StealOfTheDayClipless30
Hennalucent

Hennalucent Hair Toner and Conditioner

57 Reviews Photo & Video Reviews Post Yours!
100% organic. A professional henna product that penetrates the hair shaft through natural, organic absorption to deliver long-term shine, body and beauty color ...
$6.99
 
Out of Stock
 

Reviews

Based on 57 Reviews

Photo & Video Reviews
Check the boxes to filter reviews.
Only show reviews for:
  • Hennalucent Hair Toner and Conditioner (57)
Show All 57 Reviews
Sort By:
Date
|
Helpfulness
|
Rating
  • United States
    1 Star Rating
    Do Not Like The New Formula
    For the last 12 month's I have been looking to find the original Hennalucent formula. I have used this product on my fine hair since 1983, with fabulous results. . The site I purchased this product from (Amazon) displayed the original box, but sent me the new formula. I decided to try the new formula again, and was very disappointed and frustrated when I opened the package

    The sparkling burgundy didn't look anything like a burgundy at all (more like a brown ashy dull ugly color, with no life or fashion. I threw it away. It was a waste of time and money. I purchased 5 boxes, 3 sparkling burgundy and 2 neutral. Hopefully, the neutral will give satisfactory results. Poor color quality, maybe the wrong colors are inserted into the wrong boxes. Two thumbs down ï??ï??
    2 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jan 22, 2013
    Link to this post
  • USA
    3 Star Rating
    Actually You Are Wrong It Can Turn Your Hair Green
    Used the henna for grey hair on my GF Linda twice and both times we had crayola green results. Odd part is it was in various areas of the hair. First time it was the entire crown. Second it was about an inch up from regrowth! Over time the green fades away. There is not mistaking that color green. Its not some crazy hairstylist conspiracy to bring down the world of popular henna enthusiast! How funny! Didn't realize you could submit photos I will see if Linda has any and up load them. Cause it was a huge scene! Never seen anything like that before.
    5 out of 8 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Mar 7, 2010
    Link to this post
  • 2 Star Rating
    Works For Some But Not For All
    I used earth brown hennalucent mixed with 1/4 regular red henna. It seemed from my strand test that this matched my darkest hair which is a medium red/brown. I was using it to make the hair on the top of my head, which gets bleached to a yellow from the sun, the same color as the rest of my hair. I used the mix and instead of getting the red highlights the earth brown box promises, my hear turned a drab grayish brown. I have did some research and got clarifying crystals from sally's to try to lift the color. some of the reddish hints of my natural hair are not visible.i am going to repeat the clarifying treatment to try to get my hair back to a color that matches my skin tone. Be careful before you use this - even mixed with straight henna it might not make your hair anywhere near the reddish color on the box. it might make your naturally reddish hair a terrible mousy color.
    6 out of 8 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Dec 29, 2009
    Link to this post
  • Billings, MT USA
    1 Star Rating
    Need "old" Formula Back!
    I have used Hennalucent since '84- neutral- that gave me absolutely astounding results that lasted at least two months or more- shiney, healthy great hair. Since changing the formula, this product is no longer effective. Terrible consistency, terrible results. I used to buy this product by the case, but unless I can find an outlet that sells the original formula I won't waste another dime on it. VERY unfortunate for the company AND me....
    26 out of 27 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Aug 31, 2009
    Link to this post
  • Tacoma, WA
    5 Star Rating
    Hennalucent Hair Coloring
    I have used Hennalucent continuously for approximately 15 years with great success. I hope I will be able to continue to purchase this wonderful hair coloring. It is easy to use and gives great natural color. I am not at all happy that I am unable to purchase it anymore.
    9 out of 10 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jul 15, 2009
    Link to this post
  • Indiana
    1 Star Rating
    I Agree With Leslie
    The "new and improved" formula is worthless. Hennalucent used to mix up to have the consistency of thick honey and it coated the hair shaft and worked nicely. Now its like soupy mud and it made my hair even dryer . . .couldnt get the comb through it! Pitiful. Too bad they "improved" it.
    15 out of 16 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Sep 19, 2008
    Link to this post
  • 3 Star Rating
    First Try
    I had purchased Hennalucent in Bark Brown, but after reading some of the reviews, I wondered whether I should have gone with the Earth Brown instead. I found a handful of reviews that claimed that the Bark Brown turned their hair jet black, so that was a concern.I have fine hair, that is porous, so I decided to leave it on for just 10 minutes. I noticed a very subtle change, but its almost imperceptible.I only used half of the product, so I am going to try it again in a few weeks. Maybe Ill let the product stabilize longer before applying it, and leave it on my hair longer before rinsing it out.
    3 out of 4 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Jul 1, 2008
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Synthetic Hair
    5 Star Rating
    Best Mixed With Colora Henna
    Over 30 years ago my hairstylist told me to use 2 brands of henna together for the best results. I have done this off and on since then, and have always loved the results. My hair is untreated, fine, limp, and stringy even when pretty short. This combo Im going to tell you about makes it much shinier and have more body and look thicker. In the past, with the same stylists approval, I have even used it on permed hair--just wait 2 weeks after perming to apply. Here is what you use. One package of COLORA henna in a shade that is closest to your natural hair color. I use "Brown" because my hair is naturally dark brown with warm hi-lights. Then you add in 1/2 package of HENNALUCENT neutral, and mix well (dry). Add the Hottest water that you can stand (just off of the boil, if possible). Mix really well until the goop is about the consistency of spinach pureed in a blender, but liquid. Kind of like thick junior baby food. You keep adding water a little at a time to get the right consistency. Put on like you would bleach--in slim sections with a bleach brush. Cover both sides of each section with the brush, and make sure it is thin enough to soak in, but not drip. The more hair you have, or the longer it is will determine how much you use. If you have a lot of thick, full or LONG hair it may take 2 pkgs of COLORA henna and one whole pkge of HENNALUCENT neutral henna. By the way, the COLORA henna goes on GREEN and smells pretty awful--kind of like burning spinach, but it is worth the smell! When you have all of your hair covered (if your hair is very long, you have to section it in such a way as to have it all packed on top of your head by this time). Then you wrap a cotton coil (available at the beauty supply) around your entire hairline, cover your head with a disposable plastic cap or just plastic wrap, and sit for one hour. It is easier to rinse out if you put a lot of conditioner on and mix it in first, but is still somewhat hard to rinse out. You have to keep adding conditioner until all of the goop is rinsed out and the stream of water running through your hair is clear. Then wash once with shampoo,(not one that strips)and style as you normally would. On my hair, it seems to take about 24 hours for the shine to fully develop. Also, one time I tried Hennalucent for my color, and my hair turned out much redder, and not as shiny or bouncy. I think the two types together work best. After you buy a box of Colora henna in what you think is the most appropriate color and buy a box of Hennalucent neutral, then both products ttell you inside the expected result of each color.
    11 out of 12 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Mar 20, 2008
    Link to this post
  • Hair
    Fine or Thin Hair
    Long Hair
    5 Star Rating
    8 Years And Never A Problem
    I have been using this brand of henna on my hair for the past 8 years and it always looks great. I attribute my long hair to using it since I have very very fine hair that now reaches my waist. I never could have grown my hair this long without the conditioning it provides. Ive hennad my friends hair in the past and all except one had amazing results. To those of you who say that it turns hair green or grey or blue. The only reason this happens is because you have other chemicals in your hair that react to henna!!! The friend whose hair didnt turn out denied having dyed her hair previously, and it turned silvery-blue-green. I would never use anything else on my hair.
    4 out of 4 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Feb 11, 2008
    Link to this post
  • Kerrville, TX
    5 Star Rating
    Hennalucent Still Reigns!
    I used to get Hennalucent done in my salon in the 70s whenit was all the rage. I was so thrilled recently to see itin a beauty supply store, and bought it for my daughter whohas med. brown hair like me with red highlights. We mixed Earth brn w/ Sunset Glo like I used to and she was so pleased with the results we are doing it again next wk.
    5 out of 5 shoppers thought this review was helpful.

    Was this post helpful?

    Yes
    No
    posted Feb 10, 2008
    Link to this post

Write Your Own Review

Have you tried this product? Help out by sharing what worked (or didn't)!

Write a Review
Server Name