StealOfTheDayClipless30
Knotty Boy

Knotty Boy Dread Wax

At last, an all-natural dreadlock product that makes having dreadlocks fast, easy and clean! What could this miracle product be? It's none other than The Origin...
$16.49
Out of Stock
 

Reviews

Based on 12 Reviews

Photo & Video Reviews
Check the boxes to filter reviews.
Only show reviews for:
  • Knotty Boy Dread Wax (12)
Show All 12 Reviews
Sort By:
Date
|
Helpfulness
|
Rating
  • Ventura
    Hair
    Black
    Curly Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Just What I Was Looking For
    I've had twists for years, and have used beauty supply store products to maintain them. They were ok, but Knotty Boy wax has so much hold and has no petroleum in it and it lasts forever. One jar lasts me a few months.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Mar 10, 2013
    Link to this post
  • Boca Raton
    Hair
    Black
    Curly Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Super Strong Hold, Moisturizing. Love It.
    My hair is really curly and gets very brittle at times. I tried this wax because I was told by a friend that it would help moisturize my locs while keeping them tidy. It totally works. Love it :)

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Sep 18, 2012
    Link to this post
  • Mississippi
    5 Star Rating
    Great For Afro Hair
    I'm black and have really curly hair. I've tried many different twist gels in the past - but none have the holding power of Knotty Boy. It is more expensive than the others, and you can't find it in a beauty supply store, but I think it is worth it - and it last forever.
    2 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Aug 29, 2012
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Black
    Curly Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Best Product I Have Used.
    Im an Afro American. I have thick nappy hair but I was never able to keep my hair neatly twisted because I sweat a lot during my runs and workouts. I have used mostly every product. Mango and lime Gel and there waxes. Carols Daughter's Loc Butter. Tigh N Hold gel and other common gels. When I came upon this I immediately notice the high price. I opened it and realized how dense the was was. I was shocked and knew this is what I needed. The thing that separates this was from the rest is not what it is made out of... But what it left out. PETROLEUM!!!! This is the best for any type of hair. Amen
    3 out of 3 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Aug 9, 2012
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Black
    Fine or Thin Hair
    1 Star Rating
    No Effect At All!!!
    Please don't waste your money on this, it has the same effect as a normal hair gel.
    3 out of 4 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Nov 7, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Virginia
    5 Star Rating
    The Best
    Knottyboy is just about the best thing you can do for your dreads-period. If used correctly- that is waxing at least two times a week for the first few months or so and NEVER, EVER, EVERRRRR waxing hair before it is completely DRY (because -OBVIOUSLY- doing so will lock in moisture, creating a nasty sponge like mildewy environment all ova' yo' head)- this stuff will make real dreads real fast. The only down side? Obviously your hair is gonna be kinda sticky and waxy for a while- but when it comes right down to it, the speed, cleanliness, and overall neatness that this wax facilitates is well worth the slight discomfort(assuming sticky hair bothers you in the first place). Helpful tip- blow dry your dreads just after you wax 'em- this will melt the wax into the dread, where it really does it's job, and they won't feel quite so sticky for quite as long between waxes.
    9 out of 9 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jan 20, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Chattanooga, TN
    3 Star Rating
    + And -
    I used this on my son. It worked but the dreads wouldn't dry and rotted, even though he only washed his scalp (oily) I say if you can make dreads w/o wax, that's the better alternative. If not, knotty boy is ok short term.
    5 out of 7 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Oct 20, 2009
    Link to this post
  • Jacksonville, FL
    5 Star Rating
    Best Dreadwax, These Guys Are The Original
    I have had dreads twice, and use Knotty Boy wax both times. Not only is this product all natural, but it works really well. Id recommend it to anyone.
    10 out of 11 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted May 29, 2009
    Link to this post
  • Minnesota
    1 Star Rating
    Do Not Use Wax!
    I had very long hair, okay, decided to dread it. I bought this wax for my dreads and it completely destroyed my dreads. I could not wash the wax out, and it weighted down my hair and made it look and feel nasty. Really if your serious about your dreads you will do it the natural way, back combing and rubbing between your two hands. Rubbing, rubbing and more and more rubbing. There are no quick fixes to healthy neat dreads.
    6 out of 10 shoppers thought this review wasn't helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Mar 17, 2009
    Link to this post
  • California
    5 Star Rating
    Best Wax Available
    This wax is the original, and clearly the best. I have been looking for something completely natural for my dreads for years. All other waxes have Petroleum Jelly or other crap like that in them. I would recommend this stuff for sure.
    8 out of 9 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Aug 11, 2008
    Link to this post

Write Your Own Review

Have you tried this product? Help out by sharing what worked (or didn't)!

Write a Review
Server Name