proceed to next service or style as usual.

Bleaching & lifting tint: Wash hair, rinse and towel blot dry.Bleach or lift tint in usual way and rinse. Follow general directions for applying ApHOGEE Treatment.

Depositing tint: Wash hair, rinse and towel blot dry. Follow general directions for applying ApHOGEE Treatment. After ApHOGEE is rinsed out, towel dry and apply depositing tint in usual way. Place a plastic cap over hair and check every 2 1/2 minutes. A warm dryer may be used. When tint is complete,shampoo thoroughly from hair. Apply ApHOGEE Moisturizer to help restore natural moisture balance to hair. Rinse and proceed with next service or style as usual.

Permanent waves: Process perm as directed. When curl pattern is set and rinsing complete, towel blot hair on each rod. Apply ApHOGEE Treatment to each rod and dry under warm dryer. Do not use a plastic cap. Apply neutralizer and leave on hair for manufacturers suggested length of time. Removes rods without stretching hair and gently massage the neutralizer into hair and scalp.Rinse thoroughly. Apply ApHOGEE Moisturizer to restore shine and luster to hair.Rinse and style as usual.

Deionized Water, Hydrolyzed Animal Protein, Magnesium Sulfate, Citric Acid,Ethylene Urea, Dimethylol Urea, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, Magnesium Carbonate,DMDM Hydantoin, Fragrance.

NARROW BY HAIR TYPE
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
NARROW BY PRODUCT
  • ApHogee Treatment for Damaged Hair 4 oz. (240)
Sort By
  • Date
  •  / 
  • Helpfulness
  •  / 
  • Rating
  • Not As Amazing As People Have Said 3 Star Rating
    I had this sitting in my bathroom for a few months. I didn't use it out of fear since I had read it could cause damage if it wasn't needed. I finally decided to use it because I have some heat damage to my hair, as well as some split ends. I was hoping to stop all of the shedding I have whenever I wash my hair and to retain length. My hair is fairly long but it hasn't been retaining any new length and I still want it to grow out a couple more inches.

    Let me first say it doesn't smell anywhere near as bad as people have made it out to. It also does make the hair hard but I think you'd have to make a concerted effort to actually snap your hair off. I applied it, dried it with a hand dryer, washed it out, and applied the balancing conditioner as well as my own deep conditioner.

    From what I can tell my hair is extremely soft and silky. It might be slightly less frizzy but that could also be in my head. I can't see a major difference in my curls and the parts that were heat damaged didn't magically get fixed. As I washed out the treatment and the conditioner I noticed that I was still shedding. My hair has always shed a lot and from what I can tell this didn't do anything to stop it.

    Overall its ok. Only time will tell to see if it helps me retain length and my hair does feel good. I wouldn't say its a miracle product. But it probably didn't hurt either.

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Feb 18, 2016
    HAIR TYPE
    Black / Dry Hair / Curly Hair
  • Didn't Bring Back My Curls 3 Star Rating
    I have bra length thick, curly hair (3B, for reference). After going a little crazy with my flat iron I started to realize a few sections in the back were not curling back up, they were like a loose wave, almost straight. They were also very brittle and split ends were everywhere. I went ahead and cut 2 1/2 inches off but my curl pattern was still different in that section. Although my hair wasn't split or brittle anymore after cutting it, I had seen great results with this treatment and decided to give it a try.

    I put the protein treatment on my hair, it's very runny and got everywhere but the smell wasn't that bad. Used my blowdyer on low speed and the highest heat setting until my hair was completely dry and rock hard. Then I slowly poured warm water into my hair to rinse the protein out, and applied their balancing conditioner. Unfortunately, this treatment did not bring my curls back. In fact, I don't think it did anything to my hair except make it super soft and shiny (which are results I can get with a conditioner). Really wanted this product to work but I guess I'll just have to cut another few inches off, heat damage really sucks!

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Nov 2, 2014
    HAIR TYPE
    Black / Curly Hair / Thick or Coarse Hair
  • Keeps My Hair Healthy 5 Star Rating
    I read some of the other reviews and to help those who complained about the odor and their hair being really hard, that's supposed to happen. The directions indicate that your hair will become very hard and you should not agitate or try to comb it in that condition. The smell isn't a big deal, once you wash the treatment out, the smell goes with it. As for your scalp burning, it's because your scalp was previously damaged. If you scratch before you apply, it will burn. If your scalp is in tact, it doesn't burn.

    I started using Aphogee about 7 years ago and I treat my hair every three or four months. I am an off and on user. I had really bad split ends and my hair stopped growing at my shoulder blades. I cut about 4 inches off, started using Aphogee again and the difference in my hair was immediate. It's thick, healthy and retains moisture. I recommend the product to anyone with damaged hair.

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Jul 17, 2014
    HAIR TYPE
    Black / Thick or Coarse Hair / Chemically Treated Hair
  • Retain Length 5 Star Rating
    I use this product once every 2 months. I keeps my hair strong and helps me retain length. I do not use chemicals at all. My texture is 4a 4b. I have been using aphogee for 3 years now. It is a wonderful product that gives results!!

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Jun 2, 2014
    HAIR TYPE
    Medium Brown / Normal Hair / Fine or Thin Hair / Thick or Coarse Hair
  • Retain Length 5 Star Rating
    I use this product once every 2 months. I keeps my hair strong and helps me retain length. I do not use chemicals at all. My texture is 4a 4b. I have been using alphogee for 3 years now. It is a wonderful product gives results!!

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Jun 2, 2014
    HAIR TYPE
    Medium Brown / Normal Hair / Fine or Thin Hair / Thick or Coarse Hair
  • Back Again!!!! 5 Star Rating
    Ok. I am back again for another review. I reviewed this product back in 2010. And I still stuck by it 100%. In 2010 I was going back and forth between relaxed hair and transitioning to natural hair and then relaxing it again. In between that I would use this 2 step treatment. My hair responds very well to be using this product. It would only shed a few strands if any after just on use. I am currently natural and have been since 2011. And let me tell you that is no walk in the park. Being natural is an experimental process. You have to find the right balance between protein and moisture that will help you retain length, but refrain from being brittle and limp. I have had plenty of set backs just being natural because I was learning my hair all over again. In the process of my natural hair journey I rediscovered Aphoger again. I am thrilled to have found it and just in time. My hair was damaged due to the harsh winter that we had. I was wondering why all my friends who have been natural just as long as me were getting hair down to their backs and i as stuck barely getting to shoulder length hair. Well protective styling is they key for them. I subjected my hair to this windy weather we have here in illinois and no matter how much I moistirized my hair it was dry, brittle and weak. In January I got a sew in installed and kept that in for 5 weeks. My hair grew tremendously and when I took my install down i could see that i had length but my ends were in bad shape. I decided to trim and inch and a half off and once i did that my hair transformed. I then imcorporated this two step treatment again and my hair is thanking me. Now it will be able to retain moisture properly. I do currently take hairfinity hair vitamins as well and that is what prompted me to trim my ends because results do show better with healthy hair. I am happy that i can incorporate Aphogee into the mix again.

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Mar 29, 2014
    / United States
    HAIR TYPE
    Black / Dry Hair
  • After Relaxer Deep Conditioner 4 Star Rating
    I am a black female with chemically treated hair (relaxers no coloring) I perm my hair about 4-5 times a year. Just to give you an idea of my hair texture, It's very soft fine, almost "wiggish" I've been told. I can step out the shower and put mouse in my hair and it will curl up or just put gel in it and it will be slick in a pony tail, but as soon as a couple of months pass it starts to get stiff and coarse. I have experienced breakage and split ends my whole life, my hair never grows past my shoulders, it's beyond brittle and paper thin. I used protein conditioners (redken line) in the past, but it left my hair feeling so dry and brittle that I kind of stopped using them. This past summer I just let my hair go. I was severely depressed and literally stayed in the house all day. By the time I snapped out of it (3 months later) my hair was a matted mess. I literally brushed my hair only like once a week and washed it like once a month. It was time for a perm and I knew I was going to need a serious deep conditioner, so I picked up from the beauty supply store along with hask placenta and the olive oil bamboo deep conditioner (both smell amazing). After a long fight between the perm and my hair, the perm won. It was super slick, but I did have alot of hair loss because I hadn't combed it in so long. I opened up the aphogee protein conditioner step one and it smelled like a dead body was hiding in my shower. I prayed to GOD step two would mask the smell. I put it in my hair and it stung really bad, I guess from reacting with the perm you know the pores in your scalp are wide open at that point. I cursed alot from pain, but within 2 minutes it stopped burning. I got under the hair dryer and about 30 minutes later I had "Something About Mary Hair", beyond stiff, crunchy and just defying gravity. My shoulders, neck, and back were extra crusty from the protein. I was highly confused and equally disgusted, I got back in the shower immediately. While I was rinsing it out I noticed that my hair seemed alot stronger and had more substance to it, but it was still silky in a way. Once I put step two (which literally smells like rite aid perfume) it felt even more silky and stronger. I put my hask placenta and bamboo packets on top and I am going to sleep with them in. Those really helped with the smell. All in all not bad for $3.00 I need more time to decide if I would use the product again.

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Sep 7, 2013
    HAIR TYPE
    Dark Brown / Thick or Coarse Hair / Relaxed Hair
  • Californiatan 4 Star Rating
    After my hair lost it's natural glow when I dyed it blonde, I began looking for a hair oil to restore its healthy sheen. Not only does the Shielo Hair Oil have a wonderful smell, it made my hair silky soft and gave it a lustrous shine.

    I tried many different hair conditioning products, only to be left disappointed. Many of the other hair oils I tried either did nothing for my hair, or left my hair incredibly greasy. Shielo's Oil is the first conditioning treatment that has left my hair silky soft and shiny without weighing it down.

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Jul 14, 2013
  • Miracle For Fine Thin Hair 5 Star Rating
    I am caucasion with fine, thin,straight hair that is resistant to perms and damages very easily. Every time I tried to do something to make my hair look better - it became severely damaged and looked worse. Perms were the only answer to having fuller hair but unfortunately they would almost always either fry my hair or fall out. A brilliant hairdresser finally got a perm to take in my hair almost thirty years ago using aphogee right on the rods. It was a miracle. I moved away and have been asking for aphogee but nobody seemed to know what it was or how to use it. I looked for it everywhere but was misspelling it.(apagee, apogee,etc.) Stumbled across it on follica and thought I hit the lottery. Without aphogee a perm is not an option for me.The results are AMAZING11 It is about a five hour process...with the wrapping, perm set time, and almost two hours under the dryer until the aphogee completely dries, then the neutralizer, the rinsing, and the moistureizer, but for me its worth it. Anyone with fine straight hair should try this because it allows you to do things to your hair that you normally couldn't do. I go back for highlights 3 weeks after the perm just like a normal person and my hair looks great. use aphogee bout once a month and get the perms 3 or 4 times a year.

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Jun 3, 2013
    HAIR TYPE
    Blonde / Fine or Thin Hair / Chemically Treated Hair
  • Lifesaver! 5 Star Rating
    I never write reviews but after using the Aphogee Protein Treatment I absolutely had to.

    I was a little nervous about using the protein treatment at first because of some of the negative reviews, but my fears were instantly erased the moment I rinsed my hair out. My hair felt STRONG! I didn't have any breakage, no tangles, and it was SHINY.

    I put the balancing moisturizer in afterwards, left it in overnight, and then rinsed it the next morning. I didn't shampoo my hair until the day after that.

    Two days later I had blonde highlights put into my hair which would normally turn my hair into straw for a few days, but this didn't happen!

    The Aphogee Protein Treatment is EXACTLY what my hair has needed, and it will always be a staple in my cabinet.

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Mar 27, 2013
    / Ottawa, ON
    HAIR TYPE
    Medium Brown / Curly Hair / Color Treated Hair / Fine or Thin Hair
Server Name