Take up to 30% off

ApHogee Treatment for Damaged Hair 4 oz.

ApHogee Treatment for Damaged Hair stops hair breakage and rebuilds hair structure for six weeks. Ideal for permed, tinted or relaxed hair.
$10.50
We're sorry, this product is no longer available.

ApHogee Treatment for Damaged Hair stops hair breakage and rebuilds hair structure for six weeks. Ideal for permed, tinted or relaxed hair.


  • SKU: P8149   /  
  • Guaranteed Authentic
  • ApHogee products are scientifically formulated using the highest quality ingredients
  • Restores seriously damaged hair to healthy condition
  • Formulated with magnesium and modified proteins which fuse into the hair with the application of heat
  • The result is that breakage is drastically reduced
  • Treatment is a salon service product unlike any product available for at-home use
  • ApHogee treatment hardens into the hair, dramatic evidence that something special is occurring

Directions

 Shake well before use!

  • Gently cleanse hair with ApHogee Shampoo. Rinse thoroughly & towel blot day.
  • Apply enough ApHogee Treatment to thoroughly saturate hair and comb blend for even distribution.
  • Leave hair uncovered. Do not use a plastic cap, and seat client under medium heat dryer. (Alternatively, a hand dryer may be used, but hair should not be agitated while drying.)
  • Note: When ApHogee Treatment is dried into the hair, the hair becomes extremely hard. Do not comb or brush hair while ApHOGEE Treatment is dried and in the hair.
  • Re-wet and gently rinse thoroughly with warm water.
  • Apply ApHogee Balancing Moisturizer (P8173) to hair & scalp. Leave for 2 minutes, then rinse thoroughly.
  • Proceed to next service or style as usual.

Bleaching & lifting tint: Wash hair, rinse and towel blot dry.Bleach or lift tint in usual way and rinse. Follow general directions for applying ApHOGEE Treatment.

Depositing tint: Wash hair, rinse and towel blot dry. Follow general directions for applying ApHOGEE Treatment. After ApHOGEE is rinsed out, towel dry and apply depositing tint in usual way. Place a plastic cap over hair and check every 2 1/2 minutes. A warm dryer may be used. When tint is complete,shampoo thoroughly from hair. Apply ApHOGEE Moisturizer to help restore natural moisture balance to hair. Rinse and proceed with next service or style as usual.

Permanent waves: Process perm as directed. When curl pattern is set and rinsing complete, towel blot hair on each rod. Apply ApHOGEE Treatment to each rod and dry under warm dryer. Do not use a plastic cap. Apply neutralizer and leave on hair for manufacturers suggested length of time. Removes rods without stretching hair and gently massage the neutralizer into hair and scalp.Rinse thoroughly. Apply ApHOGEE Moisturizer to restore shine and luster to hair.Rinse and style as usual.

Deionized Water, Hydrolyzed Animal Protein, Magnesium Sulfate, Citric Acid,Ethylene Urea, Dimethylol Urea, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, Magnesium Carbonate,DMDM Hydantoin, Fragrance.

NARROW BY HAIR TYPE
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
  • /
NARROW BY PRODUCT
  • ApHogee Treatment for Damaged Hair 4 oz. (240)
Sort By
  • Date
  •  / 
  • Helpfulness
  •  / 
  • Rating
  • This Works...but Read This First. 5 Star Rating
    Aphogee 2-Step is a great product and can be kind of a 'miracle cure' for many self-inflicted hair problems caused by perms, relaxers, color, etc.

    I should also note that this is NOT just for African-American hair. In fact, I've recommended this to Caucasians with permed and color treated hair and they all had great results when they FOLLOWED the DIRECTIONS.

    PAY ATTENTION TO THIS PART:
    If you don't follow the directions your hair will snap off. I'll say it again; if you do not follow the directions your hair will snap like kindling.

    Why? Because Aphogee is straight protein (hence the smell). Heated protein has energy, which in simple terms enables it to unfold or uncurl its molecular structure, and that helps it bond with other proteins, like the ones already in your hair. This is why Aphogee gets hard when you heat it, but the heat is necessary for it to bond with your hair and fill in the damaged gaps.

    MORE IMPORTANT STUFF:
    1. Donâ??t manipulate your hair during or after it dries. It will be very hard and playing with it will break it.
    2. When you rinse it out you MUST take your time and get it ALL out. You donâ??t want any of this left in your hair because it will cause your hair to break, as I explained above. Donâ??t rinse in the shower. Do it in a sink or bathtub with strong water pressure.
    3. Apply a very thick moisturizing conditioner, like the Aphogee Balancing Moisturizer. Why? The moisturizer will soften your hair making it easier to detangle and style. Most of the people who claim the 2-step made their hair break off probably skipped this, or they used some other conditioner that didnâ??t have enough moisture properties. I know the conditioner is a bit thick and not everyone likes a very rich conditioner like this, but itâ??s important for this to work. Donâ??t worry, you donâ??t have to use it every time you wash your hair.
    4. If you plan to make Aphogee a part of your regular hair care regiment, DO NOT use the 2-Step more than once every 4-6 weeks. There is such a thing as too much protein. Also, do this a few days or more before color, perms, etc. Straight protein applied after color, will change the color.

    A few other minor things:
    1.Wrap cotton coil or tissue around your hairline before you apply it so it doesnâ??t run down your face/neck. It can irritate your skin especially if you use cleansers with salicylic or glycolic acid.
    2.You might feel a little tingling on your scalp, but it shouldnâ??t burn or be uncomfortable. But to be sure, donâ??t use strong clarifying shampoo or scrub your scalp too hard right before using the 2-step to avoid scalp irritation.

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Mar 18, 2012
    / Manhattan
    HAIR TYPE
    Dark Brown / Curly Hair / Color Treated Hair / Thick or Coarse Hair / Chemically Treated Hair
  • Great Product!!! 5 Star Rating
    I am on a healthy hair journey and have tried many different products. I am an african.american 4a/4b hair type. My hair must be treated with just the right amount of moisture and protein. I have been doing a lot of intense moisture, which is good,but too much makes my hair mushy and limp. Protein can also be a little tricky because too much will make your hair hard and fall out. This product is great!!. It gives my hair incredible strength. It is not breaking off as easily. I can braid, pull, tug on it and no breakage. Just use it as directed, every six weeks and your hair will be stronger and healthier.

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Feb 2, 2012
    / New York
    HAIR TYPE
    Dry Hair / Fine or Thin Hair
  • Skin Burns!! 1 Star Rating
    Used this for the first time and followed the directions completely. While my hair is softer and feels pretty good I can't be satisfied with this product because I have burns all over my face from where the treatment dripped down. Even after wiping with a damp rag the entire time, after the whole process was over I noticed open burn wounds all over my skin, face, neck and back. I will never use this again.

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Jan 1, 2012
    / Atlanta,Ga
    HAIR TYPE
    Dark Brown / Curly Hair / Thick or Coarse Hair
  • My Hair: From Unhealthy To Revitalized!!! 5 Star Rating
    Although the ApHogee system was pricey...to me it was well worth every penny. I'm 30 y/o Afr-Amer & as a child I had beautiful, healthy and very lengthy hair (which I wanted to get back asap). My hair fell out as an adult becoming dull, dry and lifeless and I decided to cut it so I could start my hair growth from the beginning. My hair was growing but it was still unhealthy and unmanageable. My cousin (who's a hairstylist) told me about ApHogee so I gave it a try. The results were great!!! My hair is slowly returning to its natural state :))))) I'm sooo happy I've started using ApHogee!! ****P.S. I don't care about the smell of ApHogee because the ingredients (the stinky smell) is whats going to give your hair its strength, manageability and softness. So for a hour or so take the smell of ApHogee & get your hair beautiful again :)))!!!

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Dec 12, 2011
    / PHILLY, PA
    HAIR TYPE
    Dark Brown / Dry Hair / Thick or Coarse Hair / Relaxed Hair
  • Never Again 1 Star Rating
    i tired this and all my beautiful hair fell out! i don't know what i did wrong. i went to sally's and the women told me that this was the best to use. i don't know maybe i did something wrong.

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Dec 5, 2011
    / Mass
    HAIR TYPE
    Auburn / Dry Hair
  • Bye Bye Over Damaged Hair! 5 Star Rating
    After coloring my hair and doing highlights on top of highlights, and then getting a perm and more highlights my hair was just totally damaged. Mushy when it was wet, breaking all the time, dry, etc. After reading the reviews on this site about Aphogee I decided that it was worth a try, and also give me an alternative to cutting off all my hair. i was skeptical about using the product just because of some of the statements on here so I decided to get a small packet of it from Sallys. I used it twice so far and I have seen and felt huge changes in my hair! It isn't mushy and more when it is wet, doesn't feel as dry as it was and it does feel little bit silkier. It doesn't smell as bad as the reviews say. I am a hair stylist and work around perms, it is nothing that bad. I am highly pleased with the Aphogee products, I just bought the shampoo conditioner, treatment, and the reconstructive leave in. I am planning on doing the treatment each week! ABSOLUTELY LOVE THIS PRODUCT! I will say I am looking forward to the end results and know I will recommend this product to anyone who's hair is/was as bad as mine!

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Nov 11, 2011
    / PA
    HAIR TYPE
    Auburn / Normal Hair / Dry Hair / Color Treated Hair / Chemically Treated Hair
  • It Works/but Be Careful 4 Star Rating
    I first have to say this is a very good product to use on damage hair, but be careful!
    I used this product last year because I watch a video on ytube about it. Problem: I used it once a week for about 2mos. when i did this all my hair fell out! I learned from a professional that i had to much protein in my hair. So I waited about 10mos and tried it again. This time I use it at least 10days before i but on a relaxer, and every 6weeks, and my hair looks beautiful! its very healthy and i have a lot less breakage. i took photos of my hair from jan of this year till sept and i notice that all my bald spots had filled in. YES bald spot! my head was messed up! But i agree THIS IS A WONDERFUL PRODUCT WHEN USED CORRECTLY!!!! I hope it helps...byw I have corse relaxed hair :)

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Sep 24, 2011
    / Dallas
    HAIR TYPE
    Black / Dry Hair / Thick or Coarse Hair / Relaxed Hair
  • Amazing Product!! 5 Star Rating
    Two months ago, a hairdresser had seriously messed up my hair. My hair has in a relaxer, but its generally really thick and strong and curly - it's usually so strong that I can get away with doing things like relaxing my hair one week and coloring it the next without any serious breakage or problems. I put my hair through a LOT actually. Anyways, she bleached and rinsed my hair and I hated it so two days later, I colored it over w permanent black. My hair was clearly damaged but I decided to wait it out.

    I came to NY, and I think combination of climate change AND the fact that everywhere has indoor a/c dried out my hair super fast (my skin also). Everytime I even ran my fingers through my hair, serious clumps of hair were coming out. Everytime I conditioned and detangled, huggge clumps (like two hands full worth) came out, regardless of if it was a few days apart or a week, which has never happened before. I was desperate and started researching and found this treatment. I was skeptical bc of the few bad reviews and bc I wasn't sure if protein was what my hair needed.

    I bought the product but still debated using it until FINALLY i could take it no longer, my hair either needed to be cut off completely or try something drastic. So I grabbed the product, sectioned my hair in four, detangled with a wide tooth comb, which also left out clumpppps of my hair, washed w Curls clarifying shampoo, then applied the product to each of my four sections, I kinda combed it through with my fingers but I never used a comb at any point. When I was done, I kinda shoved the hair back from my face and added more product, especially on my ends. I sat with a hand dryer (Chi Infratech) and just went back and forth over my hair with the dryer. After 20 mins my hair was dry but I let it stay for an extra 30 minutes.

    I was apprehensive about rinsing because I had read all over that agitating the hair too much can lead to breakage. So I just stood under warm water in my shower for about 3 minutes without touching my hair. Slowly and gently, I worked my fingers into my hair to expose it to more water. Honestly, I think I rinsed my hair for about fifteen minutes, just gently taking small sections and smoothing it out as the water an over it bc I didn't want to risk breaking. Halfway thru I realized that MY HAIR WAS NO LONGER COMING OUT IN CLUMPS - i was so amazed by this that I literally took every strand that came out and pressed it against my shower walls to count it. After applying the Balance moisturizer, washing it out, and applying Sheamoisture Deep conditioner, ONLY FOURTEEN strands of my hair came out. I'm simply overjoyed at the fact that my hair has clearly (in this moment) stopped breaking. 14 mite seem like a lot to some ppl, but considering that almos every time i brushed anything thru my hair, huge palmfuls of hair came out (dry or wet, conditioned or not), 14 was like nothing to me.

    I would definitely recommend this to anyone who's having intense breakage problems, just be sure to follow the directions, watch the youtube tutorials and be gentle!

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Aug 25, 2011
    / New York, NY
    HAIR TYPE
    Black / Curly Hair / Color Treated Hair / Relaxed Hair / Chemically Treated Hair
  • Follow Directions And You Will Have Healthy Hair 5 Star Rating
    A friend of mine who is currently going to school to be a stylist told me about this product. I have been dying my hair for years now and I have naturally wavy hair that I straighten every day. I also ride a motorcycle and if any of you ladies ride as well yall know that wind will break every strand of hair you have. I bought this product plus the shampoo and conditioner at Sallys and tried it, After the nice shampoo, the horrible smell, sticky protein treatment, and then the very salon feeling conditioner I immediately felt and saw a difference. I did the treatments every week for the first month and now once every six weeks. I highly recommend this to any hair that is damaged. I also noticed that my hair started growing extremly fast after doing the treatments, something even hair vitamins could not accomplish. I also recommend the argan shampoo, conditioner, and moisterizer! They smell, feel, and work like products you would find at a salon. You can get them at sally's for only aroung 10-12$ a piece.

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Aug 17, 2011
    HAIR TYPE
    Platinum Blonde / Curly Hair / Color Treated Hair
  • This Is A Two Step Treatment!! 5 Star Rating
    I am trying to grow my hair out, and I frequently blow dry and flat iron my hair. I have quite a bit of split ends. I tried this product and WOW! It made my hair soft, slightly heavy I would say probably because of the moisture but really a HUGE difference. Please note however This is step one of a two step treatment. After you use this you are supposed to follow with the ApHogee " Moisture" to "balance the PH and restore moisture". Which I didn't know untill I read the directions on the bottle. I decided to use it without it and follow with the " 2 Minute Keratin reconstruct" Which still made my hair REALLY SOFT and looked more healthy than before. I will note however that it did burn my skin a little and make it itchy while it was on my neck and back. I do have very sensitive skin and after I rinsed it all off I didn't notice it anymore. It does smell like a chemical similar to a perm. Hey if it works I will deal with the smell and it WORKS!! I will definatly do this again in 6 weeks which is what it recomends.

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Jul 27, 2011
    HAIR TYPE
    Medium Brown / Dry Hair / Thick or Coarse Hair
Server Name