20% off ONE item. Use code: PICKONE

Knotty Boy Dread Wax

At last, an all-natural dreadlock product that makes having dreadlocks fast, easy and clean! What could this miracle product be? It's none other than The Original Knotty Boy Dread Wax of course.
$16.49
We're sorry, this product is no longer available.

At last, an all-natural dreadlock product that makes having dreadlocks fast, easy and clean! What could this miracle product be? It's none other than The Original Knotty Boy Dread Wax of course. Knotty Boy Dread Wax is a beeswax and organic hempseed oil based formula that is specifically designed for starting and maintaining dreadlocks in ANY hair type. Its also great for grooming already formed locks, taming the fuzzies and helping loose strands grow back into the rest of your dreads!

  • Model#: 100   /  
  • SKU: P9407   /  
  • Guaranteed Authentic


  • Easy to use
  • Strong hold binds new locks together, allowing for regular washing
  • Hemp (organic), avocado, jojoba, kukui and shea nut oils - "food for your hair"
  • Non-greasy, non-cakey and sweet smelling
  • Suitable for ANY hair type

Note: This formulation is intended for light hair colors - light blonde to medium brown/red hair...COMING SOON to www.folica.com - dark hair formulation.

Directions

Break wax surface with fingertip. Wax will soften as its worked. Divide hair into 1 inch wide sections and "back-comb" each section toward scalp. When section is tangled and knotted, twist and work a small amount of Knotty Boy Dread Wax thoroughly into the dread, starting with the scalp. Continue until all sections are done!
 

NARROW BY HAIR TYPE
  • /
  • /
  • /
NARROW BY PRODUCT
  • Knotty Boy Dread Wax (12)
Sort By
  • Date
  •  / 
  • Helpfulness
  •  / 
  • Rating
  • Just What I Was Looking For 5 Star Rating
    I've had twists for years, and have used beauty supply store products to maintain them. They were ok, but Knotty Boy wax has so much hold and has no petroleum in it and it lasts forever. One jar lasts me a few months.

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Mar 10, 2013
    / Ventura
    HAIR TYPE
    Black / Curly Hair
  • Super Strong Hold, Moisturizing. Love It. 5 Star Rating
    My hair is really curly and gets very brittle at times. I tried this wax because I was told by a friend that it would help moisturize my locs while keeping them tidy. It totally works. Love it :)

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Sep 18, 2012
    / Boca Raton
    HAIR TYPE
    Black / Curly Hair
  • Great For Afro Hair 5 Star Rating
    I'm black and have really curly hair. I've tried many different twist gels in the past - but none have the holding power of Knotty Boy. It is more expensive than the others, and you can't find it in a beauty supply store, but I think it is worth it - and it last forever.

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Aug 29, 2012
    / Mississippi
  • Best Product I Have Used. 5 Star Rating
    Im an Afro American. I have thick nappy hair but I was never able to keep my hair neatly twisted because I sweat a lot during my runs and workouts. I have used mostly every product. Mango and lime Gel and there waxes. Carols Daughter's Loc Butter. Tigh N Hold gel and other common gels. When I came upon this I immediately notice the high price. I opened it and realized how dense the was was. I was shocked and knew this is what I needed. The thing that separates this was from the rest is not what it is made out of... But what it left out. PETROLEUM!!!! This is the best for any type of hair. Amen

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Aug 9, 2012
    HAIR TYPE
    Black / Curly Hair / Thick or Coarse Hair
  • No Effect At All!!! 1 Star Rating
    Please don't waste your money on this, it has the same effect as a normal hair gel.

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Nov 7, 2010
    HAIR TYPE
    Black / Fine or Thin Hair
  • The Best 5 Star Rating
    Knottyboy is just about the best thing you can do for your dreads-period. If used correctly- that is waxing at least two times a week for the first few months or so and NEVER, EVER, EVERRRRR waxing hair before it is completely DRY (because -OBVIOUSLY- doing so will lock in moisture, creating a nasty sponge like mildewy environment all ova' yo' head)- this stuff will make real dreads real fast. The only down side? Obviously your hair is gonna be kinda sticky and waxy for a while- but when it comes right down to it, the speed, cleanliness, and overall neatness that this wax facilitates is well worth the slight discomfort(assuming sticky hair bothers you in the first place). Helpful tip- blow dry your dreads just after you wax 'em- this will melt the wax into the dread, where it really does it's job, and they won't feel quite so sticky for quite as long between waxes.

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Jan 20, 2010
    / Virginia
  • + And - 3 Star Rating
    I used this on my son. It worked but the dreads wouldn't dry and rotted, even though he only washed his scalp (oily) I say if you can make dreads w/o wax, that's the better alternative. If not, knotty boy is ok short term.

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Oct 20, 2009
    / Chattanooga, TN
  • Best Dreadwax, These Guys Are The Original 5 Star Rating
    I have had dreads twice, and use Knotty Boy wax both times. Not only is this product all natural, but it works really well. Id recommend it to anyone.

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    May 29, 2009
    / Jacksonville, FL
  • Do Not Use Wax! 1 Star Rating
    I had very long hair, okay, decided to dread it. I bought this wax for my dreads and it completely destroyed my dreads. I could not wash the wax out, and it weighted down my hair and made it look and feel nasty. Really if your serious about your dreads you will do it the natural way, back combing and rubbing between your two hands. Rubbing, rubbing and more and more rubbing. There are no quick fixes to healthy neat dreads.

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Mar 17, 2009
    / Minnesota
  • Best Wax Available 5 Star Rating
    This wax is the original, and clearly the best. I have been looking for something completely natural for my dreads for years. All other waxes have Petroleum Jelly or other crap like that in them. I would recommend this stuff for sure.

    Was this review helpful?

    (Yes)
    (No)
    Aug 11, 2008
    / California
Server Name