Free Shipping Over $50
20% off 4 Stars
Smooth N Shine

Smooth 'N Shine Polishing Curl Activator Gel for Extra Dry Hair

13 Reviews Photo & Video Reviews Post Yours!
Create any curl style with Smooth 'N Shine Polishing Curl Activator Gel for Extra Dry Hair.
$4.99
$2.99
Save 40%
In Stock
Ships within 24 hours
 

Reviews

Based on 13 Reviews

Photo & Video Reviews
Check the boxes to filter reviews.
Only show reviews for:
  • Smooth 'N Shine Polishing Curl Activator Gel for Extra Dry Hair (13)
Show All 13 Reviews
Sort By:
Date
|
Helpfulness
|
Rating
  • NOLA
    Hair
    Black
    Dry Hair
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    5 Star Rating
    This Curly Girl Loves It!
    I used this while transitioning from relaxed back to natural. I bc'd and I still love this! Keeps my hair nice and moisturized and not too greasy (unless I'm REALLY heavy handed) It really defines my 3a/3b curls. I didn't use this when the old formula was out but I love this stuff! I also use Carefree Curl Activator from time to time. I find that one is greasier while this one leaves my hair moisturized and just right...for this price too? I will continue to use this product.
    4 out of 4 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Aug 25, 2012
    Link to this post
  • Orlando
    Hair
    Medium Brown
    Curly Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Definitely Defines My Curls...
    I was on the look out for a curl activator that smells great, isn't sticky, tames frizz, and defines curls, and after reading raving reviews of this product I purchased it at my local drugstore for just $2.37. I washed my hair with a non-harsh shampoo, 'Just for Me' (which is really for children's hair), and deep conditioned it with 'Smooth n Shine Critical Repair'. After towel drying my hair I sectioned it off into five sections and distributed 'Smooth N Shine Curl Activator' throughout my hair from roots to ends and then combed it out to ensure it was evenly distributed. I have very curly hair, but it tends to be frizzy, however after using this product my curls are extremely defined and the frizz is gone. I highly recommend using this activator if you have curly or wavy hair because it's especially designed for giving definition to each hair cuticle. Also, this activator isn't greasy or sticky like the curl activators we used to use back in the day of jerry curls. It smells good enough to eat. I hope this review is helpful to anyone who's in dire need of the perfect curl activator.
    Before Photo
    20 out of 20 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Aug 14, 2011
    Link to this post
  • DC
    Hair
    Auburn
    Dry Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    The Best!!!
    I don't know about the old formula but I don't believe it gets any better than this. I just transitioned into the natural and wanted a little curl to my now short big chop. I was using regular protein gel which left my hair dry, itchy and HARD!!! After using "Smooth'n Shine" OMG!!! I feel in love with my hair. It really brought to life my natural curl pattern with enough moisture throughout the entire day. I am a customer for life!!!
    9 out of 9 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jun 25, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Chicago
    Hair
    Black
    Dry Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    4 Star Rating
    Still Love It, But Where Is It?
    I have tried product after product to give me easy styling for my natural hair... this gel wins by a mile! Thing is, I can no longer find it nearby so I have to go online. I have used both the original and what I suppose people are saying is a newer formula. I didn't detect any change beyond the labelling... still puts a pretty curly effect in my hair without drying it out, no flakes and is shiny...
    7 out of 8 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted May 8, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Black
    Fine or Thin Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Awesome
    I have fine hair and went natural (African-American) recently. There are some gels that will not bring out the curl my hair but I can count on this one to do the job.This gel is the best, it curls my hair and re-activates well with water. I love it and have stocked up, it's easy to find where I live and the price is very reasonable. Please don't stop making this product, it's a keeper for me.
    10 out of 10 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Feb 3, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Lawrenceville, GA
    Hair
    Dark Brown
    Dry Hair
    Curly Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    One Of The Best Gels On The Market For Ethnic Or African American Hair
    I was looking for a gel to control my 4A (multi-type) hair, when I came across this gel...I needed a gel that did not have alcohol or any type of ingredient that dries out my hair type plus one that would give curl and wave definition. The Smooth N' Shine Curl Activator Gel for extra dry hair really works for me...I have been using it for the past 5 months and I JUST LOVE IT!!!!!! PLEASE DO NOT STOP SELLING THIS PRODUCT - I CANNOT LIVE WITHOUT IT...IT IS AWESOME!
    9 out of 9 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Sep 12, 2010
    Link to this post
  • 5 Star Rating
    I Just Love It!!!!
    I am an african american woman who has enjoyed wearing my hair natural for 3 years now... and I must say that out of all the products that I have tried... I love this product the "MOST" ... to define my curl without leaving it frizzy. I used it religiously to do wash n goes with... however no shingling was really required... I just made sure to put some product on my ends and I was "good".... All I can say about this product is "WOW".... I need to invest in some Smooth N Shine Stock.... ;)
    8 out of 8 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted May 29, 2010
    Link to this post
  • 1 Star Rating
    I Am Only Familiar With The Old Product
    I just left a raving review of this product but I still have the old product... I have heard that for some reason they were changing or discontinuing the old formulation... PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE Bring the old one back... I am hearing such bad reviews on the new one and my stash is about to run out.... YIKEs!!!
    2 out of 3 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted May 29, 2010
    Link to this post
  • 1 Star Rating
    We Need The Old Formula Back!
    First of all ladies, read the ingredients label before you buy this product! The old formula contained water, glycerin, and aloe barbadensis leaf extract was the first three ingredients. I am an african american with 4a and 4b type natural hair and this combination is extra moisturizing particularly in the summer. However, the formula has changed along with the new design of the jar. The old formula had a blue stripe that contained the words "for extra dry hair" and did not have an aloe vera plant pictured on the front of the jar. The new product does not have the same order of ingredients. In my experience, along with a number of other ladies, when first applied feels very soft, but a few seconds later the hair felt very, very dried. The old formula is much better and should be brought back.
    16 out of 18 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Mar 5, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Missouri City, Texas
    4 Star Rating
    Awesome For Natural Hair
    I'm satisfied with this product really define and gave shine to curls. Never tried original formula but I believe it works pretty well still.
    6 out of 6 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jan 12, 2010
    Link to this post

Write Your Own Review

Have you tried this product? Help out by sharing what worked (or didn't)!

Write a Review
You may also like
Server Name