Free Shipping Over $50
ApHogee

ApHogee Treatment for Damaged Hair 4 oz.

235 Reviews Photo & Video Reviews Post Yours!
ApHogee Treatment for Damaged Hair stops hair breakage and rebuilds hair structure for six weeks. Ideal for permed, tinted or relaxed hair.
$10.50
In Stock
Ships within 24 hours
 

Reviews

Based on 235 Reviews

Photo & Video Reviews
Check the boxes to filter reviews.
Only show reviews for:
  • ApHogee Treatment for Damaged Hair 4 oz. (235)
Show All 235 Reviews
Sort By:
Date
|
Helpfulness
|
Rating
  • PA
    Hair
    Auburn
    Normal Hair
    Dry Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Chemically Treated Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Bye Bye Over Damaged Hair!
    After coloring my hair and doing highlights on top of highlights, and then getting a perm and more highlights my hair was just totally damaged. Mushy when it was wet, breaking all the time, dry, etc. After reading the reviews on this site about Aphogee I decided that it was worth a try, and also give me an alternative to cutting off all my hair. i was skeptical about using the product just because of some of the statements on here so I decided to get a small packet of it from Sallys. I used it twice so far and I have seen and felt huge changes in my hair! It isn't mushy and more when it is wet, doesn't feel as dry as it was and it does feel little bit silkier. It doesn't smell as bad as the reviews say. I am a hair stylist and work around perms, it is nothing that bad. I am highly pleased with the Aphogee products, I just bought the shampoo conditioner, treatment, and the reconstructive leave in. I am planning on doing the treatment each week! ABSOLUTELY LOVE THIS PRODUCT! I will say I am looking forward to the end results and know I will recommend this product to anyone who's hair is/was as bad as mine!
    16 out of 16 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Nov 11, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Dallas
    Hair
    Black
    Dry Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    Relaxed Hair
    4 Star Rating
    It Works/but Be Careful
    I first have to say this is a very good product to use on damage hair, but be careful!
    I used this product last year because I watch a video on ytube about it. Problem: I used it once a week for about 2mos. when i did this all my hair fell out! I learned from a professional that i had to much protein in my hair. So I waited about 10mos and tried it again. This time I use it at least 10days before i but on a relaxer, and every 6weeks, and my hair looks beautiful! its very healthy and i have a lot less breakage. i took photos of my hair from jan of this year till sept and i notice that all my bald spots had filled in. YES bald spot! my head was messed up! But i agree THIS IS A WONDERFUL PRODUCT WHEN USED CORRECTLY!!!! I hope it helps...byw I have corse relaxed hair :)
    43 out of 43 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Sep 24, 2011
    Link to this post
  • New York, NY
    Hair
    Black
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Relaxed Hair
    Chemically Treated Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Amazing Product!!
    Two months ago, a hairdresser had seriously messed up my hair. My hair has in a relaxer, but its generally really thick and strong and curly - it's usually so strong that I can get away with doing things like relaxing my hair one week and coloring it the next without any serious breakage or problems. I put my hair through a LOT actually. Anyways, she bleached and rinsed my hair and I hated it so two days later, I colored it over w permanent black. My hair was clearly damaged but I decided to wait it out.

    I came to NY, and I think combination of climate change AND the fact that everywhere has indoor a/c dried out my hair super fast (my skin also). Everytime I even ran my fingers through my hair, serious clumps of hair were coming out. Everytime I conditioned and detangled, huggge clumps (like two hands full worth) came out, regardless of if it was a few days apart or a week, which has never happened before. I was desperate and started researching and found this treatment. I was skeptical bc of the few bad reviews and bc I wasn't sure if protein was what my hair needed.

    I bought the product but still debated using it until FINALLY i could take it no longer, my hair either needed to be cut off completely or try something drastic. So I grabbed the product, sectioned my hair in four, detangled with a wide tooth comb, which also left out clumpppps of my hair, washed w Curls clarifying shampoo, then applied the product to each of my four sections, I kinda combed it through with my fingers but I never used a comb at any point. When I was done, I kinda shoved the hair back from my face and added more product, especially on my ends. I sat with a hand dryer (Chi Infratech) and just went back and forth over my hair with the dryer. After 20 mins my hair was dry but I let it stay for an extra 30 minutes.

    I was apprehensive about rinsing because I had read all over that agitating the hair too much can lead to breakage. So I just stood under warm water in my shower for about 3 minutes without touching my hair. Slowly and gently, I worked my fingers into my hair to expose it to more water. Honestly, I think I rinsed my hair for about fifteen minutes, just gently taking small sections and smoothing it out as the water an over it bc I didn't want to risk breaking. Halfway thru I realized that MY HAIR WAS NO LONGER COMING OUT IN CLUMPS - i was so amazed by this that I literally took every strand that came out and pressed it against my shower walls to count it. After applying the Balance moisturizer, washing it out, and applying Sheamoisture Deep conditioner, ONLY FOURTEEN strands of my hair came out. I'm simply overjoyed at the fact that my hair has clearly (in this moment) stopped breaking. 14 mite seem like a lot to some ppl, but considering that almos every time i brushed anything thru my hair, huge palmfuls of hair came out (dry or wet, conditioned or not), 14 was like nothing to me.

    I would definitely recommend this to anyone who's having intense breakage problems, just be sure to follow the directions, watch the youtube tutorials and be gentle!
    39 out of 40 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Aug 25, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Platinum Blonde
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Follow Directions And You Will Have Healthy Hair
    A friend of mine who is currently going to school to be a stylist told me about this product. I have been dying my hair for years now and I have naturally wavy hair that I straighten every day. I also ride a motorcycle and if any of you ladies ride as well yall know that wind will break every strand of hair you have. I bought this product plus the shampoo and conditioner at Sallys and tried it, After the nice shampoo, the horrible smell, sticky protein treatment, and then the very salon feeling conditioner I immediately felt and saw a difference. I did the treatments every week for the first month and now once every six weeks. I highly recommend this to any hair that is damaged. I also noticed that my hair started growing extremly fast after doing the treatments, something even hair vitamins could not accomplish. I also recommend the argan shampoo, conditioner, and moisterizer! They smell, feel, and work like products you would find at a salon. You can get them at sally's for only aroung 10-12$ a piece.
    15 out of 17 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Aug 17, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Medium Brown
    Dry Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    This Is A Two Step Treatment!!
    I am trying to grow my hair out, and I frequently blow dry and flat iron my hair. I have quite a bit of split ends. I tried this product and WOW! It made my hair soft, slightly heavy I would say probably because of the moisture but really a HUGE difference. Please note however This is step one of a two step treatment. After you use this you are supposed to follow with the ApHogee " Moisture" to "balance the PH and restore moisture". Which I didn't know untill I read the directions on the bottle. I decided to use it without it and follow with the " 2 Minute Keratin reconstruct" Which still made my hair REALLY SOFT and looked more healthy than before. I will note however that it did burn my skin a little and make it itchy while it was on my neck and back. I do have very sensitive skin and after I rinsed it all off I didn't notice it anymore. It does smell like a chemical similar to a perm. Hey if it works I will deal with the smell and it WORKS!! I will definatly do this again in 6 weeks which is what it recomends.
    6 out of 8 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jul 27, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Medium Brown
    Color Treated Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    Relaxed Hair
    4 Star Rating
    Pretty Good
    i had never used a protein product before this. I'm away from home and needed something to help my hair while I was away from my hair dresser (can't rely on just anyone to give you a touch up). after having braids for a month and about 4 months of new growth i have to say that this product really helped reduce the amount of shedding. it's no miracle worker but it does a decent job
    5 out of 7 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jul 25, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Dry Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    Relaxed Hair
    Chemically Treated Hair
    5 Star Rating
    A Must Try!
    I use both the two-step protein treatment and the keratin reconstructors are both have become my new best friends. I typically use the protein treatment after my relaxer and the reconstructor with my weekly washes and both have helped renew my hair to a beautiful length and I am no longer intimidated by shedding. The protein treatment does smell and leaves my hair quite dry (minus the shedding) and the moisturizer isn't the best are renewing moisture. I would suggest bringing your own tested and proven moisturizer. I use toque magico emercengia and it works wonders as a pair. I would strongly suggest adding this to your regimen. All these years of shedding and this cured my problems in one treatment!
    11 out of 14 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jul 24, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Helps With Hair Growth
    I've been wearing my hair natural for years and in summer 2010 I decided to get braided extensions. My hair pretty much thinned out with the braids and my hair came out with every extension I removed. I did some research and gave this a try & it has worked tremendously for me. One year later, my hair is sooo thick (thicker than before the braids) and grown tremendously. Try it for yourself and give yourself some time to see if it works. If won't do any harm if it doesn't. But if you get the results I did, you will be pleasantly surprised & pleased. Hope this helps.
    16 out of 18 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jul 5, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Platinum Blonde
    Dry Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    Chemically Treated Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Aphogee Was Wonderful!
    I used the protein treatment and the moisturizer they sell it together in the package for like $4 one time use. Super inexpensive and I just used it and I am amazed. I don't agree with the other reviews you can tell immediately my hair has been bleached for probably like 8 years it's been so processed and fried it always breaks off when I comb it or blow dry it I refrain from using other heating tools on it, but I have to recommend this. You can tell immediately and I hope that over time my hair can grow back using this. It is worth the shot I must say! I hope someone out there with a problem like mine will read it and try it! My hair is so soft and you can tell it is being repaired. Thank goodness!~
    20 out of 23 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jun 28, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Colorado Springs
    Hair
    Auburn
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    Chemically Treated Hair
    2 Star Rating
    Complete Review
    I started loosing my hair several months ago, and my dermatologist put me on clobex and clobatasol and men's Rogaine and all kinds of other stuff. My scalp was very inflamed and red and itchy. After getting the scalp under control my hair started growing back. When I started loosing my hair I stopped everything, including conditioner. Someone told me it makes the hair to soft and will cause it to fall out. Needless to say my hair become the most unhealthy mess nightmare anyone has ever seen. I alternate with deep conditioning and hot oil every other Friday now and my dermatologist recommended using a protein treatment. She says not to use it to much because it can be damaging. I went to Sally's and found the 2 part packet. I recently stripped all the color from my hair (to get the dark pigment out) I had to do this process 4 times, despite that, my hair was in pretty darn good shape still. My dermatologist didn't even notice it had been processed 4 times! Either way, I have been doing what she tells me to do. So I got this packet. The smell is the most awful thing. It made me vomit. I combed it through like it says and put the dryer on it for a bit. It became hard like the directions said, and it felt like an old dry straw broom. I rinsed it out, and shampooed with a gentle shampoo. It than felt like Garnier Fructis or Pantene Pro V. My hair felt like Velcro and like a think straw broom, but worse (I cannot use those shampoo brands, my hair gets stringy and straw like and tangles easily) So I put the part 2 conditioner packet on, it said leave 2 mins, I did about 5. (Dermatologist says leave conditioner on longer) My hair is very soft, shiny, manageable, but no more than it was before I did the process. The process removed my demi-perminent color which I had barely applied on this past Saturday. So now my hair is layered in color. So I have to go fill it back in. I have used other protein treatments that were like conditioners. They worked better than this stuff. The conditioner smelt wonderful. It smelt like a men's body wash. Bottom line, this product is not any better than any others I have used. I use professional shampoos and conditioners and products from State. (friends who are cosmetologists with licenses) I'm glad I only paid a couple bucks for the trial packet instead of the bottles for both part one and two. I'll stick to what I use normally which is still a ApHogee protein treatment, but not as intense. Right now my hair is frizzy and a mess. !#!# I don't recommend.
    29 out of 40 shoppers thought this review wasn't helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jun 16, 2011
    Link to this post

Write Your Own Review

Have you tried this product? Help out by sharing what worked (or didn't)!

Write a Review
You may also like
Server Name