ApHogee

ApHogee Treatment for Damaged Hair 4 oz.

238 Reviews Photo & Video Reviews Post Yours!
ApHogee Treatment for Damaged Hair stops hair breakage and rebuilds hair structure for six weeks. Ideal for permed, tinted or relaxed hair.
$10.50
In Stock
Ships within 24 hours
 

Reviews

Based on 238 Reviews

Photo & Video Reviews
Check the boxes to filter reviews.
Only show reviews for:
  • ApHogee Treatment for Damaged Hair 4 oz. (238)
Show All 238 Reviews
Sort By:
Date
|
Helpfulness
|
Rating
  • Hair
    Black
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    Chemically Treated Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Keeps My Hair Healthy
    I read some of the other reviews and to help those who complained about the odor and their hair being really hard, that's supposed to happen. The directions indicate that your hair will become very hard and you should not agitate or try to comb it in that condition. The smell isn't a big deal, once you wash the treatment out, the smell goes with it. As for your scalp burning, it's because your scalp was previously damaged. If you scratch before you apply, it will burn. If your scalp is in tact, it doesn't burn.

    I started using Aphogee about 7 years ago and I treat my hair every three or four months. I am an off and on user. I had really bad split ends and my hair stopped growing at my shoulder blades. I cut about 4 inches off, started using Aphogee again and the difference in my hair was immediate. It's thick, healthy and retains moisture. I recommend the product to anyone with damaged hair.
    2 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jul 17, 2014
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Medium Brown
    Normal Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Retain Length
    I use this product once every 2 months. I keeps my hair strong and helps me retain length. I do not use chemicals at all. My texture is 4a 4b. I have been using aphogee for 3 years now. It is a wonderful product that gives results!!

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jun 2, 2014
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Medium Brown
    Normal Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Retain Length
    I use this product once every 2 months. I keeps my hair strong and helps me retain length. I do not use chemicals at all. My texture is 4a 4b. I have been using alphogee for 3 years now. It is a wonderful product gives results!!
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jun 2, 2014
    Link to this post
  • United States
    Hair
    Black
    Dry Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Back Again!!!!
    Ok. I am back again for another review. I reviewed this product back in 2010. And I still stuck by it 100%. In 2010 I was going back and forth between relaxed hair and transitioning to natural hair and then relaxing it again. In between that I would use this 2 step treatment. My hair responds very well to be using this product. It would only shed a few strands if any after just on use. I am currently natural and have been since 2011. And let me tell you that is no walk in the park. Being natural is an experimental process. You have to find the right balance between protein and moisture that will help you retain length, but refrain from being brittle and limp. I have had plenty of set backs just being natural because I was learning my hair all over again. In the process of my natural hair journey I rediscovered Aphoger again. I am thrilled to have found it and just in time. My hair was damaged due to the harsh winter that we had. I was wondering why all my friends who have been natural just as long as me were getting hair down to their backs and i as stuck barely getting to shoulder length hair. Well protective styling is they key for them. I subjected my hair to this windy weather we have here in illinois and no matter how much I moistirized my hair it was dry, brittle and weak. In January I got a sew in installed and kept that in for 5 weeks. My hair grew tremendously and when I took my install down i could see that i had length but my ends were in bad shape. I decided to trim and inch and a half off and once i did that my hair transformed. I then imcorporated this two step treatment again and my hair is thanking me. Now it will be able to retain moisture properly. I do currently take hairfinity hair vitamins as well and that is what prompted me to trim my ends because results do show better with healthy hair. I am happy that i can incorporate Aphogee into the mix again.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Mar 29, 2014
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Dark Brown
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    Relaxed Hair
    4 Star Rating
    After Relaxer Deep Conditioner
    I am a black female with chemically treated hair (relaxers no coloring) I perm my hair about 4-5 times a year. Just to give you an idea of my hair texture, It's very soft fine, almost "wiggish" I've been told. I can step out the shower and put mouse in my hair and it will curl up or just put gel in it and it will be slick in a pony tail, but as soon as a couple of months pass it starts to get stiff and coarse. I have experienced breakage and split ends my whole life, my hair never grows past my shoulders, it's beyond brittle and paper thin. I used protein conditioners (redken line) in the past, but it left my hair feeling so dry and brittle that I kind of stopped using them. This past summer I just let my hair go. I was severely depressed and literally stayed in the house all day. By the time I snapped out of it (3 months later) my hair was a matted mess. I literally brushed my hair only like once a week and washed it like once a month. It was time for a perm and I knew I was going to need a serious deep conditioner, so I picked up from the beauty supply store along with hask placenta and the olive oil bamboo deep conditioner (both smell amazing). After a long fight between the perm and my hair, the perm won. It was super slick, but I did have alot of hair loss because I hadn't combed it in so long. I opened up the aphogee protein conditioner step one and it smelled like a dead body was hiding in my shower. I prayed to GOD step two would mask the smell. I put it in my hair and it stung really bad, I guess from reacting with the perm you know the pores in your scalp are wide open at that point. I cursed alot from pain, but within 2 minutes it stopped burning. I got under the hair dryer and about 30 minutes later I had "Something About Mary Hair", beyond stiff, crunchy and just defying gravity. My shoulders, neck, and back were extra crusty from the protein. I was highly confused and equally disgusted, I got back in the shower immediately. While I was rinsing it out I noticed that my hair seemed alot stronger and had more substance to it, but it was still silky in a way. Once I put step two (which literally smells like rite aid perfume) it felt even more silky and stronger. I put my hask placenta and bamboo packets on top and I am going to sleep with them in. Those really helped with the smell. All in all not bad for $3.00 I need more time to decide if I would use the product again.
    7 out of 10 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Sep 7, 2013
    Link to this post
  • 4 Star Rating
    Californiatan
    After my hair lost it's natural glow when I dyed it blonde, I began looking for a hair oil to restore its healthy sheen. Not only does the Shielo Hair Oil have a wonderful smell, it made my hair silky soft and gave it a lustrous shine.

    I tried many different hair conditioning products, only to be left disappointed. Many of the other hair oils I tried either did nothing for my hair, or left my hair incredibly greasy. Shielo's Oil is the first conditioning treatment that has left my hair silky soft and shiny without weighing it down.
    18 out of 21 shoppers thought this review wasn't helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jul 14, 2013
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Blonde
    Fine or Thin Hair
    Chemically Treated Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Miracle For Fine Thin Hair
    I am caucasion with fine, thin,straight hair that is resistant to perms and damages very easily. Every time I tried to do something to make my hair look better - it became severely damaged and looked worse. Perms were the only answer to having fuller hair but unfortunately they would almost always either fry my hair or fall out. A brilliant hairdresser finally got a perm to take in my hair almost thirty years ago using aphogee right on the rods. It was a miracle. I moved away and have been asking for aphogee but nobody seemed to know what it was or how to use it. I looked for it everywhere but was misspelling it.(apagee, apogee,etc.) Stumbled across it on follica and thought I hit the lottery. Without aphogee a perm is not an option for me.The results are AMAZING11 It is about a five hour process...with the wrapping, perm set time, and almost two hours under the dryer until the aphogee completely dries, then the neutralizer, the rinsing, and the moistureizer, but for me its worth it. Anyone with fine straight hair should try this because it allows you to do things to your hair that you normally couldn't do. I go back for highlights 3 weeks after the perm just like a normal person and my hair looks great. use aphogee bout once a month and get the perms 3 or 4 times a year.
    9 out of 9 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jun 3, 2013
    Link to this post
  • Ottawa, ON
    Hair
    Medium Brown
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Lifesaver!
    I never write reviews but after using the Aphogee Protein Treatment I absolutely had to.

    I was a little nervous about using the protein treatment at first because of some of the negative reviews, but my fears were instantly erased the moment I rinsed my hair out. My hair felt STRONG! I didn't have any breakage, no tangles, and it was SHINY.

    I put the balancing moisturizer in afterwards, left it in overnight, and then rinsed it the next morning. I didn't shampoo my hair until the day after that.

    Two days later I had blonde highlights put into my hair which would normally turn my hair into straw for a few days, but this didn't happen!

    The Aphogee Protein Treatment is EXACTLY what my hair has needed, and it will always be a staple in my cabinet.
    11 out of 11 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Mar 27, 2013
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Dark Brown
    Dry Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Chemically Treated Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Great Products
    i think this product should be rated a 10
    i fried my hair with too many dyes job and i just found out i have a medical condition that weakens my hair.i bought aphoogee and applied it 3 times....et voila' my hair are back beautiful and silky like when i was a teenager(im 47),i truly can't stand the smell but hey its worthed the results!!!!!terrific!!!
    ps: i've been using the most expensive stuff available on the market,your products are better than my 60 dollars hair mask.....no comparison!!!thank youuuu
    19 out of 19 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Dec 29, 2012
    Link to this post
  • Canada
    Hair
    Medium Brown
    Dry Hair
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Relaxed Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Wonderful Product!
    Like many other reviewers on here, my hair was so damaged that if I ran my fingers through my hair, many strands and broken pieces would follow. I could not even iron my ends flat if I wanted to because they were so damaged. I relaxed my hair a few months ago however deep conditioning treatments, constant trimmings and the limited use of my flat iron (to my roots only) did not help. I discovered this product after doing a search online on how to stop my hair from breaking and after reading many reviews on folica I decided to give it a try. Before I used this product I trimmed off an inch of hair even though my hair was so damaged I could easily have taken off 4 inches. I used this product exactly as directed and when it came time to blow dry my hair I used a diffuser attachment. I used the aphogee balancing moisturizer after the treatment but because I used so much my hair felt a bit greasy afterward. I washed it again two days later and am extremely pleased with the results. I can't believe how different my hair looks and feels! My hair is not breaking in my hand or on my brushes anymore and even the amount of hairs that are falling out is drastically reduced. My ends feel strong and soft. If your hair is damaged like mine was then I recommend that you buy this product and if you are worried about the results then do a test patch.
    19 out of 19 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Nov 12, 2012
    Link to this post

Write Your Own Review

Have you tried this product? Help out by sharing what worked (or didn't)!

Write a Review
Server Name