Free Shipping Over $50
Press Your Luck
CHI

CHI 44 Iron Guard Thermal Protection Spray 8.5 oz.

187 Reviews Photo & Video Reviews Post Yours!
CHI 44 Iron Guard Thermal Protection Spray gives you superior heat protection for your hair.
$14.50
GROUND SHIPPING ONLY
In Stock
Ships within 24 hours
 

Reviews

Based on 187 Reviews

Photo & Video Reviews
Check the boxes to filter reviews.
Only show reviews for:
  • CHI 44 Iron Guard Thermal Protection Spray 8.5 oz. (187)
Show All 187 Reviews
Sort By:
Date
|
Helpfulness
|
Rating
  • New York, NY
    Hair
    Medium Brown
    Curly Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Amazing Results
    I am of mixed descent with long, very fine, curly hair that fluffs up and puff out in even the lowest humidity which forces me to wear my hair pulled back nearly everyday. The CHI Iron Guard Thermal Protection Spray has saved me from the need to go back to relaxing my hair. The results leave my hair looking like it was professionally styled, the texture, shine and smoothness are unbelievable, I never thought that I would be able to get my hair like this on my own without a harsh relaxer. Another point to mention is that the results last a few days so you do not need to reapply and iron your hair every day. I read a few other reviews and took their advice about not using too much of the product before ironing and they were all right, if you use it to dampen your hair then you will end up with stiff pieces. A light spritz over a small section works best for me. Initially I thought that the product was a little pricey (I bought it at a local drug store for $15) but since so little is needed to achieve really good results it looks like it is going to last a very long time so I consider it a good buy.
    Before Photo
    13 out of 16 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Dec 4, 2010
    Link to this post
  • New Jersey
    Hair
    Dark Brown
    Curly Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Better Than Cheap Drugstore Sprays
    I've tried some cheap heat protection sprays [tressemme, pantene] and both dont seem to offer much protection, and even if i didn't use a lot of it, it still would leave my hair feeling a little sticky and "product-y"... not to mention i really didnt like the spray nozzles, they shoot out in a thin stream instead of a nice fine mist.

    i LOVE this Chi Iron Guard spray. I think the people who say this stuff leaves their hair sticky or crunchy are not using it properly. If blow drying, spray all over your hair about 8" away from your head, comb thru and blow dry. I prefer to do it in bigger sections when flat ironing and individual when curling. You don't need to drench your hair in the stuff, a light mist over it, comb thru and let dry before ironing. When i use this spray I dont even feel like I put anything in my hair, which is a huge plus because that was an issue with the cheap sprays that often lead me to not even use them.. however I feel it does protect my hair, personally I use aussie deeep conditioning mask, john freida thermal frizz serum on wet hair, chi spray, blow dry, chi spray, flat iron. and my hair is long but still super soft and healthy.

    and can I just say, the smell is AMAZING. To me it smells more like cologne than hair product, but in a totally good way. I cant get enough of the scent!! However once you use it its hard to smell on your hair, so if you dont like it or dont want it competing with any other scents you wear- it wont be a problem. love love love this stuff.
    4 out of 4 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Dec 2, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Medium Brown
    Fine or Thin Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Iron Guard Is A Bare Necessity!
    I love, love, LOVE this product. The trick to using this product is to spray an even coat on wet hair and blow dry, then style as usual. My hairstyle holds so much better than traditional hair spray and it looks oh-so-shiny. My hair is a little on the thin side and it gives the illusion that I have a thick, lustrous mane. I've never used it when my hair has been dry so I would advise against that if you're looking to have the results I've described. Try my way--I promise you will love Iron Guard!
    4 out of 4 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Nov 14, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Utah
    Hair
    Blonde
    Fine or Thin Hair
    3 Star Rating
    Ehh....okay
    I haven't used this a ton, but that's mostly because I wasn't thrilled with the results. While it did protect my hair pretty well, it's hard to apply evenly, and if you put in too much it looks really gross and oily. And it smells weird. The thing that bothered me most though is that it killed the volume I was aiming for. I used the biolage serum (sooo good) and it did an awesome job helping get volume for my thin straight hair, but then I used this and it just flattened the whole thing. That doesn't usually happen when I flat iron.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review wasn't helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Nov 1, 2010
    Link to this post
  • 1 Star Rating
    Did Not Like
    I didn't get the result I was looking for. This spray made my hair stiff. It is more like a holding spray. I like my hair full of body and a bounce.
    4 out of 5 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Oct 12, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Medium Brown
    Dry Hair
    Curly Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    1 Star Rating
    Makes My Hair Dry
    Ok, so I've tried to use this many ways. First I just sprayed it on my hair, and of course that made it crunchy and sticky. Then I sprayed it on my brush and I sprayed it on my palms and ran it through my hair. Those two helped with the crunchy and sticky problems, but that doesn't matter because no matter what this product makes made hair uber dry. It feels like straw, and it's horrible. Sorry CHI. Love your other products, though. Just not this one. :)
    3 out of 4 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Oct 9, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Light Brown
    Normal Hair
    Oily Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    1 Star Rating
    Blleeehhhhh
    TERRIBLE! Didn't over use it but it still left my hair stiff and hard and sticky and gross! Ok so maayybbbee it smells alrightt but still it doesnt help my hair at all, and my hair is sort of straight and wavy at the same time and its medium thickness. HINT: If you only you a TINYTINYTINYTINY bit of it like a drop it wont harden up and make your hair crunchy and hard to comb through--- this is my honest opinion so if u feel differently than I do than sorry (: GOODLUCK <3
    3 out of 5 shoppers thought this review wasn't helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Oct 7, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Yuma AZ
    Hair
    Light Brown
    Oily Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Love It!!!
    It seemed to do the job, but for me it was all about the smell. I will use it the rest of my life!! It was so fresh and clean smelling. It reminded me of rain. Please don't ever stop selling it.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Oct 4, 2010
    Link to this post
  • NY
    Hair
    Medium Brown
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    2 Star Rating
    Ehhh
    Honestly its not for me...I dont over apply this and it still leaves my hair sticky and stiff. I do like the smell but Im not crazy about it. Doesnt leave my hair silky or shiny. Not really worth it in my honest oppinnion.
    4 out of 5 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Sep 6, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Blonde
    Normal Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Sprays Are My Secret Weapon!?:)
    I use this stuff everyday! It makes my hair really soft and smooth!?:)
    4 out of 6 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Sep 4, 2010
    Link to this post

Write Your Own Review

Have you tried this product? Help out by sharing what worked (or didn't)!

Write a Review
You may also like
  • CHI Ceramic Flat Iron (Original 1" CHI)

    CHI Ceramic Flat Iron (Original 1" CHI)

    Achieve professional results. This original CHI 1 inch flat iron will straighten, curl and flip your hair.

    1,958 reviews Photo & Video Reviews
    Old Price: $149.00 New Price: $120.00
    Free Shipping
  • Sedu Anti-Frizz Polishing Treatment with Moroccan Argan Oil Best of Folica

    Sedu Anti-Frizz Polishing Treatment with Moroccan Argan Oil

    Sedu Anti-Frizz Polishing Treatment with pure Moroccan Argan Oil protects from heat damage, leaves hair incredibly smooth and shiny and controls frizz. Similar to Moroccanoil, it contains Argan Oil which is produced from the kernels of the argan tree, found in Morocco. Argan Oil is extraordinarily rich in things like natural tocopherols and vitamin E.

    293 reviews Photo & Video Reviews
    Old Price: $20.00 New Price: $16.00
  • Sedu Pro Ionic Ceramic Tourmaline Flat Iron (1 1/2")

    Sedu Pro Ionic Ceramic Tourmaline Flat Iron (1 1/2")

    Rated the Best Hair Straightener on the market and preferred by top hair stylists around the world, Sedu flat iron straightens, smooths and tames frizzy hair for long-lasting results. Sedu's patented ultra-smooth ceramic/tourmaline technology guarantee smooth straightening.

    5,767 reviews Photo & Video Reviews
    Old Price: $160.00 New Price: $129.99
    Free Shipping
  • CHI Silk Infusion

    CHI Silk Infusion

    CHI Transformation System Silk Infusion helps strengthen your hair, providing incredible softness, manageability and shine without any build-up. Alcohol free, enriched with pure silk and wheat and soy proteins. Available in 6 oz. and 2 oz.

    552 reviews Photo & Video Reviews
    New Price: $14.00 - $41.50
  • CHI Straight Guard Smoothing Styling Cream

    CHI Straight Guard Smoothing Styling Cream

    CHI Straight Guard Smoothing Styling Cream easy brush-glide formula is an ideal styling tool for all your smooth, sleek styles. It also provides your hair with incredible control and smoothness while helping to eliminate frizz and create superior shine.

    New Price: $14.50
Server Name