Free Shipping Over $50
Phyto

Phyto Phytodefrisant Relaxing Balm

We're sorry, Phyto has not authorized Folica to sell this product.

 

Reviews

Based on 18 Reviews

Photo & Video Reviews
Check the boxes to filter reviews.
Only show reviews for:
  • Phyto Phytodefrisant Relaxing Balm (18)
Show All 18 Reviews
Sort By:
Date
|
Helpfulness
|
Rating
  • Chicago
    Hair
    Dry Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    4 Star Rating
    My Go To Hair Product
    My hair texture: East Asian, dry, extremely frizzy, esp in front.

    Even though I am East Asian, I have coarse, extremely frizzy hair that make me look like a crazy bag lady left untreated. So since high school I've gone through loads of serums, gels, sprays and even did the "Japanese ceramic" treatment. I finally stopped using any product because, lucky me, my skin is so oily that I cannot get through a warm day without the stuff seeping into my face, making me feel like I'm wearing a mask of residue. I finally let myself try Phytodefrisant after reading some online reviews and basically it's the only product I've discovered that works well AND doesn't feel like I've shellacked my hair in grease.

    It's not magic--it did not turn my hair into a sleek curtain of shine and you really have to apply it while your hair is very moist or you'll get yucky white flakes stuck between the roots when it's dries. But if you use a good moisturizing shampoo/conditioner--I love the Kerastase bain satin products--work Phytodefrisant into minimally dried hair, and blow dry with a boar bristle brush, you can get very manageable soft hair that doesn't feel like it's wearing anything, which is the best feeling if you, like me, have oily skin.

    Pro: best light finish to frizz fighting ratio.

    Con: I still have a bit of fringe frizz. You will need to apply other products for a completely clean finish since you cannot use Phyto on dry hair.
    At $26+ for 100ml, it's not cheap but the lightness of the product is unmatched anywhere, and since you don't need much per usage, it lasts as long as a bigger sized container.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jan 30, 2014
    Link to this post
  • Canada
    Hair
    Dark Brown
    Dry Hair
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Wow!!!!
    I have coarse, thick, wavy hair that I prefer to keep straight which involves lots of time, effort and aggravation. Over the years, I have tried numerous so called anti-frizz products and straightening balms -- drugstore and professional alike -- with limited to no success. Then someone at the beauty supply store told me to give Phyto a try and though i bought it with a healthy degree of skepticism, it wowed me on the very first try. My hair felt silky but not oily or greasy -- very clean, and it has no scent (which i love). My brush wasn't getting caught in my hair, it was very straight even before i flat ironed and the thing i noticed most was the shine. I didn't need to straighten my hair again in the morning (which i normally have to) and I didn't need to add anything after straightening. Humid day today and yet no frizz to speak of. This product claims your hair will improve after each use. If the first try is any indication, this is a winner. and for only 24$, it's a steal.
    5 out of 5 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Aug 15, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Southern NH
    Hair
    Medium Brown
    Dry Hair
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    5 Star Rating
    This Stuff Rocks!
    I have struggle with very curly, frizzy hair my entire life. Just a small amount worked through my hair before I flat iron (spend a few extra bucks and get a really good one...I have a Solia and LOVE it!) This not only makes is easier to flat iron my hair, but leave it soft and shiny! Better yet, NO frizz! I highly recommend this to anyone who has fragile hair like mine!

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Apr 11, 2011
    Link to this post
  • US
    Hair
    Medium Brown
    Curly Hair
    Color Treated Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Relaxing
    This product leaves my hair feeling soft and not frizzy. I have very curly hair and it does relax it a little.
    1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Mar 2, 2011
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Dark Brown
    Color Treated Hair
    Thick or Coarse Hair
    Relaxed Hair
    Chemically Treated Hair
    4 Star Rating
    It's Worth A Try
    I have afro-textured relaxed hair. A stylist used this on my hair and I loved the results, and my hair had so much movement afterwards! No flat iron was needed. Someone here was complaining about a white residue: I would say use it on damp hair as a leave-in because I didn't have that problem.

    I only blow-dry maybe 1x or 2x a month so this would last long for me, otherwise it would be too pricey.
    3 out of 3 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Nov 10, 2010
    Link to this post
  • Raleigh, NC
    4 Star Rating
    Works Good On African American Hair!!
    I have decided to let my perm grow out and searched long and hard for a product that would help me to manage my curly locks. This is not a miracle product but it does work! To be honest, I couldn't really tell the difference on my blow dried hair but when my hair straightened out from the flat irons - OMG! My hair was shiny and bouncy and my husband commented that it looked as if I went to the salon. To be fair, I should also disclose I have remnants of a Keratin Treatment on my hair. But not on my new growth - that's all virgin hair that has not been treated and after using this relaxing balm you couldn't tell the difference from the pressed out new growth to the permed hair with the Keratin Treatment.
    7 out of 8 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Feb 16, 2010
    Link to this post
  • San Antonio,Texas
    Hair
    Latin
    Chemically Treated Hair
    5 Star Rating
    This Is Godsent!!
    I have hispanic hair that is relatively thick, wavy, and unruly. I have been using this product for over 7 years and will never use anything else again. I use this product before I blowdry and either curl/flat iron and my hair has never been damaged. I get compliments on how shiny and beautiful my hair is regularly. I would recommend this product to ANYONE...totally worth the price. I have two other family members hooked on this stuff as well : )
    5 out of 5 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Oct 23, 2009
    Link to this post
  • Havelock, NC
    Hair
    Curly Hair
    Long Hair
    5 Star Rating
    The Best
    I have long, thick, curly hair and this products does what it says to do. It controls the frizz and makes my hair looks great. I am hook.
    2 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Aug 16, 2009
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Curly Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Changed My (hair) Life.
    I have very fine, dry, curly hair--and a LOT of it. I know, try not to be jealous. This basically transformed the texture of my hair. From blow drying to straightening with a flat iron (I blow dry my hair crazy then flat iron) it usually took me over an hour. Thirty minutes after I used this. And my hairs looks and feels amazing.
    3 out of 3 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted May 10, 2009
    Link to this post
  • Boston
    Hair
    Curly Hair
    5 Star Rating
    It's True
    Phyto really is a good product. My stylist used this product on my hair at my last cut and suggested I buy it. Unfortunately they were sold out of the product at my salon, so I found it here on Folica! I was surprised because its not easy to find. I washed my hair eager to try it, and the result? Amazing! My friend raved how great my hair looked, and she thought I had just gotten it cut. My hair was very glossy and shined. When I told her about Phyto she was all about where and how to get it. I have thick wavy/curly hair, and this stomped out the frizz and curl. Its true when they say product is everything when it comes to hair. The heat and cold damage hair, this is a one of a kind product for sure!
    5 out of 5 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jan 10, 2009
    Link to this post

Write Your Own Review

Have you tried this product? Help out by sharing what worked (or didn't)!

Write a Review
Server Name